We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food we had in Amalfi !”
Review of La Preferita

La Preferita
Ranked #54 of 115 Restaurants in Amalfi
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in Amalfi for 4 days and this was by far the best food we had. We ate at various places in town, as well as our hotel (across the street), and every other place had very bland food that was very expensive.
We decided to stop into La Preferita one night instead of making the trek into town, and honestly weren’t expecting much because of the humble surroundings, but we were pleasantly surprised !
The service was fantastic, the atmosphere was charming and the food was excellent.
We had the seafood sauté (incredible flavor!), ravioli, lasagna, and mixed cakes for dessert. Every single thing we ate was good and we loved the fact that this place is family owned and everything was made with love.
We came back a second night and tried the caprese salad and the fresh fish (so so good!!)
Stop in at La Preferita, you won’t regret it.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank katecouchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2021

If you’re looking for an authentic Italian place, this is a must. Family owned business, with fresh and very well prepared food. The place gives you the sensation of being beside of a cliff, with Rocky walls, full of personality. The owner, a lovely gentleman, always comes around to check if you’re enjoying and this is a lovely extra touch. I have a sweet tooth and I might say, the tiramisu was the best I ever tried. Prices also good for the Amalfi coast. Highly recommend a visit, if you’re looking for good food and not a pretentious like most places we ate in amalfi.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 August 2021

We loved our dinner at La Preferita! The staff was so attentive to our needs and desires - and the food was absolutely delicious! We are all vegetarian and found a good variety to choose from. Everything was freshly prepared for us and seasoned perfectly! The ambiance was cozy and inviting. We had a month-old baby in our family group and the staff were so gracious, kind, and accommodating.Truly a memorable time on our Amalfi vacation!

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank holland5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 February 2020

End October 2019: [2 visits]
This place came highly recommended by our hotel nearby and we would pass it on the way into town. It is situated in the side of a mountain across the road from a coastal cliff. The interior is reminiscent of the 1970's and was kind of grotty. It is run by a family of 3. The son speaks good English and the father a bit and the mother stays in the kitchen and cooks.

Night 1: When we arrived it was a ghost town, we walked around and no staff was to be seen only a couple there drinking. A nice old man, one of the owners greeted and seated us after about 5 minutes of waiting - actually we were about to give up.

I ordered the mixed seafood grill, shared some fries and had the house wine [they called it Prosecco, but it wasn't]. My friend ordered the grilled chicken and a salad. All the food was cooked well, though some not fresh. The prices were reasonable for the quality and size of meals we got. I do not recommend any of the desserts as they clearly were ready bought and were awful. The staff were very attentive.

Night 2: It is very risky trying to get here as you are dodging traffic both ways and small or no pedestrian pathway as it is on a corner of a narrow road. We arrived and they were demolishing a bush outside and also encouraging people to come in. It was quite comical.

My friend ordered the 'lasagne' and grilled vegetables - the lasagne or whatever it was, wasn't great. I tried the grilled prawns, of which there were 5 and they weren't fresh and a salad. Both average. Again it was a ghost town with only 2 people seated when we arrived and later when we went past, the same. They say they have a full bar but I asked for a few different things and they didn't have them.

My mind is torn - great Staff and service, that try very hard to please but the food and venue are average. You be the judge.

*Be sure to read the menu carefully, you may have a giggle or 2.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Swelltraveller67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 September 2019 via mobile

Just as some of the other reviews this place is stuck in the 80s, terrible music, frozen and microwave food quiet possibly the worst meal I have had for some time.

Date of visit: September 2019
2  Thank danielhD9198WX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed La Preferita also viewed

 

Been to La Preferita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.