We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gran Hotel Sol y Mar
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Ecomar(Calpe)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Rubino(Calpe)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Aquamarina(Calpe)
View Hotel
Reviews (2,807)
Filter reviews
2,807 results
Traveller rating
2,078
539
112
37
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,078
539
112
37
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschampagne barbeach clubsea viewinfinity poolold townfantastic hotelseparate showersun creamstandard roomhalf boardjunior suitelittle extrasbreakfast was amazingfree waterwalk in showerbreakfast and dinnerbeach towels
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 2,807 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Great location,wonderful sea views easy to find.Underground car park and not over expensive per day.All staff friendly and very helpful ,rooms very comfortable and with a bath and walk in shower.Breakfast was fantastic and plenty to choose from.

Room Tip: Could have done with a full length mirror.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank alancooper68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Departamento Ca... G, Dpto. Calidad at Gran Hotel Sol y Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Dear alancooper68,

We would like to thank you for your reservation at Gran Hotel Sol y Mar, and for your coment in tripadvisor.

We are very glad that your stay was great, and that you enjoyed the views at the Mediterranean. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back, and again thank you for trusting in Gran Hotel Sol y Mar.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel from the 22nd of March until the 26th to celebrate my wife’s birthday. Without doubt this is one of the best hotels on the Costa Blanca, it has everything you require for that special break, we asked for a room on a high floor to appreciate the views and that was what we were given, we were in room 831 and the panoramic views were spectacular. All the staff are well trained, very friendly and extremely professional, we were on half board basis and was very pleased with the breakfast and the evening meal, good selection and also good quality.There is also a very good supermarket under the hotel and a lift to take you there, this has everything you want at very reasonable prices. We were so pleased with our visit we are planning to return but this time it will be for a much longer stay. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and would like to thank the hotel management for making our visit just perfecto.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Departamento Ca... G, Dpto. Calidad. at Gran Hotel Sol y Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Dear Anthony T,
We would like to thank you for your reservation at Gran Hotel Sol y Mar, and also for your comment in tripadvisor.
We are really glad that you chosed our hotel for your wife´s birthay and that everything was "perfecto".
We are looking forward to welcome you very soon.
Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

We loved the stunning location and proximity to Calpe Main Street and Old Town. The breakfast and evening buffets at the Sol Y Mar were amazing with lots of healthy choices also.We were in a standard room which was a good size and very comfortable except for the bath with shower attachment above it. This was difficult to manage and we did not have a decent shower during our week's stay and the bathroom floor got regularly soaked! Apparently only the sea view rooms have proper walk in showers which I found surprising. A more minor issue was thatour coffee machine never worked despite reporting this twice during our stay. The hotel would have been perfect for us otherwise

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Norah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Departamento Ca... G, Dpto. Calidad at Gran Hotel Sol y Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Dear Norah M,
We would like to thank your for your reservation at Gran Hotel Sol y Mar, and for your comment in tripadvisor.
We are glad that in general you have had a loveley holidays and that you ejoyed your room and that you liked the breakfast.
We appreciate that you have share your experience, and we are sorry to hear about the bathroom issue, as any possible problem in the rooms is solved immediately, we´ll investigate your case with the responsable of the department.
We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back and that your stay will be perfect.
Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

I am writing this review as we are staying in the Hotel so management can contact me to discuss it if they wish room 738
This is our first time to Calpe and the Hotel but not the last we hope both are good, firstly the Hotel, Staff Excellent, Front of House good, Hotel superb and bedrooms very good we have paid for a Seaview and it’s worthwhile
Restaurant good but would suggest during low months it should open earlier as the weather is diverse, rooms very good but kettles should be provided these coffee machines are not the done thing with everybody.
Food at breakfast superb but adding scrambled egg would be even better, dinner is buffet and just a few more vegetable selections would be superb. There is nothing else to say other than we will be back.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tripmad007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Departamento Ca... G, Dpto. Calidad at Gran Hotel Sol y Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Dear Tripmad007,
First of all, we would like to thank you for your reservation at Grand Hotel Sol y Mar, and also for your comment in tripadvisor.
We are really pleased that your stay is satisfying and that you are enjoying the facilities and the sea view from your room at the Mediterranean.
We would like to inform you that you can have a kettle in you room by request. We take good note about all your comment, and again thank you for to share your experience, as it helps us to improve our work.
We hope to keep welcoming you in the Gran Hotel Sol y Mar once again.
Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
12
Reviewed 13 March 2018

Beautiful hotel. Staff excellent, helpful and very friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. The apartment was spotless and nice touch was a short note from hotel staff with a slab of cake on our arrival at the apartment. Beds were so comfortable. Everything you could need was in the apartment including a small starter pack for kitchen cleaning(dish cloth, wash up liquid etc) I would definately recommend this hotel again.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Departamento Ca... G, Dpto. Calidad at Gran Hotel Sol y Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Dear Sir/Madam,
We would like to thank you for your reservation and for your comment in tripadvisor.
We are very glad that your stay with us has been excellent.
We hope you had a nice way back home and we hope to see you again very soon.
Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews