We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,417)
Filter reviews
1,417 results
Traveller rating
769
412
144
51
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
769
412
144
51
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bay of naples rooftop restaurant marble bathroom beautiful hotel sea view mount vesuvius top floor front desk staff egg castle classic hotel turn down service breakfast service stayed here for two nights high ceilings room was large cakes junior suite
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 1,417 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

This was my second time staying in this Hotel and it was every bit as good as I remembered. The rooms are large and comfortably furnished. We had a magnificent view of the bay. The rooftop cocktail bar and terrace restaurant for breakfast are mAke staying here worthwhile on their own. Great location - close to many sites and across the street from the water. Excellent, friendly service. A truly great hotel.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank nick_02139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

We stayed here for three nights while in Naples to do tours of Pompeii and Herculaneum. The hotel is truly one of those "grand dame" hotels of Europe with a certain antique classy appearance (Teddy Roosevelt apparently stayed here!). The room was clean and well appointed. The front desk was helpful in arranging taxis to various sites and restaurants.
I must wholeheartedly emphasize to spend the money to get a sea view. We had a Junior Suite with Sea View and standing on the balcony looking out is one of the best travel memories in my life. We were visiting in July but with the cool ocean breeze flowing in through a huge floor to ceiling door onto the balcony it felt magnificent. You will be able to see Vesuvius over the bay and Capri off to the right. The seawall promenade down in front of the hotel is perfectly safe for walking about at day or night. In the evening there are a multitude of restaurants and bars to walk along and visit.
I am not trying to start an online fight about the "safety" of Naples, but in my opinion as a suburban dweller in the US, there are places at night in the city that seem a bit sketchy at best. This hotel is not at all in that category, the street in front of it is safe and a wonderful place to walk around, even late at night. So its possible to have a great tour of Pompeii during the day, and then have a nighttime walk in the cool seaside air along the promenade to a nice restaurant and then walk back to the Hotel Excelsior at midnight, happy and safe and enjoying the sights and sounds around you.

Room tip: Pay extra for the Sea Views!
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank xanthum_gum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

We only stayed one night on our way to the Amalfi Coast and had never been to Naples before. It was a great choice. Best location. Tired but with a large comfortable room. Superb rooftop views and good breakfast. We have visited Italy on numerous occasions but left Naples feeling that we could come back. And if we did that we would stay at the Excelsior.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank chrisjacobaleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights here, the rooms are old word deco, the floors are beautiful parquet. The housecleaning was really well done. The breakfast wasn’t good at all, we were disappointed - the juice was industrial and the fruit was tired looking. Great coffee though!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank FamilyScav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

This was a hard choice for us since we had never been here before and like a certain standard. In the past in Europe we have been disappointed. This hotel is great as far as meeting a 4 Star standard in the US. Sky is the limit on how much you want to spend on a room but the classic superior was up to standard. The only complain I have is the price of drinks and food versus going to a restaurant 100 feet from hotel. The drinks and food are quite expensive in the hotel and the best bet is to go to the restaurants along the streets in Naples outside of hotel. Hotel needs to lower prices a bit on drinks and food, but other than that.. very nice and beautiful hotel I would recommend to anyone!!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kevin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews