We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A basic hotel, in a good location, but the staff outright lie”
Review of Hotel Continentale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Continentale
Ranked #351 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2015

This is a very basic hotel located near the train station so the location is excellent for exploring and getting to public transit. We had a room overlooking an inner courtyard and each morning at 6:00 am, the staff moved garbage cans around and made excessive noise waking us up. We booked the hotel as their website indicated "breakfast is included for all guests'. When we arrived, the man on the desk indicated breakfast was served from 7:00 am to 10:00 am and gave no indication there would be an additional charge for breakfast which was VERY basic. On check-out, we were informed there would be a €24 (Euro) charge for three days of breakfast for us. We disputed this and showed them the website where it indicated in two different spots that breakfast was included for all guests. The same man indicated he told us at check-in there would be a charge for the breakfast which is an outright lie. Had the clerk indicated there would be a charge, we would have had breakfast elsewhere as it is not worth this charge. They have subsequently updated their website to indicate certain rooms do not qualify for free breakfast but this was not the case when we booked or checked out. However it still says it is free for all guests -- very strange! The hotel is also in an open building with other 'hotels and hostels' so there are some very sketchy people hanging out in the lobby area. Would not stay again due to the outright lies of the staff.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank simpstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Rela-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Continentale, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2015

Dear guest,

I’m sorry you had a bad experience with us.

Unfortunately, you had a demand which our hotel wasn’t prepared to accommodate . While we understand that limitations can be frustrating, but the hostility and threats you directed at my collegue were very uncalled for. We appreciate all feedback, and on that day we tried our best to speak with you in person and discuss the issues raised. Unfortunately you did not even care to hear our explanation, and you stressed in threating us that I shall write negative comments in Expedia and Tripadvisor.

We take extra care to ensure every guest is fully mindful of free breakfast service is not available to the those reserve small double rooms directly in person and through promotional materials , including third party websites such Expedia, Hotels.com. Nobody made any compliant or dispute so far. In our official website it is specifcly written that breakfast is not included for SMALL NON REFUNABLE ROOM category .. We advertise our smaller rooms as suitable budget travellers who short stay travellers, this is also made perfectly clear on all marketing channels.,
. The room you booked, a small double, is advertised as best use for budget travellers and short stay, therefore with respect, since you were made aware of what you booked as it was your choice. So, it is extremely disappointing to hear that our front desk team didnot explain it well. When the staff explained that you have booked a small double room , you enquired how small it is and our staff replied it is 14mq then explained breakast is not included wihch starts from 7 to 10 from the hall nearby . But you were busy with closing your luggage. In addition to this the first day our staff requested your room number before the breakfast. We have video surveillance and recorded the all the above facts.
It is your duty to read the booking condtions and services availabe before completing the process of reservation. You reserved your room through Hotels.Com and it is specifcally explained that breakfast is not included. I just humbly ask you, if you found that breakfast is included in our offical website for your room category why did'nt book through our OFFICIAL WEBSITE?Why did you opted to book through Hotels.Com?

We are free to offer special offers, services or promotions to those who book a higher category or those guests who reserve a room directly through our official site. Unfortunately that benefit cannot be claimed to others.

Our front office staff as their reputation amongst previous guests, for their courteous and efficient attitude and services is an area we pride ourselves on highly.W. It is in your booking itself clear that breafast is not included. But you did not even care to read that part and kept on arguing to get special privilleges available to those guests reserve higher category Our breakfast costs 4 euro and is not included, this to enable the budget travellers without any obligation, to choose whether to do it or not. We give the possibility to choose the breakfast after I seeing what kind of assortment are available at the time of breakfast

.I sincerely apologise to the fact that you didnt sleep well had you mentioned the issues regarding the discomfot we would have been more than happy to change the room. Upon your next stay in a Hotel, regardless which, please always mention at reception if there is anything they can do to improve your stay and read the conditions&services available before booking
Please stop blaiming others for not reading your conditions of reservation.Well thank you for giving us an oppurtunity to clarify some points which will surely help other readers

With that said, I’m sorry again that you felt you had a bad experience, and wish you the best of luck.

Yours sincerely,
Jino Joy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2015

we stayed three nights in hotel continentale. the room was very beautiful and clean. the breakfast was quite good too. receptionists were vey friendly and helpful. the hotel is closed to termini station, in which you can go everywhere.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank agneskrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Rela-Manager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Continentale, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2015

Dear guest,
Thank you for posting this perfect review! Everything you experienced and appreciated is exactly how we want our guests to feel during their stay ! . It'll be a pleasure to accomodate you again in your next trip to Rome. Stay tuned for our new special offers for new guests and discounts for previous guests who already stayed in our hotel. Thank you again for your nice review
Warm regards,
Jino Joy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2015 via mobile

Located five minutes walk from the bus stop from ciampino airport and the termini train station, with a decent supermarket 300 m away...it is well placed for a budget traveller.
The hotel itself is from a bygone age, with a tiny 2 person lift old fashioned furniture and high ceilings...but it has aircon, a decent shower and adequate continental breakfast.
So if you want a cheap well placed hotel with plenty of eateries around...then this is it.
Finally staff were helpful and friendly.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Geoff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Rela-Manager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Continentale, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2015

Dear MR.Geoff,
May I take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. It is a pleasure to read such nice feedback, we ensure every guest feels welcome and at home whilst staying with us. As you observed our location is perfect for exploring the famous attractions of Rome. Our staff are always on hand to provide you with information and advice.Your comments will be gratefully received by the team. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Rome. Warm regards Jino Joy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2015 via mobile

When we first arrived, we couldn't get the air conditioning working which was a little annoying as the room was uncomfortably warm. However, the staff were quick to sort the issue once we made them aware.
The room itself was very clean, and had a balcony, with a nice view. Our room had a window to (what I think was) another hotel directly opposite, so I'd just say don't walk around naked! There was a little luggage room just outside on the balcony which was a nice touch and definitely made storage easier. If you have a lot of luggage, they even have an elevator so you aren't dragging it up the stairs.
The only negative I'd note is that our overhead light stopped working on our last night, so we had to use the bedside lights. We only noticed it when we got back at 1am, and unwilling to go down and say anything, we just left it until checkout in the morning.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for short stays. It's in a fab location, easy to access from Termini and shares a road with some great little restaurants!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Rela-Manager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Continentale, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2015

Dear Miss.Samantha,
Thank you very much for posting a review on you experience at the Continentale! We are a small team working here and being welcoming, smiling and accommodative is what we strive to achieve. The most important for us is to make you feel as good as if you were home. I am very sorry to read about your experience with the overhead light and wish we had been made aware of this because most likely we would have been able to fix the issue.
Thank you very much for pointing out how pleased you were to have chosen the Continentale for your stay and for your recomendation, we look forward to having you with us again, at any time of the year!
warm regards
Jino Joy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2015 via mobile

Location was perfect. 5 min walk to Termini central. Supermarket and restaurants nearby. We manage to walk to all the places to see (colosseum etc). Took about 20mins.
Room was clean, with a/c, balcony facing the street, hot shower, clean bathroom.
The noise from the bar in front of the hotel subsided after midnight which was fine. We did not take the breakfast, so could not comment on that.
Overall value for money and comfortable stay. Will come again!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Amyharun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Rela-Manager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Continentale, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2015

Dear Mr.Amyharun,
Thank you so much for your kind feed back! We are happy to hear that you felt at home with us! And most of all thank you for recommending our Hotel to your family and friends, which is very important for us! Sunny greetings from Hotel Continentale.
Jino Joy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#453 of 1,273 in Rome
300 reviews
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#257 of 1,273 in Rome
614 reviews
Hotel La Genziana
#488 of 1,273 in Rome
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Domidea Hotel
#231 of 1,273 in Rome
671 reviews
Hotel Re di Roma
#157 of 1,273 in Rome
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continentale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continentale

Address: Via Palestro 49, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#321 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $65 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Continentale 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Continentale a central low cost hotel in Rome Center,our main priority is guests complete wellbeing!Hotel Continentale, a charming no frills low cost hotel in Rome centre offers best deals price quality rooms of all hotels in Rome for family vacations, romantic getaways, business travel and week-end escapes. Boasting easy access to historical city center Hotel Continentale, best budget accommodation in Rome, features an unsurpassed Rome center downtown location, best room prices, lavish breakfast, WI-FI access, exclusive hospitality and a classy ambiance.The central location allow you easy walking distance to Trevi fountain, Diocleziano’s thermal baths, the Quirinale (President Palace) the Colosseum and the Roman Forum.The nearest bus stop and underground station are a mere 30 metres from the Hotel, enabling those who prefer to use these service to reach the more important monuments quickly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Continentale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continentale Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing