We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Hotel”
Review of Hotel Continentale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Continentale
Ranked #349 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Very basic hotel - no drink machine in room, air con only fixed for the last part of our holiday despite many requests to get it fixed as it was so hot. No iron to loan. Staff not that helpful. Ran out of some food at breakfast. Having said that, the bedding and bathroom were very clean.

Room Tip: Not room 234
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Keith C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Rela-Manager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Continentale, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback we are delighted you enjoyed the lovely bedding and cleanliness of the hotel to our usual very high standards.With regards to your comments concerning the A/c I am very much sorry for that we could not fix the the problem on the first day itself.
We actively ensure through different promotional materials that our hotel is a TWO STAR HOTEL and provide services according to standard 2 star hotel in Italy. Please go through some of other comments by other guests and they even reviewed that we are providing services of 3 star hotel .
Our facilities of a normal room as you experienced includes a cleaned room with an attached bathroom is complete with a hairdryer and free toiletries. Other services includes satellite TV, free wi-fi, fax/phot copying&printing service, Air conditioning & heating, Safety deposit box in the rooms 24 hrs front desk , tour desk,breakfast , Lift, Wake up call, doctor on call, Free city map etc We always recommend that prior to booking, Guests explore all room types available so that they can book the type which will best suit the needs and meet their requirements. I would like to add that we have a range of room types, and aware that our entry level rooms are on the smaller side therefore we always recommend that guests explore all available room types (dimensions and amenities of which differ,), prior to booking to ensure that guests are most comfortable, and have the space and in –room amenities required to suit their needs.We offer service according to the price you are paying e.g. our superior rooms are provided with mini bar,free slippers,welcome drink, shower cap etc and that kind of facilities are not available to other category.We do provide a VARIETY of rooms which maybe more suited to your needs; should you require any assistance in selecting the best room for your next stay please do not hesitate to contact
Unfortunately, you had a demand which our hotel wasn’t prepared to accommodate.My collegue already explained that for safety and security reasons of the guests we cannot provide iron box to use in your room . She also pointed out that there is a laundry nearby where you can avail the ironing service. It is quite sad that you are not satisfied the services of our staff. Our front office staff as their reputation amongst previous guests, for their courteous and efficient attitude and services is an area we pride ourselves on highly. But this will not absolve our responsiblity towards our guests and I personally apologise for communication errors happened.
I am sorry that your experience did not fully meet your expectations and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future, when perhaps a Superior room may be more suitable for your needs.
With regards
Jino Joy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

The hotel was nicely styled, was a decent size, had a comfortable bed, nice bathroom, and other amenities (fridge, desk, cuboards) to ensure a comfortable stay. It was in a convenient location, though the street was very noisey. Lucky, the window had thick glass and a shutter so it didn't bother us (though, that made the room a bit warmer than we liked). The reception staff were very friendly.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Abbey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Rela-Manager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Continentale, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2016

Dear Mr.Abbey,
Thank you very much for a shining four star review.
I am very happy to receive your positive comments, customer care is among our highest priorities and your feedback is immensely valued. ‘Guest-friendship’ represents the spirit of Continentale.All our room categories offer amenities which are often commended by guests including the high quality bed linen and towels, toiletries, complimentary high speed WI-FI, etc.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to stay with us very soon.
Warm regards,
Jino Joy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016

The location was fantastic. Both metro lines and many buses were in a 5 minute walking distance. The check in and check out was easy and fast, the staff was nice.
The room (or the neighbors) was a bit noisy in the morning. We booked the room without breakfast, but tried in on the first morning. It wasn't very good, not only wasn't very good for the price, but generally. No sausages, no cheese, no fruits, no eggs etc. Lot of sweet stuff - I know, it's the italian way, but would have been nice to let us choose. After that we ate at a neighbor coffee shop where the staff was very friendly. The blankes for the bed were unusual (I think different country, different habits), a sheet, then an other sheet, then a blanket, no cover for the blanket. The water in the shower was sometimes not warm and the bathroom door could be hard to open from the inside. The A/C didn't work.
Despite the negative things we would book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Rudolf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

The hotel is located in a complex with other hotels and hostels. Make sure you to to the correct one to check in. We arrived before check in time and the front desk was able to keep our bags as we explored the city. The room was very bare bones, just a simple bed and bathroom, but that was all we needed. The location is an easy walk from Termini and from there you can get anywhere in the city. I would definitely recommend the Continentale if you are planning to be out and about all day and just need a room to sleep at night.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank anitsirk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Rela-Manager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Continentale, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2016

Dear Guest,
thank you for your positive comments and recommendation. I would like to add that We have a range of room types, and aware that our entry level rooms are on the smaller side therefore we always recommend that guests explore all available room types (dimensions and amenities of which differ, are detailed on our website), prior to booking to ensure that guests are most comfortable, and have the space and in –room amenities required to suit their needs.
Along with my team, we certainly looking forward to welcoming your return in the very near future.
warm regards
Jino Joy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2015

Hotel Continentale is a typical budget hotel with a good location. It is approximately 3 blocks / 15 mins walk from Central Termini.

The total hotel experience was just ok. I was neither disappointed nor impressed. A guy in the reception named George was really nice and helpful but the guy (wasn't able to get the name) that was on duty during mornings was not so pleasant and accommodating. Room was of adequate size and clean. Beds were not so comfortable though. Wifi was available up to the room. Breakfast may be or may not be included, depending on your package but you can always avail for 3 euros per head. Breakfast offered were mostly just breads and pastries plus coffee / tea. Restaurants and Bars are also situated within the area for wider dining options.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaflores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Rela-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Continentale, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2016

Dear guest,
We really appreciate you have taken the time to share your comments about your stay with us.All our guests are very important for us, and their satisfaction is our main aim. We really appreciate that you have sent us your comments, which help us to improve our service .We would like to apologize for all the inconveniences you have suffered during your stay which did not allowed you to enjoy the Experience and the high level service that we usually offer.
It is our pleasure to inform you that we are renovating our hotel, technical controls in the room are going to be changed, also we are going to renovate the lobby. We really hope to have a second chance once the process is completed so you can enjoy the true Continentale experience.
On behalf of our staff we wish you a happy 2016.
Nice regards,
Jino Joy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#467 of 1,271 in Rome
299 reviews
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#248 of 1,271 in Rome
610 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#224 of 1,271 in Rome
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Genziana
#490 of 1,271 in Rome
148 reviews
Hotel Re di Roma
#160 of 1,271 in Rome
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continentale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continentale

Address: Via Palestro 49, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#321 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $65 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Continentale 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Continentale a central low cost hotel in Rome Center,our main priority is guests complete wellbeing!Hotel Continentale, a charming no frills low cost hotel in Rome centre offers best deals price quality rooms of all hotels in Rome for family vacations, romantic getaways, business travel and week-end escapes. Boasting easy access to historical city center Hotel Continentale, best budget accommodation in Rome, features an unsurpassed Rome center downtown location, best room prices, lavish breakfast, WI-FI access, exclusive hospitality and a classy ambiance.The central location allow you easy walking distance to Trevi fountain, Diocleziano’s thermal baths, the Quirinale (President Palace) the Colosseum and the Roman Forum.The nearest bus stop and underground station are a mere 30 metres from the Hotel, enabling those who prefer to use these service to reach the more important monuments quickly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Continentale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continentale Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing