We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Diplomatic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Diplomatic
Ranked #223 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed for four days while in Rome. The price was right and was very centrally located. We enjoyed the stay very much. The room was plenty big for two of us. The bed was a bit hard or my taste, but i prefer a softer bed. The pillows were comfy. The staff were all friendly and knowledgeable. The front desk staff spoke English very well and would give us directions each time we asked. Getting around by bus is super easy and the bus stop is steps away. We bought a pass for the bus, so we would just jump on an away we'd go. Several times, we went back to the room during the day to refresh and out again we'd go. The central location near the bus stop made that possible. Our room had a window and we would open it to let in fresh air and take in the sounds of the city while getting ready in the morning. (Weather was so good during our visit).

The breakfast buffet was decent. The coffee was good. The staff that worked breakfast were quick and efficient. Much appreciated. The minute you leave, they had your table cleared and cleaned and ready for the next guest. No dirty dishes sitting around. They had American coffee out at all times and offered to make Cappuccino every day.

I would 100% stay there again. The only negative to me was the wifi wasn't great. It kept logging us out. All the time! And it was just kind of weird that you had to go through their web page to access it. We didn't have access to the internet on our phones while in Italy as we didn't want the expense that our provider wanted to charge, so we counted on the hotel internet to stay in touch with folks back home as well as research restaurants and site seeing. An upgrade to the internet would be a huge plus. Hope to stay here again though!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (824)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 824 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

The entire experience was great, perfect location, excellent price and very helpful and friendly staff. My only wish was if the breakfast would have been more savoury and less sweet. All in all, we loved our stay.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Soudabeh I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danilox74, Front Office Manager at Hotel Diplomatic, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Thank you for choosing us and for your feedback. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for three night with my daughter and cousin and had a great experience. The hotel is not fancy but kept clean. The men working at the front desk were very kind and helpful. They helped us get taxis.and made good suggestions for dinner and sight seeing. Great value hotel! Breakfast is included and good too! I would recommend it!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Felicia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights while in
Rome to see U2 in concert. Excellent location for the sights of Rome in particular Vatican City. Bus stop to Olympic Stadium for concert right outside. Nice continental breakfast. Helpful staff.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank smm412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

Hotel is old, old fashioned and could need an update. Service is not very good. Breakfast is below average.
Location is very good for sightseeing and restaurants. Close to St. Peter's church as well as the Spanish stair. Very good and cheap restaurants around the corner.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Henrik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Sant'Angelo
Hotel Sant'Angelo
#352 of 1,271 in Rome
928 reviews
Monti
Hotel Giolli Nazionale
Hotel Giolli Nazionale
#366 of 1,271 in Rome
1,067 reviews
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#64 of 1,271 in Rome
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Imperium Suite Navona
Imperium Suite Navona
#662 of 1,271 in Rome
505 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Del Corso
Hotel Del Corso
#342 of 1,271 in Rome
734 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Primavera
Hotel Primavera
#388 of 1,271 in Rome
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diplomatic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diplomatic

Address: Via Vittoria Colonna 28, 00193 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#192 Family Hotel in Rome
#234 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: S$120 - S$304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diplomatic 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Diplomatic. A truly memorable holiday.With its gold and marble decor and high ceilings, in the Italian late 19th century style called Umbertino, the Hotel Diplomatic is considered a "classic" Roman hotel, thanks to its timeless elegance. The hotel is appreciated by both business and leisure guests, especially for its strategic location, between the world famous Vatican Museums and the fascinating boutiques in the environs of the Spanish Steps. A prestigious venue, it has been completely refurbished and offers 45 comfortable, spacious and airy rooms, equipped with top level amenities. The large patio on the first floor is truly unique, for relaxing and enjoying a huge array of tasty specialties at breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Diplomatic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomatic Hotel Rome
Hotel Diplomatic Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing