We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,321)
Filter reviews
1,321 results
Traveller rating
762
335
143
53
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
762
335
143
53
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bay of naples sea view historic hotel hotel lift the cliff private lift bar terrace pastries pool area our honeymoon mount vesuvius fantastic location public rooms breakfast room few minutes walk junior suite large balcony
Filter
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 1,321 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2017

What a beautiful and classic hotel! My mom and I had a third floor end unit suit with two small balconies. The doors opened to the most beautiful view imaginable with Mount Vesuvius as our view. The room was large with a large bath as well.

The food at the pool as well as the main dining room was great. The bar area was quaint then expanded to a balcony with breathtaking views. The service was impressive.

If you go, make sure to visit the pool and order a cocktail by the name of Hugo! It is one of the most refreshing pool cocktails I have every had. I recommended them to others at the pool, and everyone agreed, even buying another for me because of my recommendation. I'm going to see if they will give me the recipe!! The garden areas were beautiful as well.

The hotel is located steps away from the shopping area (which can get you in trouble if you love to shop)! I would highly recommend this hotel for your visit to Sorrento - one of the most beautiful places on earth!

Room Tip: Suite with balcony
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

Excellent location in the centre of the town with easy walking to the port and the bus/railway station. Close to a plethora of restaurants and bars, and the main square.

Lovely gardens which are quiet, especially considering the position of the hotel close to all the major attractions.Pool area lovely, with a great pool bar serving good food with excellent service.Quiet areas and lovely shady spots should you need them.

Reception area gives you a feel of what is to come, fantastic service from the staff there, we had a slight problem with our room, sorted immediately. Very efficient. And , as all the staff here, immaculately presented.

The hotel is an old Italian Manor House, and tastefully decorated to reflect the period, with tiled floors in the rooms. One could say the bathrooms were a little tired but in keeping with the age and character of the building. To update them in a modern style would , in my opinion spoil the ambience. They have all mod cons but the shower is small and difficult to regulate the water temperature but not a problem.

The views are spectacular and to have a cocktail watching the sun go down is a must.

Bedrooms are lovely and the Juliet balconies give you a great view across the bay. It resembled the old hotels we have stayed at in Rome, and on a par if not better.

Now to breakfasts which some people have commented upon. You are in continental Europe and therefore continental breakfast should not be a surprise , should it? Lovely croissants , the fruit I had was fresh not tinned, yoghurts, cereals, choice of fruit juices, and of course the pastries and cakes. I can see why some people have mentioned the cooked breakfasts but if you want the full works, then holiday in Scotland, it is not their forte, continental breakfast is. The coffee is very strong but you can get Cappuccino and extra hot milk should you need it.

Public lift to the beach is adjacent the hotel at a cost of one euro, or you can walk to the port, or take the tunnel down to the beach from the hotel gardens.We never used the hotel lift, nor did we use the bathing piers on the beach, preferring the tranquility of the pool area.

Yes the hotel is pricey but well worth it, the turgid drive from the airport is a pain, but don't arrive on an Italian bank holiday like we did!

Loved it a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank TrevitTreels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017 via mobile

A wonderful welcome. The service from front desk to waiters and cleaners are first class and always friendly, a smile greets every enquiry. We cannot put into words how good our stay was.
Nothing can be improved upon as it was perfection.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank NormaJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel, decorated and designed in the classical Italian style in an absolute perfect location, in the town but still quiet in the evenings.
The staff are excellent, friendly, helpful and work hard, we had a problem with the room allocated ( not the fault of the hotel) but it was quickly fixed and we were given several other options.
Our room was very nice, airy, tidy, plenty of storage space and good views from our balcony.
The views from the bar terrace and restaurant are absolutely fantastic, getting a seat with a drink on the terrace was an absolute must.
Pool restaurant was very good and there was always free sun beds.
The only criticisms we would have are the breakfast and cleanliness of the terrace. Breakfast could have had some varied choices (far too many cakes) and the coffee could have been better quality. The terrace was not cleaned during our stay which was disappointing, by the time we left some bird droppings were pretty obvious, the room itself was fine, good shower and TV with English news channels.
Would stay again.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank grinch99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017

Booked as an "upgrade" on a 2 day tour. There were 3 in our party so we needed a room to accommodate. We expected something very nice for the extra cost. The room was a 2 level with a roll away on the ground floor, and a double up some narrow stairs. The bathroom was also upstairs. There was nothing in the way of extras such as water, coffee,etc. Small frig with beverages at a cost. The room was pretty stark with a port hole to look out of if you stood on your tip toes. It had a slanted ceiling that we bumped our head on alot, trying to view the bay. That was the ugly part. The bad would have to be some of the attitudes of the staff. The shower backed up quickly and would over flow if the shower ran to long. No one on the staff thought it a concern. The good would have to be the dining. We had a complementary dinner (limited menu) and the buffet breakfast. Both were very good. The trip to the area was wonderful except for the hotel "upgrade" Don't believe the company photos!!

Stayed: June 2017
Thank andy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews