We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience”
Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Aurora
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2017

I was travelling with my wife to celebrate 30 years wedding anniversary, when we came in to check in we were told that the hotel was closed, however they would escort us to their “appendix” hotel in the Amalfi downtown. So, it was raining cats and dogs we had no other option other than go there and check! To my surprise, it wasn’t a hotel, but an apart hotel where we would be responsible for housekeeping! What trap … We were never told about it. The building has a fitness center in the lobby very noise, not part of the hotel whatsoever. Hot water you better take from home … I would strongly NOT recommend this hotel !

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Luxinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAmalfi, Direttore at Hotel Aurora, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear Luxinga
I’ m very sorry that your experience here runs totally against what the vast majority of our guests regularly tell us. The apartment you have booked is clearly specified that is not in the main building but in annex at 600 from the hotel and we always send a message to the agency or directly to the client for advising that.
We always recommend to read carefully the description before booking especially if you book a not refundable rate or if you book through a travel agent.
In spirit of hospitality.

Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Amalfi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 608 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

We opted for the Superior room to ensure a view of the amazing coast. The balcony was huge and had two beach chairs if you wanted to get some sun. The grounds were very clean and elegant, and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Overall, perfect hotel and location for our two night stay.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KEB76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAmalfi, Direttore at Hotel Aurora, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear Keb76
thank you so much for your 5 star review of the Aurora Hotel. It is always so rewarding to share such a great review with my staff to commend them on their superior customer service. We are so pleased you had a wonderful and quiet experience. We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards

Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Amalfi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

This was our first visit to the hotel Aurora in Amalfi, Italy . There was 8 in our party as we were celebrating our youngest sisters 50th birthday. The hotel was decorated to high standards and very clean. The breakfast was plenty and the service was exceptional. The reception staff did everything to make our visit as memorable as possible and full of recommendation about local restaurants and places to visit and shows to see. It was warm and friendly and when we left we felt we were leaving new friends . Highly recommended and well worth a visit.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank dilleyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAmalfi, Direttore at Hotel Aurora, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear Dilleday
It was such a pleasure to read your wonderful remarks on TripAdvisor in relation to your recent stay at the Aurora Hotel.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to us and please be assured that we will be sharing your generous and motivating words of praise with the team.
We would like to thank you for your high recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to Amalfi soon.

With my warm regards

Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Amalfi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

This hotel is in a quiet location at the end of the promenade. Restaurants, Amalfi town centre and all amenities are easily reached on foot.The first beach side restaurant is only 100 metres away. There is a small beach in front of the hotel and several more until the main beach is reached.
The hotel i believe was built in the mid 1960`s,is pretty and has character, the rooms are all different and ours was very spacious, with a side balcony, bright bathroom with rain shower. Our room had a walk in wardrobe. Was immaculately clean, as was the reception area and public areas.
Breakfast is taken on the sea facing terraces,in a nicely part shaded setting. Where shrubs and flowers abound. It is mainly a continental breakfast with ham,cheese, bacon, scrambled egg,cake, bread, and fresh fruit.
We were a party of eight celebrating a 50th birthday, and the staff here were amazing.
Before we even arrived Andre was arranging transfers from the airport giving us weather reports and organising rooms.He can also recommend very good restaurants
where it is possible to get a small discount. Advise on and book excursions.The rest of the staff here were very helpful and cheerful. Special thanks also to Andrew for helping us to make our time here special.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 20, It was side view, we could see the ocean and hear the waves breaking in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAmalfi, Direttore at Hotel Aurora, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Dear Steve W
Thank you for kindly taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor following your stay at the Aurora Hotel . We are so pleased that all our staff helped to create a special experience for you and your family and we will certainly be sharing your positive feedback with them. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon for what we hope will be another perfect visit.

With my best regards

Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Amalfi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

My husband and I just got back a few days ago from a dream vacation in the Amalfi Coast. We stayed at Hotel Aurora and loved it.We especially loved it's excellent location. Hotel Aurora is within a short walking distance to restaurants, the port ,as well as the main piazza with tons of shops and restaurants.The concierge was great and gave us a lot of information on things to do and even scheduled us a tour of Pompeii. They can help scheduling things around Amalfi and the neighboring towns. They served us breakfast everyday and it was delicious along with a beautiful ocean view. Overall, Hotel Aurora is a cute , quaint , and affordable place to stay. We fell in love with the Amalfi Coast and will definitely be staying at Hotel Aurora next time we visit.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mariselle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAmalfi, Direttore at Hotel Aurora, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear Mariselle P
Thank you for this great review of your stay with us and for awarding us 5 stars!!!!! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and am especially pleased that it was our team that helped to make your stay excellent. Thank you for your helpful feedback and for recommending us. I hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back.
Best Regards

DAniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Amalfi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
663 reviews
0.2 km away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
746 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#2 of 29 in Amalfi
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
0.8 km away
Villa Lara
Villa Lara
#8 of 29 in Amalfi
462 reviews
0.4 km away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#16 of 29 in Amalfi
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Address: Piazzale Dei Protontini 7, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range: $227 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aurora 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aurora Hotel is the perfect spot to spend an unforgettable holiday in Amalfi.Located nearby the Amalfi Marina, the hotel is only 500 meters from the hustle and bustle of Piazza Duomo. It is the ideal accommodation for visiting the Amalfi Coast and its picturesque villages, such as Ravello, Positano, Capri and even the Pompeii Excavation, which are all within easy reach. The bus station and the wharf are only 5 minutes’ walk from the hotel. After a long day-trip, Aurora Hotel is just a short walk to downtown and the beach, and it is accessible without climbing stairs. One final recommendation from the hotel management: if you want to spend a few relaxing days in Amalfi, please check Aurora Hotel location on Google Maps and compare it with other hotels. Most of Amalfi hotels are located in the noisy old Town, accessible by climbing long stairs; some others are located on the highway to Positano, so you will need to take the bus, a taxi or your car in order to reach the city, driving down one of the busiest roads in Italy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aurora Amalfi, Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing