We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,402)
Filter reviews
1,402 results
Traveller rating
331
595
346
92
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
331
595
346
92
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station hard boiled eggs main station visit pompeii budget hotel the hotel is clean napoli centrale italian hotels minute walk reception staff pastries hotel restaurant ham single room buffet breakfast late at night amalfi coast
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,402 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

Clean hotel in the middle of Naples . Very close to the train station which is very handy.
The hotel key was massive and very difficult to take with you for the day.
The breakfast had a good choice all cold buffet food unless you wanted to pay extra.
The only downside unfortunately was that as we left we were informed of the city tax we had to pay which was €5 a night totalling vat €35. Which would have been fine if we had been told at the start of our holiday as we could have put it aside. Thankfully we had just enough left to pay it but it wasn't the best way to end a great holiday. Naples was great and well worth a visit.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank holsmay94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simona C, Direttore vendite at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear Guest,

we thank you warmly for your very nice review on our hotel and your nice words on your stay in Naples!

Only one thing which is necessary to clarify is your note about city tax: we actually write everywhere (online, on our website and during correspondances and phone calls with our guests) that city tax -equal to € 2,50 p.p. per day is not included in room price and it has to be paid cash in the hotel upon check out.

Therefore we are deeply sorry that you didn't know it and you found it as an inconvenience caused during your stay.

Last but not least, with reference to hotel key, they are still the ancient ones : the hotel is in ancient style and therefore we didn't want to change the keys as they are perfect to re-evocate an antique atmosphere...but no problem: you can leave it at the reception desk each time you go out :-)!

However, we are looking forward to your next visit to our wonderful city and most of all to welcoming you to the Grand Hotel Europa in Naples again!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

We stayed at this hotel twice recently about seven days apart due to our arriving and departing flights. Both rooms we had we clean and comfortable, however tea/coffee making facilities were not available and given we arrived at midnight on our first stay and had to leave at 2.30am on the second, being able to make a cup of tea would have been nice - this was really the only negative. The restaurant provided good breakfast and evening meal and the staff were professional, helpful and friendly. The hotel is not in the greatest part of Naples but we were aware of this and booked it solely for the convenience of getting to and from the airport and being able to walk across the road to the train station.

Room Tip: Some rooms have beds on mezzanine floors so check prior to booking.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simona C, Direttore vendite at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Dear Sue,

first of all thank you for taking your time to leave us a comment via Tripadvisor.

We are pleased that you appreciated our staff and meals provided in our restaurant as we pay lot of attention to both of them breakfast and dinner offering everyday fresh items and various products to make the stay of our beloved guests a special experience!

With reference to our location instead we know that it is a very caothic place as for all big cities: every area nearby to the central station appears disorderly but it is also very convenient to visit Naples easily even in a few days.

The area is in fact serviced by a great underground line that with only a few stops will take you to the centre of the city and it is also full of shops where you can buy everything you need at very reasonable prices.

We are also happy to read that you liked your rooms but we just would like to point one thing out: in Italy no three star hotel provides guests with tea/coffee making facilities. This service is available only in four and five stars hotels.

However it is always possible ask for a coffe or a tea: our room service will assisit you with this matter!

We are awaiting for welcoming you to the Grand Hotel Europa and meanwhile we remain with our best personal regards from the wonderful Naples :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

Diabolical hotel experience, as a frequent and keen traveller I can honestly say this has been the most tragic experience. The hotel staff extremely rude on arrival, did not inform us there was a restaurant, temperamental lift and uncomfy beds. Dilapidated bathroom and awful view of graffiti and homeless people from the so called ‘balcony’.

We went to the restaurant when we found it and they charged us for starters we didn’t have and illegally charged us for tap water, of which the waiter admitted it was illegal but this hotel does it anyway. Please be warned this is an awful hotel in an awful location, Naples is an awful place with nothing to do and nothing to see except graffiti and rubbish bags. All in all worst experience ever and caused us to check out after 1 night of our 3 night stay, we booked a flight back to UK within 3 hours of being there, disgusting!!!

Staff rude, hotel disgusting , area is a disgrace.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simona C, Direttore vendite at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Hannah,

we are really surprised reading your review.

You never claimed nothing during your stay and even when we asked why you were leaving earlier than expected check out time you said it wasn't absolutely due to the hotel...therefore we cannot consider your opinion as true one: if only one of the things listed was true you certainly would have informed us promptly.

Last but not least: NAPLES IS A WONDERFUL CITY FULL OF FAMOUS MONUMENTS AND MUSEUMS, you may not like it but no REAL frequent and keen traveller can say that it is "an awful place with nothing to do and nothing to see except graffiti and rubbish bags".



Best regards from Grand Hotel Europa and from wonderful Naples!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018

Booked junior suite and it was so cramped I fell over our case trying to cross the room. The bed was upstairs and was nice and clean but was pushed against the wall so to get out I had to either climb over my husband or make my way down the bed. I wish now that I had booked a double room it looked so much nicer. Downstairs there was a little chair with stains on so I was a bit wary of sitting on it.
We paid 6 euros each for breakfast and this was really worth the money. There was a nice selection to suit everyone. However, when I got home I checked my initial booking and it said it was included in the price.
We had a few drinks at the bar and the service was really good and the barman polite. The hotel has some nice seating areas and all the staff we came in contact with were really nice.
The area around the hotel is a bit rough but then it is beside a railway station. We were hassled a few times by people begging. I do not think I would like this area if I was traveling alone.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eeore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simona C, Direttore vendite at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018



Dear Guest,

thank you for your review on our hotel!

We are more than pleased to read that you appreciated our breakfast (just one clarification: all our rates sold online are without breakfast therefore I am pretty sure you couldn't buy it included in room price before coming to the hotel) as we pay lot of attention to it choosing everyday fresh and various items. In particular, our chef loves cooking cakes and muffins :-)

About the room, we are sorry that you would have preferred to receive a standard one especially because it was an upgrade as suites are superior rooms, bigger and more comfortable than standard ones...

With reference to our location, we know that it could seem not so peaceful at first sight as it is quite caothic like in all station areas of big cities in the world but it is also very convenient to discover Naples and its attractions even in a few days due to its proximity to undergrounds and means of public transportation stops.

Please feel free to consider Grand Hotel Europa as your neapolitan home: we all will awaite to welcoming you soon again!

Warmest regards from our whole staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

Located beside the main train station but not in the touristy part of Naples at all although convenient for getting around. Location is a little rough so wouldn’t be suitable for families looking to check in.

Staff were friendly but wanted to hang onto our passports longer than I was comfortable with upon check-in. The room was ok but the bathroom could do with some updating. Our shower didn’t drain properly and the towels were a little thread-bare.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simona C, Direttore vendite at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Dear Daniel,

thank you for sending us your comment about your stay at Grand Hotel Europa.

In a few lines you underlined main features of our hospitality: great location ideal to visit Naples easily (surely caothic at first sight as in all areas close to the central station of all big cities in the world) and friendly staff.

We just would like to point out some little things:
- to register all passports data it takes some minutes and therefore the staff at the reception desk need to take them a little more
- our towels are all new and no one is threadbare.

We consider each guest as very important and we work hard everyday only to assure them a pleasant stay: that's why we do hope to welcoming you to the Grand Hotel Europa again!

Warmest regards from Naples :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews