We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$186
US$176
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Affittacamere Iris Bed and Breakfast(Trieste)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
26
34
44
23
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
34
44
23
22
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

shabby, outdated and partially renovated in third world style. this hotel has nothing to offer, but a old mattress for a night. i do not want to go into details but the AC is not working, there is not only no room service, there is not even a phone in the room. no refund fromm booking.com of course, still we will escape tomorrow to the savoy which has only 4 stars but is like a palace in comparison.

Stayed: May 2018
1  Thank peter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

The hotel is cosy and the staff very friendly, you can get your breakfast at this time of the season but other meals you need to go out to get.
Located about 45 minutes walk out of town but the bus is running regularly
Mr. C

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

The staff at this hotel is 5 star, the view at the roof-top restaurant were we had breakfast is breathtaking. However this is where the fun stops. We ordered family room for four, but upon arrival we were told that was not available, instead we were given two ajacent rooms that we accepted but!!! One of the rooms had broken AC and we moved to another. In the morning we were woken by some construction noise, hammering etc...
When I woke up I felt pain in my back which I blame the mattresses for as they were old and tired. Hats off to the concierge that opened the pool for us as it was closed when we arrived.
In my opinion this is not a 5 star hotel and not good value for money.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Elmar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

The view from the restaurant on the top floor is the real pearl of this hotel.
Otherwise quite a disappointment for a 5 stars hotel.
The rooms are run down, the service is surely not 5 stars (I.e. Breakfast is served from 7, but I arrived at 7:30 and the tables on the terrace were not prepared yet and had to wait some 10 to get a seat).

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Apulia-Food4Love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

I stayed at the Greif plenty of times, because of its location and of the fact that it used to offer the longest hotel swimming pool in Trieste.
The Greif prides itself with 5 stars. Well: one should be aware that it is way far from deserving five, and even four stars. Maybe it was at its golden age some twenty+ years ago, when it was newer and when the average 5-star level was lower (at least in Italy).
Just a few examples: furniture is really basic and old (eighties stile) and so are bathrooms (they look like grand-ma's not a 5* premise); there is no vanity set; mattress is pure campground-grade; noisy A/C; breakfast substantially lacks the salt buffet...
Also consider that the pool and wet area should reopen in October; they are currently close because of the interruption of the agreement with a previous management company (yes: Greif consider these services and their continuity "so important" they outsource their management to some external company...).
Now some pros: nice location along the coast, great views on the coast from the dining area, kind personnel. But now, what would you expect from any 5*: being located in a damp and kicked in the back by its personnel ?
I would rate it three stars. All in all, I would consider it only when consistent promotions are available. Definitely not advised to luxury travelers (check the Duchi or, more upscale, the new facility at Porto Piccolo).

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MatteoMilan_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews