We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very rude staff, shabby room, ugly location in Rome”
Review of Palma Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palma Residence
Ranked #3,094 of 3,721 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We were "welcomed" by a staff member with a rough "Where do you think you are you going?" in Italian as we were trying to find the hotel reception and heading into the building. Then the guy told me that we would have to walk to their other building and that I would have to pay my (thank God only one) night stay in cash right away. It turns out that the The Palma Residence has three locations, and of course we didn't stay in the lovely-looking-in-the-internet-picture building.
Then we walked to the other building, about 2 blocks away, to find our accommodation in a very spooky weird residence. The room had air conditioning (a must in Rome's summer) and was spacious, but it loooked shabby, the bed was very uncomfortable, the windows didn't close well (and there was so much noise in the street), the safe didn't work, and the bathroom didn't look very clean. Besides, there was no staff there, and no telephone, so if we had an emergency at night (or even if we needed something simple like toilet paper), there would be no one to help. I guess breakfast is in the main building, so another low point if you are taking it.
Although it was convenient for one night as we were taking the train from Termini early the next day, I don't recommed staying in that district for a longer period, as it is a very ugly part of Rome and full of pickpockets and beggars. Although we found a very good place for dinner, I didn't feel safe at all walking there at night and we hurried back to our "delightful" ugly room right after our meal.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tata_Paulista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2012

My husband and I booked this hotel for a fairly last-minute trip to Rome, so we did not have a lot of options. Upon arrival, like many others have noted, we were told that we would need to pay in cash, even though they had a credit card sign and online it said they took credit cards. However, when we said we didn't have enough cash, we were told we could pay later in the stay. However, when that guy was away one day and there was a woman at reception, she let us pay by credit card with no problem.

The air conditioning in the room worked very well, which was great, since it was extremely hot during our stay. There was also a mini-fridge and a tiny television, which we couldn't figure out, so we didn't really bother with it.

The location was very good, within a few blocks of the train station, but on the far side where it was much less hectic. There were a number of walkable places to eat nearby.

The room itself was clean, but there was some mold on the shower doors. Oddly, some lightbulbs were missing from the room, making it a bit dim, especially in the bathroom.

When we arrived, we asked about wifi and were given a network name and password. As it turned out, there were 2 different networks -- one worked for the most part as long as we sat on the end of the bed by the door, whereas the other one was down for all but the first 5 minutes of our stay. The problem with this is that the network that was working was 5GHz and therefore we could not connect to it with our iPhone. We talked to the front desk guy the other network quite a bit, but we kept getting the run around -- he told us that the problem was with the phone, that all of the internet was down, so it wasn't their fault, etc. This annoyed me a bit, as clearly none of these excuses were true. It would have been nice if there was someone there who could have just looked into the problem, restarted the correct router, etc., but oh well, we survived.

Breakfast was also a bit odd. Coffee, juice, and a croissant were brought to the room in the morning, but you could not choose the time. This meant that every morning they'd knock on your door just after 8am, whether or not you wanted to be up then! This would probably be fine for most people, but we were at the end of quite a long trip and didn't like being forced to get up and answer the door so early!

If I could not find a better deal, I would be fine with staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kak80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

First the good stuff:
The Palma Residences location where we stayed (there are three locations) was only 5/10mins walk from the main Termini train station and there was a subway station even closer. There were lots of nice restaurants and snack bars nearby. The room we had was a decent size and very clean with a small fridge and plenty of storage for our clothes, bags etc. The bathroom was very small and had nowhere to store anything but the shower was good pressure and hot and the towels were changed daily. There was a garden area out the front which was nice to sit to relax. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was great value for being right in the city.
Now for the downsides:
The building wasn't very well insulated so it could be quite noisy with other people coming and going into the hotel and also to the other floors in the building. The bathroom was too small and would be difficult to manouvre around for anyone larger than average. The bathroom was internal with no window and the fan didn't always come on either and a few times there was a 'sewer' type smell which wasn't pleasant. When we booked this, the location seemed to be shown as somewhere else but we had the actual location clarified after we booked. It didn't cause us any problems but the website information could have been clearer.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GlasgowGirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Close to Termini station (5 minutes walk), as usual for the neigborhood this hotel has been established in an apartment house through buying a floor. Reception is 24 hours, friendly and flexible. Rooms are nice and comfortable, no problems.

Room Tip: Choose a room which is looking at the internaly yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank istvanmolnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Firstly I'll start by saying that I was more than slightly worried having booked this accommodation before reading the trip advisor reviews but can safely say that my experience was great.

I went as part of a stag party and we took four rooms in the hotel, upon booking the rooms you can choose whether to book in the hotel or in the hotel annex. I paid a few euros more for the rooms in the hotel but think its worth it.

The rooms were clean, showers hot and the staff were very accommodating. It was quite clear to us that there was no breakfast which was fine with us given the lovely patisserie a few streets away.

As I said, we were there are a stag do and on that basis we weren't looking for luxury but I'd have no issue staying in this hotel again, you get what you pay for and as we paid about 25 euro a night each you couldn't ask for more. The hotel charged 2 euro for a beer and Stefano the manager was more than helpful, stocking up on extra peroni for us!

I can back up the reviewer who said the double beds were singles pushed together but I'd also say I've stayed in much more expensive hotels where this has also been the case.

Just so your aware we booked through booking.com and had no issues at all.

Room Tip: Be aware that rooms listed as annex are not in the main hotel but are in another building around the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Corallo
Hotel Corallo
#639 of 1,269 in Rome
194 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Luciani
Hotel Luciani
#762 of 1,269 in Rome
454 reviews
Esquilino
Auditorium di Mecenate
Auditorium di Mecenate
#392 of 1,269 in Rome
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Serendipity Residence
Serendipity Residence
#1,003 of 1,269 in Rome
83 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palma Residences
Palma Residences
#725 of 1,148 in Rome
42 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Enrica
Hotel Enrica
#2,437 of 3,721 in Rome
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palma Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palma Residence

Address: Via Varese 5, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,094 of 3,721 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $69 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Palma Residence 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palma Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palma Residence Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing