We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
6 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$172
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/02/23
Expedia.com
US$169
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/02/23
Vio.com
US$150
View deal
Hotels.comUS$169
PricelineUS$186
TravelocityUS$169
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (838)
Filter reviews
838 results
Traveller rating
464
284
62
13
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
464
284
62
13
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews piazza maggiore perfect location the main square beautiful hotel church bells junior suite side street beautiful room each morning four star hotel cold cuts breakfast was excellent within easy walking distance yogurt the air conditioning railway station pasta
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 838 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2022 via mobile

Nice staff and clean rooms but sub-par AC and non-existent management to address issues. We arrived around 7pm and despite being promised an upgrade we were assigned their “nicest” room. Turned on the AC and went to dinner when we returned the room wasn’t cool, THEN they turned on the AC, waited another hour still not cool. Then they transferred us to three different rooms in 2 buildings with multiple flights of stairs, only the final room has barely functional AC. There was nobody to assist with luggage or help us locate the remote rooms (located in conventional apartment buildings). More importantly I asked to speak to the manager at least 4 times between that issue and then we checked out and nobody was made available or contacted me. Worst hotel experience we had after a month in Italy. AVOID.

Room tip: The parking is very difficult to find even with the detailed directions.
Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank nickfromsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Management response:Responded 14 November 2022
Google Translation

Ci dispiace che non abbia apprezzato il suo soggiorno nel nostro hotel e gli sforzi della Reception per rendere il suo soggiorno il migliore possibile. Lei aveva prenotato una stanza Doppia Classic, gli upgrade li facciamo gratuitamente su base disponibilità, quindi solo se possibile e al suo arrivo non c'erano altre stanze di tipologia superiore oltre a quella a lei assegnata. Il Receptionista notturno ha tentato di venire incontro alle sue esigenze, ma essendo appunto sera tardi, tutte le camere dell'hotel erano già occupate e ha quindi potuto proporre solo appartamenti. Le ha fatto vedere diversi appartamenti e alla fine le ha dato un bellissimo luxury apartment che è l'equivalente di una suite in hotel per grandezza e costo. Se avessimo avuto altre soluzioni interne all'Hotel gliele avrebbe certamente proposte, cerchiamo sempre di venire incontro alle esigenze dei nostri Ospiti. Spechifichiamo però una cosa: la sua stanza non aveva nessun difetto, in Italia, secondo la legge del nostro Paese, la temperatura dell'aria condizionata non può andare sotto ai 25 gradi con una deroga di due. quindi ovunque in Italia non si può impostare l'aria condizionata sotto i 23 gradi centigradi. Noi per venirle incontro abbiamo abbassato ancora l'aria condizionata, ma essendo inizio novembre con 13 gradi esterni probabilmente la temperatura era ancora inferiore a quella impostata e quindi il condizionamento non ha prodotto alcun effetto. Siamo davvero spiacenti di non averla accontentata, un saluto da Bologna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2022 via mobile

I completely agree with the previous reviewer. The reception staff had zero empathy or apparent willingness to engage in the most basic of interaction with customers.
Page one of staff training: make people feel welcome.
Our room was fine but dominated by an enormous TV completely out of keeping with the rather eccentric style.
Despite us making it obvious we only drank Breakfast tea in our room, each day we were given all sorts of tea but breakfast tea. We also had to ask for milk. Not a big thing but perhaps it shows a basic lack of understanding of client base.
The location is great and the breakfast ok, the staff there were at least more friendly.

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank KeSl_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Management response:Responded 15 November 2022
Google Translation

Vi ringraziamo per la recensione e faremo presente alla reception che avete trovato il personale del front office poco empatico. Per quanto riguarda il suo giudizio estetico sulla dimensione della TV non possiamo farci nulla: per scelta abbiamo deciso di mettere in tutte le camere smart TV di ultima generazione 50 e 55 pollici per dare un servizio di alto livello. Chiaramente TV grandi impattano sull'estetica della camera, ma del resto un TV piccolo sarebbe un disservizio considerato obsoleto per molti Ospiti. Per quanto riguarda le bustine di tea date in omaggio in camera dal kit bollitore, ci dispiace che non abbia trovato il tea di sua preferenza, ma chiamado il bar o la Reception saremo stati ben felici di accontentarla portando in camera quello che desiderava, latte fresco compreso. Un saluto da Bologna!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2022 via mobile

We stayed four nights during a visit to Bologna in October 2022. We were in a junior suite.

The hotel’s location was superb for exploring Bologna; everything we wanted to see and experience—sites, restaurants, etc.—was within easy walking distance (2-30 min.) of the hotel. We took a taxi from airport, which was easy and about 25 minutes; the hotel is about a 20 minute walk to the train station.

The rooms are unique and decorated with art, as is the lobby. The hotel is unique and its decor feels authentic to the destination. The room was clean, and we were thankful for daily housekeeping service.

However, the quality of sleep was less-than-expected. The mattress was extremely hard. The air conditioning (one reason we selected this hotel) only seemed to partially work; our room definitely did not cool to the temperature we set, and the room was hot in the evenings. Our suite was right above the lobby, and the “Muzak” played in the lobby was audible in our bathroom and bedroom from early morning (before 8am) through late at night (after 10pm). Attempting to sleep while having to listen to an odd mix of pop and opera was less-than-ideal, and I did not expect a four-star hotel to have this problem.

The breakfast was fine—coffee prepared by staff and a nice buffet of cold cuts, cheese, yogurts, rolls, and lots of sweets. Staff assisting with breakfast were polite.

We did not find the staff at reception particularly warm or welcoming; again, this was surprising for a hotel of this caliber. Check-in was efficient but not especially welcoming. As we entered and exited, staff rarely looked up from computers and/or acknowledged our presence. Requests were handled efficiently but without warmth. No interest was shown in our visit, experience, etc.

Overall, average: great location; suitable but not outstanding rooms; efficient but not memorable service.

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank brmusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Management response:Responded 14 November 2022
Google Translation

La ringraziamo per la sua recensione, anche se avremmo preferito che ci dicesse le problematiche riscontrate immediatamente in modo da poter porre rimedio e rendere il suo soggiorno migliore. Per quanto riguarda l'aria condizionata in realtà funziona perfettamente, ma rispetta il limite della legge italiana. Per i materassi utilizziamo i memory foam della marca Dorelan, tutti nuovi e di ottima qualità, ma se ci avesse detto che per lei era troppo duro, avremmo messo un topper più morbido. Per quanto riguarda la Reception mi dispiace molto che l'abbia trovata poco accogliente, di solito gli Ospiti ci fanno i complimenti per l'efficienza e per la simpatia del nostro Staff, Reception inclusa. Speriamo di riavervi presto come Ospiti, un saluto da Bologna!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2022

Very pleased with the choice for this hotel based on Trip Advisors reviews. Beautiful property, very clean and location can't be beat. Just off Piazza Maggiore, where there is an abundance of restaurants and shopping. Beautiful breakfast buffet and room where it is served. Only drawback is not enough furniture to put your clothes. There was a nice walk in closet in our room but only 2 small drawers, so I l pretty much lived out of my suitcase for a week. 15 minute walk to Bologna Centrale to take trains to area which is what we did. Parma, Modena, Ravenna and Ferrara. Down the block from St. Petronio church, where for those not afraid of heights, in the back of church on left side is a lift for 5€ you can take the elevator (construction one) up to a staircase for an amazing view of the city.

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Management response:Responded 18 October 2022
Google Translation

Grazie per la bella recensione, vi aspettiamo di nuovo a Bologna! Un saluto da tutto lo Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2022

We booked this hotel because of the location and the view of the cathedral. It was also for this reason that we changed rooms. The first room had no view of the cathedral, only the roof of the building next door. After staying in both rooms we can say that the first room had a worse view and a worse bathroom but had a better bedroom. The other room, on the other hand, overlooked the cathedral, a better bathroom, but its location (close to the elevator) and the bedroom were less comfortable. Each room is different - each has its own pros and cons. It depends who cares about what. Overall the hotel is good especially its location. The breakfasts are also tasty and the staff are nice. We also pointed out that at present the rooms were quite well cleaned, which has been the case recently, even in five-star hotels. On the downside, no free drinking water in the room. These are no costs for the hotel and a great convenience for guests. We did not like the design of the hotel, but it’s a matter of taste.

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AleksanderRenata
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Management response:Responded 18 October 2022
Google Translation

Grazie per la recensione molto dettagliata che ha lasciato. l'Hotel è l'antico comune di Bologna del XII secolo quindi lo stile è medievale. Effettivamente le stanze sono tutte diverse ognuna con la sua personalizzazione. Grazie per i complimenti fatti allo Staff per la prima colazione a buffet e la pulizia delle stanze. Vi aspettiamo di nuovo a Bologna!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews