We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Takes the term “shabby chic” to new levels”
Review of Albergo Esperia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Albergo Esperia
Ranked #35 of 40 Hotels in Capri
Reviewed 1 October 2014

Hotel Esperia is an idyllic little “shabby chic” gem off the beaten path of Capri town. Their interpretation of shabby is spot on. They have cleverly let the once-glamourous façade and regal entrance way crumble away into a post-vintage representation of Capri’s once glorious past.

The walls are adorned with one of the most complete and eclectic collections from the MoBA (Museum of Bad Art) that I’ve ever seen. Each floor is in its own theme ranging from kitsch to schlock and ending up with just plain bad execution.

The room itself was perfectly in tone with its shabbiness. Random bunk beds in the corner (we asked for a matrimonial room - I guess this too was Capri’s interpretation of marriage?) and the clever lack of a lamp shade on the light hanging from the ceiling all added to its minimalist decay.

The staff was friendly enough and very helpful when we discovered our sink had a very large leak from the pipe underneath it. Instead of the obvious changing of rooms, they immediately called a plumber who craftily taped it up with plumber’s tape and stuck a bucket underneath. It’s hard to find true artisans anymore and it was nice to discover that this quaint little town of Capri still has them!

We were totally blown away by the ingenious shower nozzle (see photo). Adding the concept of droopy to shabby made for a post-modern milieux of styles that we fully expected from Italy, the capitol of industrial design. I mean, leave it to the bold Italians to break the rule of “form follows function” - pure genius!

Adding to the "shabby experience" was the constant drone of a jackhammer coming from the floors above. At first we thought (hoped?) they were perhaps remodeling, but then I realized, due to the fact that this hammering had not let up all day, that of course, silly me, David Lynch must be using this hotel for the location of his latest film! So many classics have been filmed on this beautiful island so we really felt blessed to be a part of this industrial soundtrack and can't wait to see his feature!

They weren’t lying about the “sea view” either. If you got on your tippy-toes and peered through the holes in the bricks of the terrace next to you, a small glimpse of blue could be seen.

The climb up is not as bad as other reviews had stated. My partner was still recovering from knee-replacement surgery and made it up and down just fine.

Seriously? This place is not the 3-stars they advertise. It is pretty clean, but basic and definitely not worth the money they ask per night. Capri isn’t cheap, but it might be worth the extra Euros to stay somewhere a bit nicer. If you’re just looking for a place to lay your head and to boast “We stayed in Capri!” then this might do, but don’t expect the glamour found elsewhere on the island.

Room Tip: If you really want a sea-view, don't expect all rooms to have one. You must specify that your ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Nina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

This family run hotel is perfectly located in some 5 minutes walking distance from the Capri town main square. The view from the room and breakfast area is simply fantastic. Our room was spacious featuring private balcony with sunbeds, table and chairs. The breakfast was tasty. The staff was nice polite and super heplful, you really feel like at home at this hotel. This hotel is definately value for money. If you are searching for a well located hotel with an amazing view for a reasonable price - this hotel will perfectly fit you!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julija_Riga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Everything else! Dirty rooms, so dirty; yellow stains on the wall, mold in the bedroom on the walls, hairs from the people before us in our bed, bloodish colour stain on the pillow. Cold water after 3 mins of showering. Wifi didnt work in the rooms. We switched rooms in the middle of the night to a 'superior' room.This was a tiny upgrade to the horrible room we stayed in before. But still mold on the ceiling in the bathroom, still bad matrass, still cold water after 3 mins showering and the balcony was old and not clean at all. Sink was leaking when running water. We have the picture to prove how dirty this 'hotel' is! The matrass will probably give you serious back problems that will ruin your day. The staff didn't seem to care at all, they supposidly never had complaints like this before, which i found very strange, based on the 2 rooms we we're in. They told us this is not their problem and that this was Capri. We should be happy with the upgrade to the 'superior' room which according to her costs 300 euro's a night. I could go on forever, but to make a long story short, don't go here, don't waste your money on this nightmare hotel. We are not that kinda people that need luxery or so, al we wanted was a clean room with normal matrass, which this 'hotel' can not offer! And don't be fooled by the entrance and pics of the rooms, cause they don't match to what you will find there. Save yourself the nightmare, this 'hotel' is run by dirty people who want to make easy money and don't want to invest in keeping up their 'hotel'

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nadioo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Don't hesitate to book this hotel if you're looking for a cheaper alternative than the more expensive ones in Capri town. When arriving on the little square of Capri town, you feel it's taking too long to reach Hotel Esperia from there. For older people who most definitely have trouble walking, I'd suggest to walk very slowly up the hill.

There's no elevator in the hotel so take that in mind but our rooms with seaview! made up for the walk and the stairs! Your heavy bags will be carried to your rooms without any problem and the owners are very friendly indeed.

Breakfastview is amazing as well and even though the hotel is a little old, it holds its charm and the walk to the hotel becomes shorter every day, for knowing the road. I would go back instantly, but I wouldn't come back with my parents, since my father has trouble walking. It was a little too much for him I have to admit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Escobana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We are 21 and 22 year old girls that travelled at the end of summer. Getting to the hotel from the port with two massive suitcases that weighed 22kgs each was a nightmare. There are stairs and massive slopes in Capri that killed us. However without bags, the hotel is perfect location. It is close/walking distance to the city square, the cable car down to the port, buses that take you all around the island and all the shops and restuarants.
The hotel is large, comfortable and the bathroom and rooms are spacious and clean. The staff speak okay english and are willing to help you with planning activities for each day. The breakfasts that is provided is good and extremely sweet (included cookies, chocolate cake, croissants etc). Would recommend the hotel adds bread and a toaster to this menu however for those who do not wish to have sweet breakfasts.
Would definately recommend this hotel to families, couples and people who want a safe, quiet and extremely comfortable place to stay.
Again, great location and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefani-Kristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.2 km away
Villa Helios
Villa Helios
#6 of 40 in Capri
263 reviews
1 km away
Hotel Nautilus
Hotel Nautilus
#38 of 40 in Capri
93 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Villa Sarah
Hotel Villa Sarah
#31 of 40 in Capri
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
#12 of 40 in Capri
746 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel 'A Pazziella
Hotel 'A Pazziella
#29 of 40 in Capri
196 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Palatium Mari
Hotel Palatium Mari
#32 of 40 in Capri
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Esperia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Esperia

Address: Via Sopramonte 41, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 40 Hotels in Capri
Price Range: $128 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Esperia 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in the magical atmosphere of Capri Island, with a suggestive view in the south of the island, Esperia Hotel is located just five minutes from the the famous "Piazzetta", the center of local and tourist life. The hotel is surrounded by a flowered garden, beautifully maintained, and has spacious and comfortable rooms, elegantly furnished and equipped. An elegant and stylish location to make your vacation in Capri Island unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albergo Esperia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing