We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
162
33
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
162
33
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop terracepainted doorsamalfi coast tripgreat restaurant recommendationsgraffiti coveredcentury buildinglarge gatesliced meatsold fashioned liftold naplesmezzanine levelfelt safe at all timespedestrian areatiny liftmodern furnishingsdefinitely stay here againwelcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

There are many hotels in Naples and many up-market stylish hotel too but i wanted somewhere that i wouldn't find in every corner of the world, something with a "je ne sais quoi" !
Definitely found it in Santa Chiara Hotel.

The entrance is in a courtyard hidden behind immense antique doors. (You will need the door's pin number to get in by the way, don't forget to email the hotel for when you arrive).

There is a tiny old fashioned lift big enough for 2 people and 2 small suitcases. Otherwise there are wide stone stairs.

The entrance is on the second floor. It is wonderful. Serene and chic. Stunning antique painted doors and ceiling blended with modern art.
We were warmly welcomed by lovely staff who showed us to our room quickly.

Breakfast is served until 10:30 and is plentiful. Fruit salad, Deli with fresh bread and eggs on request; delicious cakes, fresh juices, and of course fab Italian coffee.

The room was over 2 floors. Ground floor with king size bed, bathroom and shower room. And above a mezzanine with a single bed.

A chocolate was waiting for us on our bedside table.

The bathroom was well equipped with shower gel plus ladies intimate wash gel. Shampoo and conditioner.Body lotion. Tissue box and shower cap. Hair dryer.

The bed was perfect for me but my boyfriend found it a bit hard. Amazing Huge and thick wooden indoor shutters could be close to avoid early morning sun. The air con was much appreciated as it was quite warm despite the downpour in the first 2 days.

The staff were totally brilliant. assisting with printing our boarding passes to giving us train and boat schedules and discussing historical gems in and around the city.

Italian, French and English are spoken and perhaps even other languages!

The only tiny disappointment was that a bath tub or Jacuzzi would have been most welcome after waking 20km around Pompeii !!

This gorgeous, peaceful and serene treasure made our stay a truly great one.

A taxi dropped us on a piazza at the start of The pedestrian street on which Santa Chiara Hotel is literally barely 300m further surrounded by wonderful cafes.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Ren_D361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Santa Chiara is in the Naples historic district. There are terrific restaurants, local boutique shops, gelaterias, beautiful churches -- all right outside the hotel. The hotel itself is small and beautiful, with many period pieces preserved, in one of the lovely, older buildings of Naples. As others have noted, it can initially be easy to miss. Cabs often drop you off right at the edge of the pedestrian area and, although it's just a very short walk to the hotel, if you don't know where you're going -- you don't know. Best to just ask the shopkeepers. The hotel is well known in the area and they will point you to the entrance.

The rooms are very spacious and very clean -- high ceilings, tastefully decorated, filled with light. We had two rooms -- both had large almost floor to ceiling windows that looked out onto the main street, with a small standing balcony to step out onto and view everything below. It's a lively, colorful area with lots of foot traffic. The windows appeared to be double glazed, and when closed provided quiet from the hustle and bustle below. The breakfast was good -- pastries, cheeses, sliced meats -- a typical Italian breakfast.

While the Santa Chiara is in the heart of the historic district, you can also walk down to the Lungomare area of the city which stretches all along the Bay of Naples. It's an easy walk, but about 20 minutes or so. This is a beautiful, panoramic area of Naples, with many restaurants along the water, and the spectacular view of Vesuvius across the bay.

Naples is an amazing city, but can be overwhelming -- staying in the Santa Chiara provides a lovely hotel, well positioned in an area of the city one would definitely want to visit, and yet close enough to the bay area to visit either by walking or by cab. We would recommend it for both families and other travelers.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank XLJ01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

This is a terrific boutique hotel in the heart of historic Napoli. The location is within walking distance to many of the sights, and also close to delicious traditional restaurants. The staff were friendly and helpful, and our room was very spacious. The bathroom was a bit tiny, but this is typical for Italy based on our experience. Our room had a bed up in the loft area, which was quite hot in the summer even with the A/C on. Breakfast was included with the room, which was a nice added convenience as well (continental breakfast wasn't outstanding but was perfectly acceptable). Overall recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYCtraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Hotel location is excellent. We were right next to several sites we wanted to see. We loved the room. It was comfortable, clean and had everything we needed. We were also very impressed with the service. They staff went out of their way to assist us on multiple occasions with things like bag storage, information about the area, calling for a driver...If we go back to Naples, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mikelboe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

My friend and I stayed here and were more than delighted at the property, amenities and service. Michael checked us in and later tapped on our door with Prosecco - lovely! The location is perfect - in central Napoli. You'll need to call when you arrive because the gate is locked and it doesn't immediately look like a hotel (a bonus, in my opinion!).

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 17cindyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews