We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”
Review of Hotel Lancelot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Lancelot
Ranked #35 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We returned to the Hotel Lancelot ( recommended by Rick Steves years ago) after having a great experience there 8 years ago. We were so happy to see that the hotel has maintained high standards and retains that quiet, personal feel. The rooms were very clean and modest but charmingly decorated. The breakfast was plentiful and varied and the service by front staff was extremely accomodating- making reservations, calling taxi's and making recommendations, all appreciated. We started our italian vacation there, were in short walking distance to the sights around the forum, (could see the coliseum from our balcony) and quick access to metro, buses and taxi's. We returned at the end of our vacation and again, were given excellent service and accomodations were great. This is a great little hotel in a great location with reasonable prices and accomodating staff. It will be my "go to" recommendation in Rome for my friends! Very reliable!

Room Tip: A corner room gives you a balcony and 2 windows. The elevator is tiny, so if there are more than two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DSuttonRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,255
    448
    81
    12
    5
See reviews for
513
672
79
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We are a family with two young children and spent a few days at the hotel Lancelot around new year's eve. We had a excellent experience and we would absolutely recommend it.
The main highlight is the quality of service. All our requests were quickly taken care of, the staff always smiling, available, yet very discreet. Employees are versed in different languages and prepared to help with your trip. For example, the reception helped organizing visits to museums, giving us useful tips, making calls and reservations.
We looked at a few rooms and they were of a reasonable size with tasteful interiors, with the exception of the "annex" which we didn't like. We recommend the top floor suite: albeit pricey, the terrace offers the possibility of romantic breakfast with a clear view of the Colosseum, only a few hundred yards away.
Breakfast was abundant and of a good quality, although the offering did not change for the five days we spent there and made it a bit monotone. We had dinner in the hotel only once and it was fine. The menu seemed well selected although less inspired by local cuisine than what we'd have hoped (but I guess you can pick one of the neighboring restaurants for "trippa" and "abbacchio"..). Ambiance of the dining area was pleasant.
The hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood with plenty of restaurants and a handful of shops, including a small but well furnished wine seller. We felt very safe at any time, for example walking back alone to the hotel at one in the morning. As a matter of fact, we found downtown Rome to be very safe.

Room Tip: Top floor suites is best for families. Annex rooms are large but not pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rolando030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We arrived late at night to a wide awake, completely wonderful staff. Everything at Lancelot was really nice without being ostentatious. COmfortable rooms, lovely breakfast spread, nice bar at night, helpful staff, quiet rooms, great beds. Maybe if I had to find one thing that could be better (just so you don't think I work there!) the sheets are a little rough. But... all things considered, location, rooms, ambience, style, cost... perfect.

Room Tip: Don't feel like you have to rush to breakfast, they keep the tables well stocked until 10:30
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bethschax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Charming tastefully decorated hotel in an elegant house built in 1942; has front garden and 6th floor terrace with Colosseum views. Rooms are immaculate. Buffet breakfast was luxurious and bountiful, included fresh oysters, smoked salmon, walnuts, almonds, and dried fruits to add to yogurt, cheeses, Italian cold cuts and fresh fruits. Hotel has a 25 euro prix fixe dinner daily at 7:30 pm with menu changing every day. Diners sit at round tables so you get a chance to meet and chat with other guests. Food is excellent. My one dinner there was probably one of my best meals in Rome. Very friendly, helpful English speaking staff. They seemed to have a lot of repeat guests.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chita44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Delightful stay at Hotel Lancelot. They put on a wonderful New Year's Eve show: the meal lasted all evening - exquisite gourmet dishes - was punctuated by opera arias and belly-dancing, and ended with us all watching the fireworks over the Coliseum from the hotel terrace. We especially enjoyed the informal and very welcoming feel of this family-run place. The staff are friendly and very helpful - Michael the barman's ginger tea rescued us when we were going down with colds! We'd recommend it to anyone visiting Rome.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katy264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
White Hotel
White Hotel
#149 of 1,258 in Rome
983 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#15 of 1,258 in Rome
593 reviews
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#70 of 1,258 in Rome
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Princeps Boutique Hotel
Princeps Boutique Hotel
#22 of 1,258 in Rome
372 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#79 of 1,258 in Rome
2,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lancelot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lancelot

Property: Hotel Lancelot
Address: Via Capo d'Africa 47 | Colosseum - Celio, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Rome
#39 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#44 Business Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): $169 - $353
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lancelot 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lancelot is a peaceful haven at a short stroll from the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. The friendly english speaking staff are always willing to help you with suggestions and tips on discovering Rome's treasure's. A distinctive feature of the Hotel are the " round tables" at which people from every corner of the earth meet and converse over breakfast or the generous evening meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Lancelot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancelot Hotel Rome
Hotel Lancelot Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing