We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Nearby Hotels
La Tonnarella(Sorrento)
US$267
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$258/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$262
US$250
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$324/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Belair(Sorrento)
US$452
US$439
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$473
US$366
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Maison Tofani(Sorrento)
US$236
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Oriana Relais(Sorrento)
US$166
US$158
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$213/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grand Hotel Royal(Sorrento)
US$700
US$477
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$569/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$583
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,510
US$1,208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (2,654)
Filter reviews
2,654 results
Traveller rating
1,729
634
177
68
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,729
634
177
68
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscascading poolshalf boardsea viewbay of naplespool arealovely hotelour honeymoonpoolside restaurantevening mealthe cliffamazing viewsplenty of sunbedspublic areasmount vesuviustown centrewithin easy walking distancefew minutes walk
Filter
Updating list...
1,030 - 1,035 of 2,654 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2015

A large hotel, we stayed for a week as a couple in our 50s in June 2015. Room 820. Set on a hill the views are excellent from the rooms/patio and from the dining areas. The staff are impeccably polite friendly and helpful.The main drawback would be the amount of walking to do to get from the rooms to the common areas and the street level. The swimming pool is excellent. The food was varied and of great quality- we were on half board. The breakfast is buffet style and pretty enormous in choice. The omelette chef was something to behold!!. In many respects most GB visitors would recognise this as more than a 4 star hotel and its thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveStJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, General Manager at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review and for having shared it with the Trip Advisor community.
We are very happy that you had a marvelous stay with us and that you found the food, hotel and staff excellent.

Reviews like yours fill us with joy and pride, we hope to have you soon back with us, with our good dishes of typical Italian cuisine, our breathtaking views and our staff always courteous, friendly and attentive to the needs of our beloved guests.

Kindest regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2015

This was our second trip to Sorrento and second stay at Grand Hotel Capodimonte. The hotel has an amazing view of the city and the sea. Every staff member was very nice and welcoming. The hotel is always clean and the service was first class. The breakfast buffet was over the top. Great food with made to order omletes. We had a standard room on our first visit in 2013. The room was very big and comfortable. It had a balcony on the back side of the hotel looking out at the vegetation of the grounds. This time we decided to upgrade to a superior room with a partial sea and city view. We were a little concerned about the term partial view. The included picture is our partial view. We were not disappointed at all. What an amazing view! There is a 5 level pool that looks very inviting. I only wish it was a little warmer while we were there. Water was too cold for me. The hotel was in good proximity to the city with an easy walk to town. One plus was there is a laundromat within 5 minute walk.We hope to make it back to Sorrento again sometime and will not consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: The rooms listed as partial view on the lower floors still have great views.Hotel has floors below the pool level and above the pool level.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, General Manager at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for you beautiful review and for having shared it on Trip Advisor.
Our best advertisement is customer satisfaction and the words that you have used to describe us are fantastic.

We are very glad to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have appreciated your room, bright, spacious and with a beautiful partial sea view over the bay of Naples and the city of Sorrento.

Thank you for your nice words about the staff always courteous and efficient and willing to help with a smile.

We hope to welcome you again as soon as possible,

Best regards,

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2015

We had an excellent stay in the Hotel Capodimonte. Our room was very comfortable and kept clean.We were half board and the food was excellent with plenty of choices for all three courses. All the waiters and other staff were very pleasant and helpful. The pool area was perfect with plenty of beds and shade if you needed it.
The hotel location was ideal for us. Away for the busy centre of town but only 10 minutes walk into town

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2015

Dear Caroline,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We are glad you liked our half board option and the settings of our pool, together with the courtesy and professionalism of our staff.

We hope to welcome you again as soon as possible,

Best Regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2015 via mobile

The view from our room was amazing
Everybody in the hotel had time to make you feel special.
The food was top draw and served in excellent surroundings
I do not think I can find a negative thing to say about this hotel.
Just go

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2015

Dear Paul,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay in our hotel.

We are delighted you appreciated every aspect of the hotel and we are already looking forward to welcoming you as soon as possible.

Best Regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2015

This was myself and my wife's 70th birthday treat, we had never been to Italy on holiday before, so we picked the Capodimonte after advice from friends who had stayed there, and after reading reviews on Tripadvisor.
We had an excellent two weeks, the hotel was all we hoped it would be and more.
The service of the staff helped make the holiday, especially Guisey who welcomed you every morning with a smile for your breakfast.
We were on the 9th floor in room 935, there are four rooms here 934 to 937 these were the furthest rooms from the elevator, but the views made up for the walk. You need to be on levels 9,10,11 to get the best views, they are a bit extra but well worth it.
We were on half board, the breakfast was very good, and the evening meal was also very good with a good variety on the menu.
We exchanged the evening meal twice for lunch on the terrace when we had two lazy days relaxing at the hotel, the menu here was also very good.
My only complaint would be that the water in the urns at breakfast for the tea and coffee was not hot, only luke warm. If you have one take a small travel kettle for the room.
The pool areas are not over crowded, there are five pools which cascade into one and other, these have loungers which are well laid out. Towels are available at poolside.
We went to Capri did this on our own, ferry costs about 30 euro's each. We got one of the open taxis at the end of the pier to go to the top at anicapri 25 euro's, shared one back down to Capri, and got the venicular railway back down to the port.
We also dId the Amalfi drive, do not do this on the local buses, the couple that were next door to us did it and said it was a nightmare.
We booked a tour at hotel reception 70euro's each includes sandwiches beer and soft drinks, this was great value, the guide new all the photograph spots, and places for lunch when you had free time 9.30am till 7.30pm a long day but worth it.
We had a great holiday and if returning to Sorrento would stay at the Capodimonte again.

Room Tip: Book rooms on levels 9,10 & 11.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RangerFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2015

Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We are delighted you had an excellent stay and we are grateful by your remarks regarding the room and especially the staff; we will forward your review to them, it will surely help motivate them to always improve the standards of the service.

We are happy you appreciated also the pool and the quality of the meals; we hope to welcome you again for your 71st birthday.

Best Wishes

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews