We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern look, great location, some facilities not great”
Review of Barcelo Valencia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Valencia
Ranked #31 of 98 Hotels in Valencia
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 April 2017

Barcelo is modern and in a great location near the Arts and Sciences buildings. However some of the room facilities are lacking. Room was too hot during the night and the air conditioning was not able to be turned on. Toilet door would not stay closed!! Lifts are very slow. Staff were not very accomodating in the foyer bar and roof top bar was not open.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view - beautiful at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AussieOS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDHBV, Assistant General Manager at Barcelo Valencia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Dear Aussie,

I would like to thank you for taking your time of posting this review and for let us know what went wrong during your stay.

We coordinate our rooms in cold mode during these days but the temperatures went down the past days so we change to heating mode. Now that the temperature is stabilized the problem is solved.

Same problem with the Roof Top Bar, we open it when the weather conditions allow us to do it.

Regarding our lifts, we have 3 in the Hotel. When the Hotel is full and in some moments during the day our lifts are busier than usual and they take a bit longer.

Thank you very much again for transmit us your comments and we hope to see you soon shortly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,034)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 107 of 2,034 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2017 via mobile

Hotel Barcelo looks sleek and modern. Bed is ok. It's not the most comfortable. The bathroom is also very nice and so far has been the largest that we've had in the 5 cities in Spain.

The front reception desk are not as friendly as the other hotels we've been. They just do their jobs and nothing more. There seems to be sense to be helpful to their guests. Friendly enough but cold.

Since we have a rental car, we opted to park our car in their garage. Be warned their underground parking lot is very very tight. It cost 16.50 euros to park per night.

The standout of our stay is their breakfast. The buffet had a good selection of hot and cold meats, pastries and fresh fruits.

The location also can't be beat. It is less than a 10 minute walk to the arts and sciences area and the park.

Overall, if you need a place to stay for business this hotel would be ok. However, if you are a tourist and in need of assistance and recommendations as to where, what and when to see the sights I would go somewhere else.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Roma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDHBV, Assistant General Manager at Barcelo Valencia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your good comments. Even you have gift us 3 stars I find a lot of positive things in your review, so thank you for that.

I would like to apologize because the feeling our recepcionist transmit you. I can guarantee you that is not the way we work and this is not usual. Actually the satisfaction survey we send to our guest after doing the Check out rate the Reception 9 points over 10.

I am glad to see you have enjoyed your stay and mostly our Breakfast Buffet. We hope to see you soon shortly.

Have a great day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

Good location near the City of Arts and Sciences modern buildings. Comfortable modern room but lacking coffee or tea facility. Great selection at breakfast buffet. Cool roof top bar that opens at 9.30 pm.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank willzc1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDHBV, Assistant General Manager at Barcelo Valencia, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments and for taking your time of writting this post.

At the moment we do not have Coffee or Tea Facilities. All our rooms have a minibar with soft drinks, water, beer, snacks, ice tea and spirits. And if you want to enjoy a tea or coffee you can order it between 7 in the morning until 11 at night using our room service.

We hope you have enjoyed your stay with us and to have the opportunity of having you here again.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

Rooms are small! Overall Looks modern but everything in the room appears to be very old... Scratched and worn out surfaces everywhere! Water leaks from the tub. We had to call for an extra towel everyday just to keep the bathroom dry.. staff is nice and polite.. location is good!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank nishchhal g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

The hotel is clean and in overall it has a very nice feeling. Rooms are big and well decorated. Bed is big and toilettries are provided everyday. It makes the stay very enjoyable. Also, the staff at reception was very helpful pointing good restaurants for eating paella and helping us to organise our own excursions to different parts of the city. The only bad point is that on Saturday night the bar is not staffed enough and waiting times can be long.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank egc978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valencia hotels
Hotel Melia Valencia
#11 of 98 in Valencia
2,523 reviews
ILUNION Aqua 4
#13 of 98 in Valencia
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Carme
NH Valencia Center
NH Valencia Center
#28 of 98 in Valencia
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Valencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Valencia

Address: Avenida Francia 11, 46023 Valencia, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Valencia
#4 Spa Hotel in Valencia
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Valencia
#9 Family Hotel in Valencia
#14 Business Hotel in Valencia
#18 Luxury Hotel in Valencia
#19 Romantic Hotel in Valencia
Price Range: $101 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Valencia 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel Barcelo Valencia located in Valencia is part of the chain of Barcelo Hotels & Resorts. It is a walking distance of about 600 m from the City of Arts and Science and Aqua Centre shopping complex and 1 km from the Palace of Music.The port is about 3 km from the hotel, the airport is 17 km and Malvarrosa beach is about 4 km. Public transport is available right next to the entrance. The hotel has a capacity is 187 rooms. All are equipped with air-conditioning, heating, fully equiped bathroom with tub and hair dryer, writing desk, telephone, LCD satellite TV, refrigerator, minibar, safe, and free wireless Internet. The hotel complex offers a lobby and 24-hour reception, terrace, bar with a view, three theme restaurants with different types of cuisine, business centre, fitness room, car park, lift, and room service. The business center includes two conference halls with up to 300 seats, as well as 6 offices for 15-25 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Barcelo, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Barcelo Valencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Valencia Hotel Valencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing