We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$96
View deal
Expedia.comUS$135
Hotels.comUS$169
PricelineUS$96
TravelocityUS$135
eDreamsUS$96
travelup.comUS$191
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,118)
Filter reviews
1,118 results
Traveller rating
604
404
75
20
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
604
404
75
20
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews piazza maggiore great location themed rooms pillow menu the main square quirky hotel quiet street the main hotel side street would highly recommend this hotel central location pastries wonderful hotel comfortable room booked this hotel within easy walking distance old city
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,118 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2022

We spent one night at this fantastic hotel at the end of our time in Italy - and wish we had been able to stay longer! Our room was wonderful - we loved the themed decor (in the Elsa Schiaparelli room), and the room was clean and comfortable. We took advantage of espresso in the reception area, as well as the breakfast buffet. Highlight of the hotel is its location - on a quiet, charming side street just one block off the Piazza Maggiore. We will definitely return, and we would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bologna.

Date of stay: November 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank leight727
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Phi Hotels, Proprietario at PHI Hotel Bologna Al Cappello Rosso, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2022

Dear guest,
We would to thank you for staying at the Phi Hotel Bologna and for leaving us your contribution.
We are very pleased to have received your review so enthusiastic and full of appreciation that it repays us well for the passion and dedication that we dedicate every day to our work.
We like to pamper our guests by offering them the best services and all the comforts to have a good stay and we are happy that you have enjoyed what is made available to you. Also we are very pleased to read your will to return soon to visit us. We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Our best regards.
Phi Hotel Bologna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2022

On a long honeymoon which included several stops in Italy and France- the apartments with PHI Bologna were a wonderful treat and allowed us to spread out for a night and enjoy the heart of Bologna. We will definitely be back!

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mhurtuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Phi Hotels, Proprietario at PHI Hotel Bologna Al Cappello Rosso, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2022

Dear Guest,
We are very pleased to have contributed to the success of your honeymoon and to have offered you a good and convenient solution to be able to visit the city of Bologna and enjoy the best it has to offer.
We would like to thank you for choosing us and for sharing your experience.
We look forward to hosting you again.
Our kindest regards.
Phi Hotel Bologna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2022

We stayed in one of the apartments that could accommodate up to four people. I must say that when we first checked in, I was somewhat disappointed in that it was clear we had been given one of the smaller apartments. In fact, when I booked the hotel, I was not told which apartment I was going to be given and I found this to a bit troubling. I would recommend that this be made clear at the time of booking. Regardless, the experience was a very pleasant one.

The location of the hotel is unbelievably good, one block off the Piazza Maggiore, which is the heart of the historic district. The hotel's staff is very accommodating and did its best to address our every need. We were pleasantly surprised that our room was cleaned daily - there was something on the website that said it would be serviced once during the week - and the cleaning staff did an excellent job including providing fresh sheets and towels daily. The wait staff in the breakfast area was very attentive and did an excellent job. I agree with reviews that say that the breakfast is a bit uninspiring. We found that if you came a little later during the breakfast hours, that the hot food such as the eggs and the sausages were not replenished. I would recommend focusing on this going forward. One more mild complaint which is that we were told that we couldn't use the AC in our room which wasn't a huge imposition but there were instances each night where the room got a little stuffy. We resolved this by keeping our windows open which was fine up until the morning hours when there was street noise.

Room tip: Ask for one of the larger apartments as the one given to us (the Agresti) was tight for four people
Date of stay: October 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BWHITE6132
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Phi Hotels, Proprietario at PHI Hotel Bologna Al Cappello Rosso, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2022

Dear guest,
thank you for choosing the Phi Hotel Bologna and for dedicating some precious time to leave us your review.
We are pleased to read that your initial doubts have been resolved and that the assigned apartment corresponded to your expectations, as well as you were pleasantly surprised by our cleaning care: an aspect on which we place particular attention so that our guests enjoy every day to the fullest comfort and the best stay experience. Although what makes us happiest is that you liked to find a staff that is always attentive to the needs of the guests and ready to satisfy their requests.
To the other side, we are sorry that you found that some breakfast items were not promptly restocked but we make sure to offer freshly cooked products that do not stay too long in the trays and to replace them with new and always fresh ones. Therefore, should it happen that you do not find what you want and in that case we are always happy to provide immediately. In the same way we are sorry if you have had discomfort in not using the air conditioning in the room and we would like to let you know that we are subject to compliance with regulations that require to stay between certain temperature parameters outside of which, with a view to energy saving, it’s provided the shutdown of systems.
We hope you can take with you a pleasant memory of your experience with us and we will love to have you again as our guest.
Looking forward to see you soon.
Kindest regards.

Phi Hotel Bologna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2022 via mobile

The Olivetti brand on the door was startling. When we walked into the room, there was a keyboard on the ceiling, a typewriter jutting out from the wall, and an Ernest Hemingway quote in the armoire. As a novelist, I wondered if the universe was telling me something. We had a lovely room, the service and staff were attentive and gracious. We will stay here again

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank phinix490
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Phi Hotels, Proprietario at PHI Hotel Bologna Al Cappello Rosso, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2022

Dear guest,
We are really pleased that you have appreciated that among all the 33 different rooms you have been assigned the one that represents you the most and that this has contributed, together with our staff always attentive to the needs of our guests and committed to serving them at best, in spending a pleasant experience.
We would love to have you again as our welcome guest and look forward to seeing you soon.
Kindest regards.
Phi Hotel Bologna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2022

Stayed in a standard room (Camera del Mondo), and felt it was a nice little hotel with reasonable rates. Average breakfast, very friendly staff. Great location for a Bologna holiday. Can't ask for more!

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yiling T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Phi Hotels, Proprietario at PHI Hotel Bologna Al Cappello Rosso, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2022


Dear Yilling,
we thank you for choosing the Phi Hotel Bologna and for sharing you review.
We are happy to read that your stay with us was satisfying you, that you enjoyed the particular décor and furniture of the room assigned, with objects from all the edges of the world and representing the travels across the five continents; the breakfast that every day is served with a quality selection of products salty and sweety but overall that you enjoyed our staff hospitality who, through a service that is always precise and attentive to the needs of our guests, has contributed to the success of your stay.
It was so pleasant host you and we hope we will have others occasion to have you with us.
Our best regards.


Phi Hotel Bologna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews