We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
6 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$302
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/02/23
Expedia.com
US$323
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/02/23
Destinia.com
US$258
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/02/23
Hotels.comUS$323
PricelineUS$264
travelup.comUS$317
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,395)
Filter reviews
1,395 results
Traveller rating
988
311
61
20
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
988
311
61
20
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews d oro lovely hotel marble bathroom perfect location piazza maggiore deluxe room lounge area centre of bologna the hotel staff side street long weekend small balcony old city due torri boutique hotel buffet breakfast quiet street
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,395 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2022

My wife, her friend and I stayed last night and had a wonderful experience. The staff, rooms, bar and restaurant were all excellent. We decided to have cocktails and dinner in the hotel because the weather was so bad and it was a great decision.

Date of stay: November 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank American-Dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Michele Piazzolla, Direttore generale at Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2022

Dear Brent,
Thank you for your wonderful review and especially for choosing our hotel for your short trip.
We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay and hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon.
The whole staff wish you and your families happy holidays.
Best regards

Michele Piazzolla
GM
Hotel Corona D’Oro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2022 via mobile

The best things about this hotel are the location (very central) and how clean the bathroom was. The breakfast service was poor. Just one member of staff serving so we had to wait ages and most things were cleared away 15 mins before the end of service. We asked the hotel receptionist to make a restaurant reservation which somehow slipped through the net. We never did find out why. The hotel is overpriced and overrated and I would save your money and stay somewhere else.

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank tibbyelmwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Michele Piazzolla, Direttore generale at Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2022

Dear Tibby Elmwood,
I am very regretful for what happened during your stay.
You are right, there was an issue at breakfast, and it is only appropriate for us to own up to it.
Unfortunately, one of our colleagues had to be absent from work last minute and we didn’t manage to fill in this gap.
Furthermore, there was a failure to communicate on our staff’s part regarding the reservation you requested.
In fact, we are now applying some variations on our procedures for giving out communications to guests to avoid this type of mistakes.
I assure you that our standard is unlike what occurred. Our staff is praised by our guests for their attentiveness, cordiality and helpfulness.
We always invite our valued guests to immediately express their concerns, to speak and to inform the management and staff when something happens in order to find a solution and to solve any issue and inconvenience, because sometimes it can happen.

If you ever decide to give us another chance, we will welcome you with great pleasure and humility.
It would be an important occasion for us to do better.
Best regards

Michele Piazzolla
GM
Hotel Corona D’Oro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2022

Perfect location near old town center but on a quiet street. Reception is very helpful. Decor is not standard hotel-issue but beautifully furnished with Old World charm and modern conveniences. Nice entry atrium. Room was quiet, as requested.

Date of stay: November 2022
Thank travelculture123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Michele Piazzolla, Direttore generale at Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2022

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words and for the preference accorded to our hotel.
It was a pleasure for us having you here and we are glad that we managed to make your stay special with our hospitality.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back, until then we wish you and your family happy holidays and all best wishes for the upcoming year.
Best regards

Michele Piazzolla
GM
Hotel Corona D’Oro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2022 via mobile

Great location. Quirky hotel. A few different levels inside, so quite a few stairs. There is a lift taking you to certain floor levels.

Friendly staff, especially tall young man in the breakfast room, who spoke fantastic English.

For a 4* star hotel, there was not complimentary water in the room each day. That was disappointing and not what we were used to.

Bedroom was nice, but smaller than in the photos. Bed/pillows very comfy.

Noisy outside each morning with lorry emptying bottles very early.

The breakfast room was probably the best room in the hotel. Very elegant. Nice food, but for a 4* hotel, no freshly squeezed orange juice, but instead very weak and poor tasting juice offered.

Service at breakfast was usually very busy, so on your first morning you didn’t know the drill ie. What was and wasn’t included (scrambled eggs are, but fried egg is not!). Only two waiters serving and even though they tried their best, it usually took quite a bit of time for the coffees to arrive. The hot water for tea was not boiling, so the tea did not diffuse.
The scrambled eggs, along with the bacon and fresh vegetables were absolutely delicious.

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank LoriBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Michele Piazzolla, Direttore generale at Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2022

Dear Lori,
Thank you for taking the time to send us your review and all the comments.
We appreciate all your suggestions, we are working on improving our services and receiving our guests’ feedback is always helpful.
Recently we have implemented complimentary water bottles at departure and we are working on our breakfast service.
Since last year the breakfast is served in our new restaurant and we are trying to refine the service and use different products.
We hope that there will be a future opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel.
The whole staff wish you and your family happy holidays.
Best regards

Michele Piazzolla
GM
Hotel Corona D’Oro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2022 via mobile

Excellent location - excellent people - service/ friendliness of staff is great…
A big but : classic room is too small - congested for amount you are paying- we paid 235e/day where process were up to 500+ e /d for the next week; hotel rooms are rather aged, toilets have some strange humid smell. Try to get an upgrade to a more decent size… I hate the very basic amenities i.e. powder coffee replenished only by request-

Room tip: Taxi can get to the hotel- driving is tricky; check the room size …
Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank YG617
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Michele Piazzolla, Direttore generale at Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2022

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review and for sharing your experience with us.
We appreciate all your comments and suggestions and we will most definitely take all of them into consideration to improve our services.
The staff would like to thank you for your kind words towards our hospitality.
We are working very hard to ensure our guests have a relaxing stay and I’m glad to hear that we managed to make you feel welcome.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back, until then we would like to wish you and your family happy holidays.
Best regards

Michele Piazzolla
GM
Hotel Corona D’Oro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews