We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Hotel Mignon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mignon
Ranked #27 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2008

Just got back from a lovely trip to Rome & Naples coast.
We stayed at the Hotel Mignon in Sorrento which was a great base to visit the Amalfi coast, Capri, Pompeii & Naples. It was very easy to get around with public transportation.
Entering the hotel we felt right at home. The room was spotless & comfy. The staff were all friendly & helpful.
To top things off we ate delicious meals at the "Garden Restaurant" not more than 400 meters from the hotel 2 nights out of 4. Let's just say the Hotel Mignon is conveniently located and a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank thefickletraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

314 - 318 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2008

Went to Sorrento for a wedding and stayed at the Mignon for 4 nights - couldnt have been happier with our choice - great location, lovely breakfast and staff who all spoke English with ease and who couldnt have been more helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Karelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2008

Fantastic hotel located in the heart of Sorrento. The best option to visit the Amalfi Cost and Capri.
Breakfast is simple and tha coffe was not good.
Kind staff and good price. The room is big and have safe box and AC.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jorge C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2008

POSITIVES: The hotel is less than 5 minutes from the main Plaza Tasso (expensive bars & resturants) and even less to the maze of streets that make up Sorrento where you can find the cheaper restaurants and bars and plenty of shops to browse.
10 minutes max from the train/bus station.
The room was large and airy with large bed (2 singles pushed together!) 2 comfy chairs, bedside tables but only 1 wardrobe (those who take a lot of clothes may not find this enough).
Room had balcony overlooking the street below.
Room cleaned on a daily basis with fresh towels every day.
The staff (a family concern) are very helpful providing everything from more bedding to local travel advice. Very helpful when we checked out - they stored our luggage for 5 hours and gave us somewhere to change when we came to collect it!

NEGATIVES: (negatives sounds too harsh as there was nothing that really annoyed us but just a couple of things to note)
The Hotel is on a side street but still gets passing traffic to the hotel next door and with it being Italy - scooters! However, the exit onto the balcony had two sets of doors and a shutter to shut out the light so with these closed it cut out 95% of the noise and we didn't get woken early by the noise. There is a school opposite which starts about 8am so don't expect to sit on your balcony and enjoy the piece and quiet (Italy isn't a quiet country anyway). There is also what we worked out to be a Fitness Centre next to the school and you can hear the music from there if your balcony faces the street. Starts up around 8.30 to 9am.
There are no drinks making facilities in the rooms and as it is a B&B there is no fridge to store drinks etc. (the Hotel does not advertise itself as self-catering accommodation so I felt this was to be expexted)

OVER-ALL: We felt the hotel was very good value for money. If you are looking for somewhere central as a base which is clean and friendly and you don't spend much time in your room then this is the place for you. There is no swimming pool but at this price that is more than acceptable and there are public bathing decks on the beach if you want to laze about.

OUT AND ABOUT: Sorrento is very pretty with stunning views around the bays. Take sensible walking shoes as it's built on a a cliff side with cobbled streets (I looked very silly in my heels tottering about at night clinging onto my husband to keep upright!) Pompei is a must - go to the train station and get a return ticket for 3.80 Euros - trains leave every half hour and Pompei station is outside the entrance to the site. 11 Euros to get in. DO NOT BOOK AN EXCURSION - we are not seasoned travellers and found this very easy. The tour operators will charge you over 40 euros for something you can do yourself for less than half the price. Take plenty of water and food with you as there are no shops once inside the site and no shelter from the sun/rain. BE PREPARED but it is an amazing place.

TIPS: At the minute with the exchange rate as it is you need to budget for your food and drink with the Hotel being only a B&B. Stay away from the main Plaza Tasso as the prices here are higher than down the side streets. Same again at the Main Harbour where I paid £3.28 for a normal size can of coke!
Food and drink on the side streets: 1/2 litre of local beer 4.50 Euros (about £3.70) and a coke 2.50 Euros (about £2.00). Pasta dishes average between 7-12 Euros (£5 to £10) Pizzas about 8 Euros (£6.50). If you order lasgane or meat dishes be sure to check if they come with chips/salad as most don't and you can then add about another 4 Euros (£3.30) for chips and the same again for a salad. (pizzas are the best option as they are filling and two of your sharing with a side of chips/salad is enough)

Hope this review gives a good over-view of both the hotel and Sorrento in general and is useful to those who read it! If there's anything else you want to know - just ask! Thanks

Stayed: May 2008
1  Thank Lynniepoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2008

We arrived in Sorrento without any idea of where we would stay. Our B&B host in Rome had suggested Sorrento as the ideal place to stay if you wanted to see Pompeii and Herculaneum.
Sorrento does have a tourist info centre but it was not open. There was a map on the outside of the building though that indicated hotels and since the Hotel Mignon Meuble was the closest - just up the street - so we went there.

The price was great; the room had lovely decor and was clean; the waffle weave towels were unusual but actually dried you and they were crisp and clean; good sized bath with hair dryer and lots of hot water; ample breakfast (at the time I didn't realize that this would be one of the best breakfasts we would get in Italy).

In previous reviews noise was an issue with many. Our room faced the street was quiet most of the time except for about an hour one evening. We heard techno music and the worst singing/screeching accompanying it. It was so repetitive and bad, we couldn't believe people would listen to that. Then It suddenly stopped and all was quiet. It turned out that it was an aerobics class in the gym across the street and the screeching was the instructor. It had been more funny than annoying and we could have closed the shutters. In Italian cities things start to liven-up in the evenings. We heard noise in Rome and we heard noise in Venice and really, who goes to bed that early when you could be out people watching and enjoying a coffee or beer in an amiable cafe or bar?
We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Mignon Meuble and would recommend it.
By the way, the staff (I think the hotel is family run) is very friendly and helpful and the young man at the desk speaks excellent English.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank lovetoscribble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 km away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
1,018 reviews
0.9 km away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,288 reviews
0.3 km away
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
784 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Sorrento City
Hotel Sorrento City
#47 of 100 in Sorrento
809 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Regina Sorrento
Hotel Regina Sorrento
#30 of 100 in Sorrento
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mignon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mignon

Address: Via Antonino Sersale 9, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range: $103 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mignon 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mignon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mignon Meuble Hotel
Mignon Meuble Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing