We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great! Rick Steves got it wrong this time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Marina Piccola
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Manarola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2017

We stayed at Hotel Marina Piccola during our honeymoon last month, and couldn't have been more pleased! I had wanted to "splurge" on a room with an ocean view and private balcony (I say "splurge" in quotes because the price was still very reasonable - this same room with an ocean view in San Diego would cost 2 to 3 times this amount), and booked the largest/nicest suite at this hotel, room 9 on the top floor. Usually I consult Rick Steve's reviews first, and was a little nervous to see that he had described it as "a lesser value...expensive and impersonal." I'm not sure which staff the writers had encountered, but the two sisters (I believe they own it with their father) that we interacted with were lovely. Our suite was gorgeous and very spacious with a killer view and comfortable bed. Breakfast was very generous, and they even made us eggs to order. My one and only word of caution is that if you want this gem of a room, it's on the 4th floor (AKA 5th floor to Americans) with no elevator. Worth it!

Room Tip: Room number 9 on the top floor! I believe they call it a "quadruple." Private balcony with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jblue74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

4 - 8 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at this hotel for 5 nights and enjoyed Manarola which is truly charming. I was drawn to this hotel because of the design of the reception and adjoining breakfast room which is very contemporary with architectural lighting and furniture.

I booked a room (#12) with a sea view and upon arrival discovered this was in a separate building a couple of steps away from the reception. This wasn't a problem as the uninterrupted views were amazing and are what made our time at this hotel so memorable. Without the views I'm not sure I would be all that impressed, but I didn't get to see any of the rooms in the main building.

The room was very spacious with a contemporary bathroom/ dressing room, but the room would definitely benefit from a few enhancements. At the high level window, a towel had been secured instead of using a blind. A coffee machine was provided but with polystyrene cups and plastic glasses for water that were never replaced during our stay and the bed was very uncomfortable. We're not usually that fussy but investment in mattress topper would make a world of difference. All this might sound picky, but when there was such attention to detail spent on the hotel itself, it's a shame this didn't translate into the finishing touches within the rooms that would have made our stay more comfortable.

On the plus side the windows were good quality and we were never disturbed by noise. The breakfast was also delicious with an excellent variety of cereals, pastries, bread, cheeses/ meats, cake and yoghurts as you would expect and they also provided fresh fried or scrambled eggs which were very good.

We travelled light (hand luggage only) knowing what the Cinque Terre is like and also coming via Bologna, Florence. Just before our break I bought two lovely matching, light weight/ compact cotton towels from The White Company for us, one of which the cleaner managed to scoop up with the other towels. Mistakes happen, but the owner/ receptionist offered us an old towel left by a guest by means of replacement. After saying that wasn't really good enough, it was replaced by a new tourist towel but was surprised by the response. Hospitality was a little cold.

Had it not been for the view I probably would've given a rating of 3 1/2 and but it really was spectacular.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mley27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

I will definitely return. This simple b&b feels cosy and homely. The room is spacious and tastefully done up. Hosts are always smiley, friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and the major highlight for us was Tula, a Shepard dog that greets us as we check in. Tula has been an amazing host and perhaps an ambassador of Marina Piccola B&B!
The stairs can be an issue for older folks or families with young kids but for us it's ok.. location is good.. very near the train station. The rain shower was excellent, ample hot water supply and water pressure was up to standard.
Can't find anything absolutely bad about this place to be honest..

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Weina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

This hotel is fabulous in location and quality. We stayed on the very top floor which only has the one room (room 9), and
was by far the best room in the hotel. The views over the water stunning. The room spacious and lovely decor, and the balcony wonderful- especially watching the sunsets. The staff are lovely and the breakfast great. Highly recommended this hotel.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JenLH69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

A great hotel that was nicely updated. We had a fantastic view from our room (Suite #9), with a private balcony. The breakfast served was always fresh and hot. The location in the quiet town of Manarola was perfect as it was only a couple minute train ride to the rest of Cinque Terre. The views were breathtaking. Great stay in a comfortable bed. Just know that there is no elevator to get to your room, not a big deal at all though. Thanks for the great stay!

Room Tip: Suite 9 has a great private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manarola
0.2 km away
Hotel Ca D'Andrean
Hotel Ca D'Andrean
#1 of 2 in Manarola
224 reviews
1.4 km away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#3 of 11 in Riomaggiore
310 reviews
6.9 km away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#10 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#6 of 11 in Riomaggiore
203 reviews
7.4 km away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#14 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
635 reviews
7.3 km away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina Piccola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Piccola

Address: Via Renato Birolli No 120, 19017 Manarola, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Manarola
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Manarola
Price Range: $197 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marina Piccola 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Marina Piccola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Piccola Hotel
Marina Piccola Manarola
Hotel Marina Piccola Manarola, Cinque Terre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing