We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”
Review of La Preferita

La Preferita
Ranked #55 of 117 Restaurants in Amalfi
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

This is a terrific place. Near Hotel Miramalfi. The owner greets you, takes your order, tends the bar, entertains you while you eat and even helped in the kitchen! A homey, family run place where you feel like you are in an Italian home. The ravioli was excellent as was the homemade lemonchello.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank jackandlinda11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

We were met by the owner as we walked towards his restaurant in the street and greeted with a warm smile and a hearty buonasera. We then sat down at our table inside and we were treated like locals. Lucky we had another dining couple who spoke fluent Italian as our little Italian language was being stretched as he spoke passionately about his food and wine.
My wife ordered bruschetta which was not on the menu and the owner was more than happy to provide it. It was the best bruschetta we have ever tasted! We then had lasagne and frittura misto complete with a bottle oh house red. All of which was fabulous! Highly recommend this restaurant if you are in Amalfi. We will definitely be back!

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank 305damiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 July 2016

Everything anyone could possibly want; the owner, Nicola, is a sincere and truly wonderful host. He made our stay!
We had dinner 4 times and each was better than the last. He reminds me of my uncles with his need to be sure everyone is pleased and happy, and the food, bellissimo! I loved how he called me Lorenzo every night! We can't wait to go back and see this new and awesome friend we made.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lawrence F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

Typical robust family owned Italian restaurant. I had homemade pasta with an exquisite lemon sauce - the exact balance of olive oil, lemon and salt. Nice and welcoming atmosphere also for a solo traveller.

Date of visit: March 2016
1  Thank mariaaZ9041IQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 November 2015 via mobile

La Preterite Restaurant is about 5 minutes walk from the Hotel Nido where we were staying. The restaurant is very convenient and much safer than walking down the narrow winding road to Amalfi town.

The owners of the restaurant work really well together with Mrs Acampora preparing a wonderful selection of freshly prepared food from locally sourced produce.

Mr Acampora is the perfect host welcoming guests with a warm smile, gentle Italian humour and lessons in Italian language for those of us who want to learn.

We visited the restaurant three nights out of four and each night was an improvement on the prior nights visit.

The food offers diners the opportunity to taste local produce cooked and presented in a traditional style rather than contemporary cuisine nouveau. The style is more Jamie Oliver than Michelle Roux.

Food snobs will probably be disappointed but those who enjoy fresh foods and herbs like the tomato and mozzarella salad with shredded basil leaves and olive oil will appreciate the cuisine offered.

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening meals at La Preterite and have no hesitation recommending the restaurant to future visitors.

Bon appetit

Date of visit: November 2015
Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed La Preferita also viewed

 

Been to La Preferita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.