We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun & Friendly -- Good food too!”

The Scrub Caffetteria
Ranked #1,501 of 1,962 Restaurants in Bologna
Cuisines: Italian
Neighbourhood: Santo Stefano
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Santo Stefano
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The proprietress spoke no English and neither my wife nor I speak Italian, but as our apartment was nearby and we stopped by often, we got to learn of each other's lives. One morning I pointed to my wedding ring and gestured 30 and she left and returned with a picture of her husband from within the shop. She held up her fingers to show how many years they were married and said "morto" which even we understood. Now, the cappuccino and espresso were good, as was the mortadella we were in Bologna after all! We seem to have really good experiences in the smaller shops -- and a smile and a butchered "buongiorno" or "buona sera" and "grazie" go a long way. July of 2019

Date of visit: July 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2019 via mobile

Stopped off for a quick glass of wine. Given free crisps and food. Came back next day as service and quality fantastic. Really nice friendly service, very reasonably priced wine with complimentary food.

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank jonpiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

This was our favourite caffetteria in Bologna and was right next to the Asinelli Towers. The coffee was excellent as was the mini pizza and savouries that were put on our table at no extra charge. I wanted to transport this place back home as we do miss it. The wine was also very good. A large wine, and I mean large, was 5 euro's. My double expresso was only 3 euro and my partners americano was only 2 euro's - great value. Loved the place.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

This place is a small but warm place,Especially the espresso was very tasty.I would suggest you try it when you go to Bologna.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wanderlustbsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2015

I visited last month and I was very happy with my espresso and also with a pomegranate juice that I ordered. They were delicious and the service was prompt and polite. However, compared to other caffe's around the area this seems to be a bit pricey.

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Viajantesinrumbo0488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Scrub Caffetteria also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to The Scrub Caffetteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.