We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well localizated, but dusty room.”
Review of Hotel Continentale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Continentale
Ranked #340 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2008

Me an my wife was in Rome for 6 nights.
Continentale is well situated, near Roma Termini, subway and bus stop.
Breakfast is included but it was poor meal.
Staff is kind, except the hotel owner. This mister was impatient and very boring person.
If you need an information or help ask about Iolanda (owner's daughter). She was very nice with us.
Other problem: The room was very dusty.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caninde2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 137 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2008

The hotel was good value and clean. We arrived from Australia at around 8am and went directly to the hotel. We had been told that we could leave the bags or if the room was ready, we could have it straightaway (this was arranged by email with the hotel prior to our trip). In fact, we only had to wait around 15 minutes and the room was ready and we were allowed to take our bags up and have a shower before going out to see the sights.

It was quite hot in Rome the 3 days we were there but the aircon coped quite well. The street was a little noisy with normal traffic first thing in the morning but generally we slept well.

There was some good places to eat in the streets around the hotel which didn't rip us off - good quality fresh pasta. We booked the room without breakfast as there were lovely coffee bars nearby. There was a couple of small mercatos close by so that we could buy fresh fruit and water. Internet cafes nearby in the next street so we check our footytips.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdelaideNeedmysleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2007

Booked on Romeby.com, about $139 US a night.

In 2005 I stayed at the Hotel Continentale for a couple of days before a cruise out of Rome. Great Little Hotel!!!

FACILITIES: It is clean, cheap, and the rooms are small but comfortable. We had a great little balcony with an adorable view. Breakfast was free, and the staff was great! On the last day, we checked out but were allowed to leave our bags in the (tiny) lobby for most of the day until we came back for our bags and went to the train to our ship. There was no tub in our room but the hot strong shower and awesome towels totally made up for that! Also you have to get your bags up one flight of stairs but they are wide and marble so its no big deal and the staff will help you if you ask nicely.

LOCATION: It's walking distance from the Termini train station (2-3 blocks?), so you can take the train from the airport (FCO) to the Termini Station and you are there in no time. All aorund the hotel are convenient little coffee and other shops. The Coliseum, Spanish Steps, are all within walking distance. it's VERY close the Diocetian's baths, a great little side stop. Everything else (Vatican, etc) are quickly reachable by the train. When I go back to Rome, I am staying here again!

Stayed: October 2005
2  Thank cruisinpaige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2006

This hotel was surprisingly good, the room is small, but has enough space for luggage, the rooms were clean and fresh every day and the customer service was always very helpful.
The elevators were handy, which was very convenient. Breakfast was included in the price and was a lovely buffet, endless croissants, biscuits, bread, juice, coffee, milk and biscuits with nutella. The location was perfect 5 minute walk from Termini station which was very handy, the main train station where you can catch any train into Rome which was only 10 - 15 minutes.
Overall a great place to say for the price and would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Styl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2006

Location, location - a few blocks from the Statione Terminale - where the Metro lines connect, inter city trains depart/arrive, you can even catch a train to the airport from here.

The room - cheaply furnished. Frankly, the worst of the rooms we had in seven cities in Europe but it did have a window. If you can find something better for the same price in the neighbourhood, take it.

Pleanty of places to eat nearby. A so-so Continental Breakfast is included.

Take the hop-on hop-off bus once and then take the bus/metro everywhere. Do eat some pizza and gelato - even if you get sick of it after a while - you wont get anything like it in the States.

Stayed: September 2006
1  Thank Raahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#454 of 1,273 in Rome
300 reviews
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#259 of 1,273 in Rome
614 reviews
Hotel La Genziana
#489 of 1,273 in Rome
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Domidea Hotel
#221 of 1,273 in Rome
671 reviews
Hotel Re di Roma
#157 of 1,273 in Rome
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continentale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continentale

Address: Via Palestro 49, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#321 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $65 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Continentale 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Continentale a central low cost hotel in Rome Center,our main priority is guests complete wellbeing!Hotel Continentale, a charming no frills low cost hotel in Rome centre offers best deals price quality rooms of all hotels in Rome for family vacations, romantic getaways, business travel and week-end escapes. Boasting easy access to historical city center Hotel Continentale, best budget accommodation in Rome, features an unsurpassed Rome center downtown location, best room prices, lavish breakfast, WI-FI access, exclusive hospitality and a classy ambiance.The central location allow you easy walking distance to Trevi fountain, Diocleziano’s thermal baths, the Quirinale (President Palace) the Colosseum and the Roman Forum.The nearest bus stop and underground station are a mere 30 metres from the Hotel, enabling those who prefer to use these service to reach the more important monuments quickly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Continentale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continentale Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing