We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,290)
Filter reviews
1,290 results
Traveller rating
328
482
277
110
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
328
482
277
110
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town palace building indoor pool and jacuzzi every night other nationalities half board spanish holiday makers animation team levante beach english guests just returned from this hotel spanish food star hotel meal times plenty of choice fussy eater cleaned daily
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 1,290 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Would not return to this hotel do not cater for English people at all even the sachets in the bathroom are in Spanish so you don, t know what they are. Round the pool the entertainment is Spanish based and if you ask a question the staff don, t know what you mean. The air conditioning does,nt seem to be cool enough a lot cooler in other hotels we called into. Food only warm and veg was cold, nicer hotels available in Benidorm

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
At_ClientesHPOSEIDON, Gerente at Poseidon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Dear Sheila, thank you for sharing your personal experience in our Hotel.

Let us firstly indicate that, of course, all Customers are welcome at our Hotel regardless their nationality or any other feature. All the information of all the Hotel's services are in all the rooms in several languages and, of course, in English. Also the amenities of the bath (hands soap, shower gel, etc.) are in English.

Regarding the animation, all the activities are also announced in English and all Customers who wish to participate, naturally can participate.

Finally, the air conditioning works correctly in both, the common areas and the rooms. We regret if the food was not warm enough for your taste yet we'd like to inform you that there is a microwave available in each restaurant for Customers' use.

Best regards,

Ezequiel de Paz
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Currently on day 5 of 7 day holiday with family and children and I am very disappointed at how the hotel only caters for Spanish. On arrival we were told as we are half board we can have any 2 meals which we though was great until last night we decided to have lunch and dinner to be told no dinner not included we must have breakfast and one other meal. Also we watched Spanish put their towels on loungers every morning then go for breakfast which we though today we would do as kids are a bit burnt and need a shaded area at pool. When we came down our towels had been moved by lifeguard and a Spanish couple on our loungers. When asking about this lifeguard and manager just told us do not understand and shrugged their shoulders. We have paid a lot of money for this hotel and have been treated like dirt!!! Not one member of staff willing to help us at all they are not interested. My view is if your not Spanish they are not interested at all!!! Would not recommend if not Spanish and will defo not be back

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank kazzashields1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
At_ClientesHPOSEIDON, Gerente at Poseidon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Dear kazzashields1, thank you for your review,

Firstly, let me be clear that all Guests are welcome at our Hotel independently of nationality, creed or others. We do not have a special treatment for spanish Guests as you state. The services and treatment rules, etc... are the same for everyone.

Please note that half board is breakfast and either lunch or dinner.When you arrived at the Hotel the reception informed you that half board is two meals: breakfast and either lunch or dinner (most hotels it is breakfast and dinner, without option).

The sunloungers are for all Guests to use. They cannot be reserved as several signs around the pool area state. The towels left on them are token away after a while of not being occupied, so that other Guests can use them. And naturally, when the towels are taken off the lounger we do not know what nationality the Guest is. I personally explained all this to you at the reception area and then asked the life guard to find you vacant sun loungers, which he did and you do not mention.

King Regards,

Ezequiel De Paz
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Currently on day 5 of a 14 day holiday at the Poseidon. Read reviews saying hotel only caters for spanish but decided to give it the benefit of the doubt. Reviews are absolutely correct.

Half board, asked at reception what 2 meals we would receive. Was told any 2 meals. Went out for breakfast so we could have lunch and dinner (breakfast not great anyway) only to be told dinner wasn't included.

Every single Spanish person in the hotel reserved sunbed every day, the 1st day we did it ( kids were burnt and we needed shade for them) life guard took only our towels away and a Spanish couple took our beds and refused to move.

Manager not helpful. Acts like he doesn't understand english when anyone has a complaint.

Also not much I the way of children's entertainment and haven't seen our Thomas cook rep since we arrived!!!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank lindsaymadden191212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
At_ClientesHPOSEIDON, Gerente at Poseidon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Dear lindsaymadden191212, thank you for your review.

As I've answered the same comments to other member of your group, forgive me if I'm a little repetitive.

First of all, all Guests are welcome at our Hotel independently of nationality or other consideration.

Secondly, half board is breakfast and either, lunch or dinner and when you arrived at the Hotel the reception informed you that you could choose between them (most hotels it is breakfast and dinner, without option).

Regarding the sunbeds, they are for all Guests to use. They cannot be reserved as several signs around the pool area state. The towels left on them are token away after a while of not being occupied, so that other Guests can use them. And naturally, when the towels are taken off the lounger we do not know what nationality the Guest is. Moreover, I personally explained all this to you in English and then asked the life guard to find you vacant sun loungers, which he did, what you don't mention.

I really feel sorry that this has been your perception.

Ezequiel de Paz
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

We arrived to Gonzola on the reception what a character he was so friendly and helpful, couldn’t do enough for us, great welcome. The room was lovely and clean and was kept clean for the full 10 nights we stayed by our lovely cleaner who greeted us every day in the corridor with a “ola”, the good was very nice but sometimes cold due to it being out for awhile regardless of what time we went down, the dining staff were great and always welcomed us with a smile and a Ola, Great swimming pool but got to admit we used the other pool to sunbathe round as there were less kids so less noise lol , we did eat out a few times, ordered a pack up the night before when we went to the beach which was great. The Spanish holiday makers were a bit rude, a few times they either went in the lift b fore you even if you had been waiting sometime, they seem to come out of nowhere and run into the lift, there were 4 lifts but jeez it was time consuming getting into one, I had to push 3 ladies out of the way as we was in first but they wouldn’t let us out at ground floor and they were going to floor 10, only let down was no stairs so every9ne had to use the lift, when we arrived we kept pressing for the lift unbeknown a door doesn’t shut if we keep pressing, a Spanish lady came out of the lift shouting no press lift til we gone hahahahaha but all in all great hotel, friendly staff and clean.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank lckydb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Nice quiet hotel , good location at the end of the strip , the hotel is geared towards the Spanish , I went all inclusive, food was nice , rooms comfortable tv hairdryer in room , 4 pools , lots of sunbeds

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
Thank davyandholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews