We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as nice as it appears”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
Ranked #83 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Firstly, if you're travelling with a tour group and have a large bus and this hotel is on you're itinerary- get ready for a hike. The bus cannot make it up the winding hill and the parking isn't sufficient either. You will be dropped off at the bottom of the hill and forced to walk a quarter of a mile up, with your luggage in tow. Just when you though you were done- you'll soon discover this hotel has no elevator either.

The view is nice but my room and many other's had ants.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank brittneyraquel02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSpicy, Receptionist at Hotel Spicy Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Hello! Thank you for having shared your experience but we would like to clarify some things. First of all, we work for most of the season with groups, and no one has ever encountered your problems. The problem was not up our position, but up your driver who was not very good at driving and was not able, as other drivers make it, to leave you near the hotel. Then, it's true taht we have no lift, but we have a guy at our guests' disposal carrying luggage on the first and second floors. About the ants, since we are surrounded by the garden, it is normal that if you eat in the rooms, the ants run! For this reason, we always invite our guests to avoid eating in their rooms and enjoying their meals in the dining room or on the terraces. Unfortunately, not everyone is accustomed to respecting the rules!
Regards,
Spicy staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour trip to Italy. What a disappointment. We arrived at night and the place was dark with no lights on. We were staying with a group of 34 people. Everyone had an issue with their room. The hotel was dirty. Stairwell carpet filthy. Needed a good vacuuming and carpet cleaning. Hair on our bathroom floor that did not belong to my husband or myself. Bathroom floor dirty. Hotel room floor dirty, not vacuumed? Put it this way, I did not want to unpack my things and place anywhere because it was not the cleanest place. No place to put clothing if you did want to anyhow. Super small rooms. No drawers. 3-4 hangers in the room in an open closet. Shower was so small you could not lean over to grab your shampoo without bumping the opposite wall. I had to put my stuff on top of the toilet seat bc there was no place to set your toiletries. Luckily for me, I'm only 5'2 and smaller. For tall or larger people, it was a problem. The shower head also would not stay up and kept falling on my husband during his shower. 1 towel pp was provided. Nothing extra available. No plugs in rooms to charge devices or phone. There was 1 plug behind the headboard. No elevator for those who need one. Wasn't a problem for us. Others from our trip experienced doors that did not lock and you could enter their room without a keycard( which they only give you one per room). You cannot leave the air conditioner on while out bc no power to the rooms unless you put your door keycard in a slot in the room to turn power on. A family had a room with hundreds of ants climbing their walls and another couple whose door did not completely close and they did not feel very safe. We did not feel the safest in this hotel either and wouldn't leave anything of value in there. This is a small boutique hotel but nothing boutique about it. More like a hostel. If you don't care about cleanliness and safety, then this is the place for you. Otherwise I would steer clear of this place!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

First of all the hotel is 2 km out of Sorrento but you can't go on walk because the road is too dangerous. The stuff on desk was good but nothing more. The room smells due to moisture.the breakfast was the worst I've ever taste in any hotel.
The hotel's exterior areas were dirty and generally you could not spend time on them.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Michail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSpicy, Responsabile reception at Hotel Spicy Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear Guest, we are really sorry about your bad experience; it's true, the Hotel is about 1.5 km far from the centre but there is a shuttle and also public transportation, so in 5 minutes you can reach the main square. About the other comments, it's the first time someone says rooms smell bad due to moisture or the exterior areas are dirty, you could have reported this during your stay to let us check and solve the problem, we have a reception desk available 24 hours ready to help you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

Pros:

The hotel was clean and the front desk staff were very friendly. A/C in our room.

Cons:

Housekeeping staff not very pleasant and the walls are paper thin, you hear everything on your floor.

Overall it was a good experience. Use the shuttle that leaves hourly from the campsite to get into town, its cheaper than buses and more reliable. Do not pre-purchase tickets, buy them as you get on what ever you are taking (shuttle, bus, etc). Also, taxi drivers will really gouge you. The shuttle to the nearby campsite leaves town (almost) every hour on the hour from the location shown on the map in the picture.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Marcus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSpicy, Responsabile reception at Hotel Spicy Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Dear Marcus, thanks for you comment, we apologize if the housekeeping staff were too loud, we had a problem with internal phones and unfortunately they didn't have other ways to communicate, anyhow we've told them to be as silent as possible because this is not acceptable.
We hope to see you again, maybe in next years, so don't hesitate to contact us in case you want to book a room here.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

John Marco, speaking wonderful English, helped me get my bearings In Sorrento. It's a great place to use as a 'home base.'

Daniel is the morning waiter, preparing great cappuccinos. Breakfast bar includes a bevy of pastries, cheese, cold cuts, fruit, toast but no eggs, bacon or pancakes. It's truly Italian.

Jet was also quite helpful w/info & breakfast.

No elevator but Mario schlepped my luggage up 2 flights . I awoke the 1st morning to a rooster crowing!? One maid, Moana, working diligently. Rooms are immaculate w white tile.

Then Campground across street has an hourly shuttle to town for $1€.

Location is above Sorrento & out of the way--& I wanted that. Limited Room to park. Restaurant across street Kalimeri's , has best seafood pasta in the world for 13€.

Secluded beach & Grotto (Lido's La Solar) is 15 min walk down & it is an oasis & not crowded. No access by car! Yep. Walk only!
Can eat & rent beach chairs @ Lido's.

A church across street has a small courtyard & benches to view sunset. A market, gas station & ATM handy.

Lobby has a 70's retro feel w/Marilyn Monroe's face painted above a mock grand piano. Multi colored couches in reds/blues & outside seating for coffee. Front staircase leads to the main road.

What I liked about it was it was safe, clean, & inexpensive. You get to chat w/locals. There was a bday party the other night & kids galore laughing.

It's genuinely a 'home away from home.' But, like MY home, NO ELEVATOR!

And, they will match hotels.com rate.

Enjoy. Ciao

Stayed: May 2017
2  Thank Chocoholicjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSpicy, Responsabile reception at Hotel Spicy Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Dear Guest, your comment is great and we really thank you for the wonderful words.
About the elevator, the hotel is still small and we only have a few rooms, but our plan is to have more rooms and of course an elevator.
Thanks a lot
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.5 km away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#43 of 100 in Sorrento
385 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
785 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
#52 of 100 in Sorrento
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#67 of 100 in Sorrento
372 reviews
2.2 km away
Villaggio Verde
Villaggio Verde
#71 of 100 in Sorrento
258 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Britannia
Hotel Britannia
#40 of 100 in Sorrento
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spicy Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spicy Sorrento

Address: Via Capo 82/84, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range: $141 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Spicy Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spicy is not just a hotel. It is a way of life, a way of thinking, a way of being. Born from the friendship of two young entrepreneurs in Sorrento, the Hotel Spicy Sorrento reflects an entirely new concept of hospitality: sparkling, colorful and fun. Here, everything is spicy in the truest sense of the word: select lounge music that accompanies you through every space of the hotel,our team that is always smiling and helpful, as only we in Sorrento know how to be, and the inherently modern feel of the rooms. Even Sorrento, with its monuments and its romantic atmosphere, is more fun, more unique... More spicy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Spicy Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing