We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience; Clean and simple accommodation”
Review of Memo's Room

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vernazza
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Memo's Room
Reviewed 19 May 2016

It was a fantastic experience dealing with Enrica Basso. We visited her property in September and couldn't ask for more. Although the rooms were quite basic, all the basic amenities were in place and the place was centrally located in Vernazza, just a hundred metres from the Vernazza railway station and right in the middle of the action on the main street. For the incredibly low fare Enrica charged us, this was a very nice value-for-money stay at Cinque Terre and I would wholeheartedly recommend memo's room to anyone considering staying here. One can't really fault that the accommodation was basic because most of the times we would be out exploring Cinque Terre and what its 5 towns have to offer. Perhaps the only grouse with Memo's room is they have no elevator, so if you are an international tourist with a wee bit of luggage, be prepared to lug your heavy luggage 2 storeys up and down :) This will be the case with most houses in Cinque Terre, so cannot really call it a flaw, just something you should be prepared for :)

Enrica was very professional and helpful, guiding me all the way from Bologna after we had made a mistaken booking on the train route. Full marks to her for her help.

Room Tip: Try booking the room on the first storey, it will reduce the luggage hauling effort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank karthik641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2016

This was our 3rd time to stay with Enrica(Memo's Room) over the years. Her rooms are always clean and great locations. Be ready to climb the stairs, but that is the charm of Vernazza. Her price is very reasonable for the Cinque Terre area. When we get close to Vernazza we just call her and she will meet us on the street and help carry our luggage to the room.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2015

Great location! Wow! Halfway from the shore and the train station. So quiet, we had great sleep. Enrica met us at the station after we got help calling her when we arrived earlier than we advised her. She's curt but not unfriendly. We found her trustworthy. However, we did get put in a room without a number, so it may be considered the overflow room. Perhaps the rooms 1-3 were already taken or for longer stays. Our room was darker than the 3 on the website, no views. The lighting was extremely dim, even in the bathroom. At first we found the room nicely designed, very minimal, very clean, no strong odours of perfumes or cleaning products... fragrance-free, which we liked. The towels, however, felt "crunchy" as if they have been line-dried, which we didn't mind but they also had an odd odour... we weren't sure of the detergent used; was not perfumey but was not odourless either. I would almost bring my own towels. There's no wifi, it's hard to come by when renting rooms in CT areas. And CT has a lot of steep stairs, including this room, if that is something that would concern you. There's no lift. Other than all this, I really enjoyed our stay. Could have been better but the location and price made up for everything. Vernazza was perfect for us.

Room Tip: ask for Rooms 1, 2, or 3. They have more light and face the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2015

Enrica was able to accommodate 4 of us with 2 rooms on short notice by email. She made arrangements with a shopkeeper friend across the street to greet us and let her know we had arrived. The rooms were simple but nice. Location couldn't have been better, a block from the train station and a block from the harbor square.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Memo's Room are very close to the train station and centrally located in Vernazza. The room I had was very basic. Just a bed, bathroom and closet (no phone, wifi, fridge, breakfast etc) but it was very clean and I enjoyed being on the main street for the people watching out my window! It is up a fairly sttep 2 flights of stairs to get to the room so if you have bad knees this is not hte place for you. The only drawback for me was Enrica herself. I dont know if she was having a bad few days or not but she doesn't seem to enjoy the hospitality industry. Not very friendly, kind of brusque and once she gets you passport and hands the key off thats it. You dont see her until it's time to pay. There was no discussion of the own or things to do or even "call me if you need anything". However - the room is very convenient to everything in Vernazza. It was super clean, had a nice big closet and extra pillows & blankets which I appreciated. I guess I just expected a little more warmth from the proprietor. Also - since Vernazza is so small there is really nowhere to escape the train noise and church bells. I just wore earplugs and slept very well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElVee2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vernazza hotels
0.1 km away
Franca Maria Rooms
Franca Maria Rooms
#12 of 39 in Vernazza
195 reviews
2.6 km away
Agriturismo Pavi delle 5 Terre
2.6 km away
Agriturismo Graziella
Agriturismo Graziella
#7 of 19 in Vernazza
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Elisabetta Carro
Elisabetta Carro
#9 of 39 in Vernazza
208 reviews
0.1 km away
Pensione Sorriso
Pensione Sorriso
#25 of 39 in Vernazza
130 reviews
0.2 km away
La Perla delle 5 Terre
La Perla delle 5 Terre
#20 of 39 in Vernazza
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Memo's Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memo's Room

Address: Via Roma 15, 19018 Vernazza, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Vernazza
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Vernazza
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed due to damage suffered in the October 2011 mudslide. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Memo's Room Vernazza, Cinque Terre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing