We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware! They have bed bugs!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
B&B Relais La Maison
Ranked #666 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Our stay was a disaster, when we first arrived there was a few stains on the blankets and a few hairs in our sheets, we decided to let it go, since we did an early check-in and maybe the staff rushed the cleaning although Antonio (front desk) assured us that they did change the sheets. After the first night, I noticed I had a few bites on my arms the next morning and I let that go too, thinking maybe it was mosquitos that I had gotten while busy outside touristing. After night two, the bites multiplied and I started to get concerned, I had bites all over my arms and on my back then I started doing some online research and realized these were bed bug bites! So we spoke to Antonio, who in not so many words, said he didn't think they were bed bugs because they had recently done a deep cleaning and tore out all the moldings the week before. Now...why would a hotel do this if they didn't have a bed bug problem? To their credit, they didn't openly admit it, but they didn't flip out and deny it either. Instead, Antonio switched out rooms (so he can inspect our old room for bugs) but the next morning, after sleeping with the lights on and wearing a long sleeved shirt to bed, I was still covered in more bites. Now that I'm home half my luggage is still in seal plastic bags and I threw out most of my belongings so I don't track it back to my house and I'm completely swollen and covered in insanely itchy bites (I counted 34 bites in total) and anti-histamine creams. It pretty much ruined the last days of our vacation ( I had to wear long sleeves to cover the bites in the 84 degree Rome heat while constantly reapplying various ointments to keep the scratching at bay). My boyfriend was running back and forth to the pharmacia for medicine. Also made my 12 hour + flight back home a nightmare.

Other things to note, beware of the free breakfast, after the third day of our stay we noticed the fruits were completely rotting in their basket and the croissants were on their last legs.

The only redeeming qualities were the location, which was nearby to many sights and Antonio (front desk). He was helpful when we first arrived and informed us of all the major attractions and how to get there. Also helped us in booking our cab to the airport at 4 in the morning and the cabbie was early and super nice. He was very polite and tried the best he can (I thought) while dealing with the bed bug situation, however, they really should have given us a refund for our stay or hired exterminators to check the rooms to make sure the problem was eliminated before they received more guests after their deep cleaning failed.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank syl2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

The staff is very nice and friendly, the room is large and so is the bathroom. Location also very good, walking distance from pretty much everything.

Some improvements are needed in order to keep the quality high. The breakfast is very limited and it doesn't get any refill, which I think is ridiculous. I have even asked why and got answered "that's how it is". Also, what's the point of having a jacuzzi style shower if it doesn't work properly?

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank thirstytravelingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

Just returned from a 5 night stay in this delightful b&b. There were 8 of us and we booked 4 rooms. The rooms are on the 5th floor but as there was a lift, this was no problem. The rooms were all well equipped with the usual facilities ie toiletries, hair dryer, mini fridge and air con. Wi Fi was available and free of charge. Coffee, tea, juice, drinking water was also available at any time. The breakfast were continental style and very good. Fresh fruit, various pastries, ham and cheese etc. The establishment was clean and stylish and the proprietor, Tony, was an excellent host.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Posh600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

I was staying alone in a double room and it was amazing, would have been very nice for two persons too. Clean and stylish hotel, good service and good location: Short walk from main station Termini and short walk to Via Nazionale and to sightseeings etc.
I loved that the breakfast was included, it was simple but enough to get day started! Hotel was bit found to find at first place since no visible sign to street as it was located in a normal building, I passed it once already before realized to read the names on the list outside doors. WiFi wasn't working much in the room, best connection near reception area, and WiFi is quite essential for us tourists..

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heli L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016

I was very satisfied with my choice! In the center of town, just a 10 min walk to Termini station, behind basilica Santa Maria Maggiore. Very large and comfortable room, large bathroom, very good wi-fi. Jacobo was waiting for me to check in (you have to let them know when you are arriving because there are not always there, it's not a hotel), he was very kind to recommend some nice restaurants in the vicinity. Very enjoyable stay. And a very safe neighborhood, which was important to me because I was a solo traveler.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
Thank Marina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Louisiana
Hotel Louisiana
#505 of 1,271 in Rome
269 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#448 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Domidea Hotel
#216 of 1,271 in Rome
661 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#110 of 1,271 in Rome
1,228 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#345 of 1,271 in Rome
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Relais La Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Relais La Maison

Address: Via Agostino Depretis 70, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #666 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $104 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Relais La Maison 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your B&B Relais La Maison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Relais La Maison
b&b Relais La Maison Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing