We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and affordable luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Giardino delle Tartarughe
Ranked #1,337 of 3,743 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 March 2015

I came for the rugby in Rome and needed a place to my friends apartment and hey Presto I found this quaint and friendly guest house. The room is large and modern with a microwave and coffee facilities. the bathroom is also very modern and the bed comfortable and new. nice access to a little patio area is nice too. best of all Beatrice is very helpful and friendly. grazie

Room Tip: It is a bit out of the centre but is in a nice quiet residential area with easy access to buses and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JinksBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013

Was expecting a typical B&B but when we arrived, we were amazed at how well setup and lovely Il Giardino delle Tartarughe was.
We got a very warm welcome from Fabio and Beatrice with all the info of the area and how to get into Rome central,where to park etc.. A pity that we stayed only one night.
Place has everything you need : fridge,microwave, dinning table, fabulous bathroom and bed.. You feel at home.
It is not central to Rome but there are plenty of buses nearby and walk to tram (about 10mins), you are in Rome in about 15-20mins max..
Will definately stay again there and highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pouty27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomaTitolare, Proprietario at Il Giardino delle Tartarughe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you very much for your review, J.! We have created simple and functional environments for customers accustomed to the simple and beautiful things! We hope to see you soon! Beatrice & Fabio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Let’s be very honest.
Would prefer to stay in hotel in Roma, where you are a number or be in a small familiar place where the owners call you by you first name?
Actually it should be kept as a secret, but I decided to tell special people about this place.

Special people are people that care, look after the things that they stay in, have a feeling for details; know about quality and that have a good healthy taste. If you count yourself as that special, then the Garden of the tortoise, is the place for you.

It is in the middle of Rome but you not feel it. The advantage is that you are in a few minutes everywhere you want to be, to see Roma from A to Z and it so quiet at night that you’ll sleep like a baby.

Ring the owners about one hour before your arrival at the Tortoise-Garden. It will give them enough time and they will be waiting for you to explain all the details about the place.
I want do it here, because you have to discover it.
And then you will be as in your own apartment, just like a citizen of Roma.
Whenever you need something, the owners will help you with tips and information’s as from 10h00 in the morning.

Take a close look at the features, at the floors, the walls, the bathroom and the kitchenette.
The owners have invested all their money (we talk about a six figure sum) in a dream, to rent to special people.
Some people would have spent that kind of money for themselves but not for a B and B.

So my only very personal requests are:
- Please look after the place, because I want to get back there and see it again as I discovered it.
- Write your questions down and don’t bother the owners every hour with questions. They also have a life and a B+B is very time consuming.
- Book with them directly as they have only four rooms.
B+F, Mille Grazié e a la prossima volta,

Room Tip: They have four rooms and they are all top!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WatchFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This was the perfect choice for my vacation in Rome.
The bed and breakfast is not far from the airport and it is easy to go to the centre or Trastevere.
My bedroom was new, clean and cozy.
Breakfast was delicious and I particularly love the Italian style fresh "cornetti".
The owners are a nice couple and welcome you with a smile.
Especially Fabio, the owner, explained how to get and what to visit in the Vatican and ordered my dinner when I was too tired to go out and waited for it to be sure everything was ok.
All in all the place was above my expectation and I will surely recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarisolMedellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I'm from Rome, but I had to spent a couple of nights here because of some heavy homework.
The structure is very nice, small and very quiet. This guesthouse is located in Monteverde (namely Green Hill) that is a residential area, for mid (or mid upper) class. There are several bus stops nearby that will allow you to arrive directly to Piazza Venezia (historical downtown) with only one bus (bus line 44) or to stazione Trastevere (bus line 773). Also Fiumicino Airport is only 20 minutes (with average traffic) by car. From this guesthouse the average cab' cost to go to Fiumicino will be less than 40 euro. Gianicolo or downtown taxi' cost should be around 10 euro from here. The level of housing is elevated compared to the price requested. The breakfast will arrive you from a nearby Bar that deserves a true native cappuccino. Everything was perfectly clean during my stay. So if you need a place far from noise, and traffic, well connected to downtown or to the airports, with new and elegant furnitures this place suits perfectly to you.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Em70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#454 of 1,271 in Rome
299 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#6 of 1,271 in Rome
6,963 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#111 of 1,271 in Rome
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Domidea Hotel
#225 of 1,271 in Rome
665 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#345 of 1,271 in Rome
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Giardino delle Tartarughe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Giardino delle Tartarughe

Address: Dante de Blasi 25, 00151 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,337 of 3,743 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $110 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury guest house with 4 rooms with all confort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Il Giardino delle Tartarughe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing