We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Metropole
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belair(Sorrento)
US$454
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$263
US$251
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$321/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Maison Tofani(Sorrento)
US$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Oriana Relais(Sorrento)
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$225/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Il Nido Hotel Sorrento(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$368
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$175
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$1,518
US$1,215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Hotel Royal(Sorrento)
US$737
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$638
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (419)
Filter reviews
419 results
Traveller rating
83
188
94
32
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
188
94
32
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusy roadhalf boardthe busgala nightair conhot dog sausagesevening mealbay of naplesthree choicesthomas cookcrossing the roadclean towelsfabulous holidaytowels changed dailytraditional hotelsunbathing areasea view
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 419 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We have just returned from Two weeks in this hotel cutesy of Thomas Cook Holidays. This hotel held a prominent position on the main coast road from the town. Approx 2 k walk all downhill obviously 2 k uphill which was fair to middling. We were two couples in two rooms. The rooms were very good with sea views and the impressive views of Mt Vesuvius the volcano. Maid service was excellent, Clean towels every day, Bed linen every second day. There were toiletries as well. Only complaints in the actual room was NO tea and Coffee facilities which would have been good. And only ONE plug. In this day and age with everybody having different gadgets its a must to have more..
We were on half board basis. Breakfast was buffet style which was very good. No complaints regarding breakfast. Evening meal was chosen at breakfast time, nothing unusual about that. Food was ok. Nothing special, not outstanding, Plenty of it but lacked finesse. Some nights better than others, Three choices of Starter, Three choices of mains and three Deserts. If it was NOT included in the half board think we might have gone elsewhere. The bar was open all day and snacks were available till 15.00hrs. The bar prices were rather strange and EXPENSIVE But I guess average for that particular area.
Loved Sorrento will try another more central hotel if we go again.

Room Tip: Sea View rooms were a must as you awoke every morning to see Mount Vesuvius STUNNING.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rinaldo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Room Tip: The room we had was billed as superior. It wasn't superior - it was okay. When we arrived the windows were bare - they said they had forgotten to put up the curtains? We had a garden view supposedly - there was no garden - just a generator. The outside patio was in need of painting and a light and some parts of the concrete walling was missing. We were puzzled as to why there were spikey barriers on the balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 October 2017

It is quite obvious from some of the previous reviews that some people are very hard to please. We found the Metropole very accommodating. Our superior room was spacious and spotlessly clean with a sea view taking in Mount Vesuvius. The room provided a fridge, free safe, bath/shower, extra large bed and television. The room was cleaned daily with a change of bath and hand towels.
The reception desk was open 24 hours and whoever was on duty they were always helpful and obliging. We booked bed and breakfast, and although the food options were repetitive we mainly enjoyed the meal.

The bar area is quite "olde worlde" with comfortable chairs and sofas, and a pleasant sun terrace through the patio doors. Once again the staff were friendly and obliging.

We had read about the walk down into the town,but it was a bit further than we realised. We caught the bus on a number of occasions. The one time we used a taxi it cost 25 euro for an 8 minute journey.

All in all a very enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Albert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We have just returned from the most wonderful holiday at this hotel and
it was a week of total bliss. Since our last visit, the hotel has undergone a refurbishment and it looked very smart. The staff were very welcoming and we felt very comfortable from the moment we first walked through the door,
Our room was a 'superior' room with a sea view and you could look out at Mount Versuvius and the Bay of Naples......absolutely stunning. We also had a safe and a fridge (the fridge being restocked every day which we found very useful.
Breakfasts were gorgeous with the best scrambled, buttery eggs, bacon or sausages, toast, yoghurt, croissants, cold meats, fruit......very extensive and all to be washed down with a jug of steaming Italian coffee!¬
We found the 20 minute walk into Sorrento town was very invigorating and it was very helpful at burning off the calories we consumed every day, as the food in this resort is absolutely to die for.
We found booking trips very easy and managed to book a walking tasting tour of Sorrento (highly recommended, although wear walking shoes! A half day trip to Pompei, a day in Rome and a cruise to Amalfi and Positano.
My husband and I would like to thank Metropole Hotel for looking after us so well and will look forward to returning next year!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and also a superior room
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

We had two rooms booked. One for a family of two adults and two children age 3 and 9 months. There were no beds for the children we had to ask for a cot which was broken and which we were told we would have to pay extra for. The shower's in both rooms were tiny. The toilet in one room was built into the smallest corner i'v ever seen. They didn't charge for the cot when challenged. To cap it off the other room had mold on one of the walls. This hotel is not suitable for families it's about 2 miles up a hill with no path for a long section of the journey. To summarise we referred to it as Faulty Towers. There were two nice waiters.

Room Tip: Look for a room with no mould
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MoDoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews