We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$106
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$149/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$149
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$193
US$160
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$191/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Condotti Hotel(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$146
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$242
US$168
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$208/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$243
US$197
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$333/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Barocco Hotel(Rome)
US$223
US$181
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$269/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$117
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$142/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$194
US$132
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 51% below average rates

The price you found is 51% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$270/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$282
US$182
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (474)
Filter reviews
474 results
Traveller rating
379
80
14
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
379
80
14
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationgave us a mapno liftnespresso machinewithin walking distancesmall fridgecomfortable bedmain attractionsbeautiful roomair conditioningroma terminigood sizepleasant stayexplore romequiet at nightlocation is greatandrea
Filter
Updating list...
306 - 311 of 474 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Location: very conveniently located, close to both metro and railway station. Plenty of restaurants, bars and pubs are at walking distance.
Privacy: top noch on this side of things, a private yet not isolated room.
Comfort: room is very comfy, extremely quite. You will enjoy a good night of sleep.
Great value for money, overall a smart choice.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Spettacolopuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

The Blue Hostel is conveniently located. The metro station and Rome’s Railway Terminal are five minutes and ten minutes away respectively. Restaurants are plentiful and there is an ice-cream/gelato café is just around the corner. Convenience stores are nearby and one of them even sells Serie A match tickets to the Rome/Lazio matches (just ask the very helpful host for direction) .

The most distinguish feature of the Blue Hostel is its privacy. There are three rooms and they are separated from the rest of the building via a heavy metal door that does not seem to be out of place even in the fortified vault of Fort Knox. Whilst isolated, you will not find a sense of solitary confinement because of the simply yet homely décor.

The room themselves are spacious, clean and stylishly designed. My immediate impression is that this is more of a master bedroom than a hotel room. The attached bathroom has the traditional door-sized window which allows air to ventilate and is ideal for travelers who wish to do some laundry.

The host was very helpful in showing us how to get around Rome (there is a tourism office near the hostel also). Price wise the hostel is a tad more expensive than I anticipated. I happened to walk into a nearby hotel and its walk-in rate was not much more than the Blue Hostel.

For those who have problems climbing stairs, take note that there was no escalator when we were there and the climb could be taxing for those with knee issues.

Room Tip: We had the last two rooms along the corridor, I think the room before the last one is a better one.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank simonjw0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We spent the first week of our honeymoon at the Blue Hostel before going to South of France & Paris. I can simply say that it was exhilarating! The place, the location, the room. You go by walking to the major destinations. Ercole is very helpful, the room was very clean, excellent internet connection. Simply the best.

We just loved it. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to visit Rome.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maya k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mirmecobio, Proprietario at Blue Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely review.
we will be so happy to host you next time at Bluehostel!
Ciao!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

This is a great place to stay in Rome.
100m from the Santa Maria Maggiore and only a short walk from the Termini which is the essential starting point for anyone new to Rome - trains, tours, taxis, banks, currency exchange are all available at the Termini.
Hercules is the proprietor. He is a Roman and obviously loves his city. On arrival he presents you with a map of Rome and gives invaluable advice as to the best places to go and the best way to get there.
If you can't find it, and it does have an identity crisis, just ring Hercules and he will appear to make you very welcome.
The three flights of stairs are a bit daunting, but from our experience, more the norm than the exception in European accommodation and Hercules and his partner are more than willing to help you lug your luggage.
The Blue Hostel made our stay in Rome all that much more pleasant because of it's comfort and convenience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

The Blue Hostel is THE place to stay in Rome. My girlfriend spent some days there with her friends and she was amazed not only with hostel itself but also with the service quality. Ercole is a great person and will be surely your point of reference in Rome. He was not only nice with them, but also he made me a huge favour to me, I have no words but only grattitude for his kind help. I encourage anyone who is travelling to Rome to stay in the Blue Hostel, I promise that you will have a great time!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramiro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews