We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (857)
Filter reviews
857 results
Traveller rating
399
366
67
19
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
399
366
67
19
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pastries massive terrace minute walk junior suite nice modern hotel port area train station main road breakfast room mini bar breakfast was included stayed for nights on foot corso umberto molo beverello pleasant stay mt vesuvius
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 857 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2018 via mobile

Comfortable and well appointed throughout. Very clean room and comfortable bed. Lovely breakfast with plenty to choose from including delicious pastries. Coffee served with Italian pastries, the niceties you expect in Italy make all the difference. The staff were friendly, helpful and very professional. The hotel is an oasis in the busy marina area and one I would definitely recommend. I was on a tour organised by Citrus Holidays - this was by far the best hotel I stayed in. I wish they’d all been up to the same high standards.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Fearless441837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2018

The location of this hotel provides easy access to local attractions, the metro, mainline trains, buses and the port, all within short walking distances. Nearby is Corso Umberto, full of shops and the historical centre is within easy reach. So for me the location ticked all the boxes. The hotel from the outside looks great, the welcome from the staff on arrival was warm and friendly and even though we were quite early, our room was ready. The hotel is clean and modern; our room was spacious but if I’m picky, it could have done with a few more drawers. However, it had all the usual accessories, hairdryer, toiletries, free wi-fi etc. The breakfast was really good with a wonderful selection of fresh pastries. Bacon, eggs and a toaster were there too (baked beans would have been a nice addition though!). I have stayed in a few hotels in Naples and for the money this is really hard to beat! The staff were incredibly helpful and accommodating. One small word of warning though, we booked an early morning call on our day of departure and the call never came.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018

Hotel was faultless, we were greeted on reception and checked in very easily we were a little early but that was no problem for them.
The room was ideal for what we wanted, the breakfast was good and we found the food and drink relatively cheap in hotel.
Only downside was the location, we did get a sea view however this was over a very ugly factory and several cruise ships, the hotel is convenient for the town about 5 minute walk away but make sure you plan this route using a map, we used Google Maps and the direct route can take you through some pretty rough lanes, we were not threatened but felt that I was on edge especially with my little one.
I would probably stay here again, maybe use taxis a little more to get to and from for peace of mind.

Room tip: Just be wary that sea view is still over an ugly factory and Docks
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CambridgeWhitey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018 via mobile

Situated in the port area very clean modern hotel. Fast lifts /elevators. Room very clean excellent housekeeping and unusual in many hotels very quiet housekeeping staff so 10 out of 10. Comfortable bed and nice variety at breakfast. Friendly staff and speedy check in check out procedure. Only one minor issue was lack of storage space or shelf in bathroom/shower room. Would I stay here again yes definitely.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank james p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018

This place is a two star hotel at best, there is no way the five star ratings here are real.

We'll come back to the hotel bits in a second, but the most important thing to know is that the location is awful. It is along an industrial highway in the front and a run down ghetto in the back, which didn't seem like it was safe for women to walk around alone at night in. It's very far from the parts of town you want to be in, taxis were very unavailable, and the nearest metro station is 1km away.

If that is not a sufficient deterrent, the hotel is just really not up to snuff. Our room which had a terrace made it very easy for one to lock themselves out on that terrace. The shower drain would back up and then flood over into the bathroom floor. The gym has one rickety treadmill that is a safety hazard because the belt kept snagging on its own roller. The sauna area is not included in your room stay, it's a 15 euro charge that you have to book and it's not available much of the time. The front desk staff is indifferent and unhelpful. Many people there were basically asking 'how can this be' and they had the dismissiveness of powerless agents who have heard this all before and dread coming in to work to deal with it daily. I would too.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Adam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezionePS, Direttore at Palazzo Salgar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Dear Guest,


Thank You so much for Your stay here at Palazzo Salgar during Your visit in Napoli and Campania Region. We pay great attention to our precious Guests’ suggests cause we firmly believe that it is the only way to improve our proposals despite to this it seems to be that at this time we will find no proper indications to reach our aim. We never promised a product or a service that we didn’t offer to our Guests so we think that review title is absolutely out of topic.

Concerning our position, as already reported on many reviews here on Tripadvisor, Hotel has a unique strategic location for easily moving to main attractions and points of interest of the City; Via Duomo, also known as “Street of Museums”, is just at 100 meters from Property and it leads to City Cathedral and Via Tribunali (beginning of Historical Centre) with a pleasant stroll within 15 minutes.

We received Your lastminute reservation for Junior Suite, one of our best room type provided with ample spaces and an amazing terrace overlooking the roof of City Centre among Bell Towers and Skyscrapers, a well worth view that allows a time journey through several historical ages our vibrant City (as every rock remind of a great past of one most world famous cities); our Maintenance Dept. verified shower drain and we confirm that it came back up due to drain cap left closed; obviously it needs to be open allowing water flowing.

Palazzo Salgar is one of a few Properties in town offering a complimentary Fitness Area provided with Technogym (a well-known brand) well maintained Equipment and an Exclusive Wellness Area offering a Turkish Bath and a Sauna with a very value for money extra charge; during Your stay didn’t result nor a personal reservation neither reservations on behalf of other Guests related to that area and we still regret You didn’t try it we’re sure it could have been well appreciated.

We’re so surprised about posted comments concerning our Staff cause it is one of our strength points as generally showed by online reviews; all Staff Members do their job with passion and professionalism giving all our Guests a warm welcome and a great support to live at best the experience of staying in Napoli.


Hoping to welcome You again (sure that we’ll deserve a new review right at our high level of service :) ), we wish You a wonderful day.


Kind regards,


Palazzo Salgar Napoli
Giuseppe Taranto
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews