We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel, disappointed by staff”
Review of Barcelo Valencia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Valencia
Ranked #31 of 98 Hotels in Valencia
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

This hotel is gorgeous, the rooms are amazing and kept amazingly clean by the maids who come everyday and we're very polite while we were sleeping in late and came back later and did it. The facilities were really good, the roof top bar and pool had stunning views, however, we were slightly disappointed by the staff. We waited a very long time for drinks from the bar, we all ordered at the bar and were told the drinks would be brought over for us. While we were waiting 3 more groups of people came in and all got drinks before us, nobody was apologetic that we had waited so long. The reception staff when checking in were very slow and didn't seem to care. Because of this we spent as little time as possible in the hotel for our trip. We did leave on a high note as what we assumed was the manager, who was working on reception, was kind and friendly.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Hannah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,960)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 51 of 1,960 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2017

Rooms were large and very confortable. Great location, opposite the city of arts and sciences. Easy access in to the city. Amazing bar on the roof. Only downside is the pool. It is like a hut tub and only a few beds around it so we were never able to use it as it was full.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
5  Thank kevdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

At check-in the key was not given for a already payed room!
Reception employee tried to sell a reserved room (not payed upfront) to somebody else. I could take it for a 300% higher price.
Hotel tried to charge a 3rd room on creditcard.
A lot of noise in hotel.
Pool is very small

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank Z2794PL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDHBV, Assistant General Manager at Barcelo Valencia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Barceló Valencia for your stay in the city.

From your explanation we cannot give you any further explanation because I do not understand how exactly was the incident during your check in. For further information please do not hesitate to contact us and I can give your more details about what could happened.

I wish you a great rest of the summer and I hope you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Best regards
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Excellent location in Valencia, fabulous hotel, first class service & great amenities. Less than 20mins from the airport, close to great restaurants & a short taxi ride to the beach. Cannot recommend this highly enough, was superb.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank emmalouisestevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Highlights include excellent breakfast buffet and service staff, clean modern rooms, comfortable beds, low noise level, convenient location, air conditioning and air quality. I've spent 9 pleasant work weeks there with no complaints.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank allancX683XE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDHBV, Assistant General Manager at Barcelo Valencia, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear Allan,

Thank you very much for taking your time of posting this great review. We are really happy to see we have felt well treated during your long stay with us and you have enjoyed our facilities and services.

We hope to see you soon in your next stay in Valencia.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valencia hotels
Hotel Melia Valencia
#8 of 98 in Valencia
2,459 reviews
ILUNION Aqua 4
#21 of 98 in Valencia
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Carme
NH Valencia Center
NH Valencia Center
#26 of 98 in Valencia
1,543 reviews
AC Hotel Valencia
#32 of 98 in Valencia
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Valencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Valencia

Address: Avenida Francia 11, 46023 Valencia, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Valencia
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Valencia
#4 Spa Hotel in Valencia
#14 Family Hotel in Valencia
#14 Business Hotel in Valencia
#18 Luxury Hotel in Valencia
#19 Romantic Hotel in Valencia
Price Range: $110 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Valencia 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Barcelo, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Valencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Valencia Hotel Valencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing