We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Controra Hostel Rome
Nearby Hotels
US$571
US$377
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Hiberia(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$295
US$270
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$599
US$535
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$311
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Raffaello(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$201
US$164
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Diocleziano(Rome)
US$288
US$240
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Condotti Hotel(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$174
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$323
US$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$875
US$424
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
126
84
17
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
84
17
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed dormfree wifiimportant attractionsgreat locationclose to the main train stationwalking distanceprivate bathroommain attractionstrevi fountain and spanish stepswould stay here againminute walkstayed for nightstea and coffeecentral locationvatican citysuitcasesmarco
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2014 via mobile

Exceptionally clean, friendly and approachable staff as well as a great relaxed atmosphere! Reasonably priced for great service and amenities. Close to transport to city centre and lovely location on the third floor.

  • Stayed: December 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Potsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2014 via mobile

I booked this hostel months in advance. La Controra charged my credit card and then proceeded to "bait and switch" (that is, they take your money, apologise that the hostel is full and then say that they'll make alternative arrangements for you)

These alternative arrangements will be for places that are half the price you pay for La Controra, in the worst places in the city.

The hostel staff then told us that they weren't sure where we would stay, but that this would be arranged by the end of the day.

This did not happen. At midnight of the first day, we were told that no accommodation had been sought out for us. We were homeless.

The next day, we were advised by the hostel that they had made arrangements for us at Hostel Beautiful near Termini in Rome.

This is where it takes a turn for the worst (at this point, the past 24 hours had been highly stressful and inconvenient for all of us as we were asked to check in and check out four times, transport all our luggage (8 large suitcases) to different locations, were not told whether we had a place to stay until the very last minute, etc).

Hostel Beautiful was a horrific and traumatic experience to say the least. Please look up this hostel on TripAdvisor. You will find that all reviews talk about the bed bugs, stains, inappropriate staff, etc. It is hell on earth.

La Controra has no hesitations doing this to their customers. When asked why they put us to this hostel, the response was - "if you didn't like Hostel Beautiful, then you shouldn't have paid them"

Be careful booking with this hostel, they'll take your money but they won't have your back when things go wrong.

Try for Hostel Rome des Artistes instead (look them up on TripAdvisor), they're honest and reliable with amazing facilities and rooms.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
8  Thank theinfiniteabyss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2014 via mobile

Good location! very friendly staff, clean and quiet. Stayed at a three dorm and everything was great. Would just recommend to bring a towel for the bathroom floor because that was not provided and it can get pretty wet.

  • Stayed: September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank japanaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2014 via mobile

I stayed with a friend and we managed to book a double room with an en suite. The hostel is what you pay for but you get a great location in the centre of Rome. The staff are extremely helpful. Would definitely book again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nausheen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

A great location, clean rooms and bathrooms, great relaxing space. This was one of the best hostels of my trip. The staff was great as well. It was very quiet and the location was central and a great walking distance from many interesting things to see!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews