We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staff amazing”
Review of Princess Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Princess Hotel
Ranked #1,108 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 14 March 2016

the rooms could do with a bit of modernisation, but the friendly and helpful staff are what run this place,they are amazing people they go out of their way to help you,i hope hotel management realise what a special staff they have,it was in a quiet location, a taxi to rome was about 18 euros each way so not too bad between friends not much to do in the evening other than sit in a local café,theres not a lot of well if any nightclubs or things like that,other than the modernisation of some of the rooms it was a good place to stay continental breakfast was good

Room Tip: a bit far out from rome but a taxi is about 18 euros each way
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandy4526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2015 via mobile

Rooms smelly, damp, smell of drain, wifi that hardly works, one plug point in room, decor is old and dated, many non functioning amenities. Restaurant has limited menu and expensive with poor quality food. The staff are friendly enough which earns them a star, otherwise it's possibly the worst hotel I have stayed in.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
2  Thank f1mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2015

horrible treatment from the personnel and quite far from a real italian life. more like a hotel resident area and lots of traffic on the closer streets. Lots of ruined rusty cars and garbage near the hotel and in the parking lot. Very depressing views.

Room Tip: avoid at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank GiurgiuAdrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2015

The Hotel Princess is two stops away on the Rome metro from The Vatican. It is about a 15 minute walk to the closest metro station, so is probably overlooked by many travellers and other reviewers have complained about the age of the property.

The hotel does have a 60's feel and look to it, and the outside is uninspiring. However, we found the rooms clean and comfortable, and at less than $50.00 Canadian per night, it is an absolute steal in a city that commands hotel rates of 250.00 Euros per night around the major tourist attractions like the Vatican and the Colosseum. At that price, you can afford to take a taxi to and from the metro is you don't want to walk, and with all the money saved can be spent on better things.

Our deal included a breakfast each morning, and they do make an attempt to a North American element to the buffet by offering scrambled eggs and sausage dish which looks much like cocktail wieners. While that didn't win any accolades, the typical European breakfast of pastries, breads, meats and yogurt was satisfying enough for us before we started out for the metro each day.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Roy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2015 via mobile

Location:
Far away from the city center. The guy in the reception made it sound like the metro station wasn't that far away but it took 20 minutes to reach.

Building and interior:
The room was very basic and the walls apparently thin as we could hear a couple next door screaming at each other all night one night. It was (mostly) clean but the AC sounded like crazy.
The interior in the hotel was shabby and really needs an upgrade.

Breakfast:
They had this system were you depending on room and whether or not you came as a group or alone you had to sit at specific table with different colors. Noone told you unless you either actually met the (aparently) head staff of the breakfast, whom told you your color, or, as many other experienced, sat down at the wrong table and the head staff came over and not so kindly demanded you to change table. Even if you had been sitting at the wrong table for 20 minutes and was nearly finished and there were MANY empty tables you had to change in the middle of your breakfast.
The buffe was good but some fresh fruits would've been nice.

Staff:
Mostly help full, but as written above the head staff of the breakfast buffe was mental and I was actually scared everything he walked near our table.

Other:
We paid for six nights with breakfast included. On the sixth night we had to check out at 3 am, and therefore missed our last paid breakfast. The lady in the reception had earlier that evening told us that, since we'd paid for the breakfast, they'd fix two goodie bags with some breakfast that we could pick up when we checked out. But when we asked the guy at the reception gave us one small bag with one croissant, a canned juice and a buisqit och told is that they weren't allowed to do this, even if I told them that I'd paid for that breakfast.

Over all:
My fiance insisted on a swimming pool and that's why we choose this hotel. Cheap but four stars with a pool, perfect! But I would never stay here again. Ever! Shabby hotel far away from everything and a dude at breakfast that scared the hell out of me!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Mikaela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Green Park Hotel Pamphili
#568 of 1,271 in Rome
302 reviews
Ergife Palace Hotel
#482 of 1,271 in Rome
1,510 reviews
Black Hotel
#713 of 1,271 in Rome
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#458 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Hotel

Address: Via Andrea Ferrara 33, 00165 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#365 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $1,003 - $1,142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Princess Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Princess is located in a quiet area near the Via Aurelia (west side of Rome) just a few minutes from the Vatican and the G.R.A. and it is conveniently located to get to Fiumicino Airport (Leonardo da Vinci) and Nuova Fiera di Roma. The Hall, recently renovated, welcomes you in a modern and elegant hall, with its 24-hour reception service. Its 290 rooms are equipped with private bathroom, air conditioned, tv set, safe and mini fridge. We also have 16 rooms specially structured for disabled guests. Hotel Princess also offers: Restaurant with national and international cuisine, cafeteria open until midnight, perfect for drinks and snacks, private parking and in summer free outdoor pool with sun terrace. Free WiFi service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing