We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay in Vernazza”
Review of Memo's Room

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vernazza
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Memo's Room
Reviewed 8 November 2016

if you're looking for clean and simple lodging in Vernazza at a really good price, Memo Rooms is the place. The location, a couple of blocks from both the train station and the harbor, is perfect. Steep steps going up could be a problem for some. My one complaint is the wifi, which never worked the entire time we were there. I had to go across the street and pay at the wifi center. I'd like to stay there again on our next visit to Cinque Terre, but only with an assurance the wifi will work. Several good restaurants nearby, especially the Blue Marlin for breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Petaluma94952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2016

Vernazza is a cute little town right on the Mediterranean. The one main street is only about 5 blocks long. Vernazza is a fishing village so the restaurants have wonderful seafood. Our double room was large, clean and well lit. The bathroom is small and the shower is minuscule. Triple rooms have larger bathrooms. The bed was comfortable. Our window overlooked the main street so it was good for people watching. Rooms are on the 2nd floor up some steep stairs (no elevator). The Memo Rooms are about 1 block from the train station which might bother a light sleeper.
If you are hiking the Cinque Terre you need strong legs and strong ankles because the high trail is very uneven. If you are tired of hiking you can always take the local train from town to town.

Cons - Memo Rooms have no Wifi and only take cash payment.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank John98020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2016

It was a fantastic experience dealing with Enrica Basso. We visited her property in September and couldn't ask for more. Although the rooms were quite basic, all the basic amenities were in place and the place was centrally located in Vernazza, just a hundred metres from the Vernazza railway station and right in the middle of the action on the main street. For the incredibly low fare Enrica charged us, this was a very nice value-for-money stay at Cinque Terre and I would wholeheartedly recommend memo's room to anyone considering staying here. One can't really fault that the accommodation was basic because most of the times we would be out exploring Cinque Terre and what its 5 towns have to offer. Perhaps the only grouse with Memo's room is they have no elevator, so if you are an international tourist with a wee bit of luggage, be prepared to lug your heavy luggage 2 storeys up and down :) This will be the case with most houses in Cinque Terre, so cannot really call it a flaw, just something you should be prepared for :)

Enrica was very professional and helpful, guiding me all the way from Bologna after we had made a mistaken booking on the train route. Full marks to her for her help.

Room Tip: Try booking the room on the first storey, it will reduce the luggage hauling effort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank karthik641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2016

This was our 3rd time to stay with Enrica(Memo's Room) over the years. Her rooms are always clean and great locations. Be ready to climb the stairs, but that is the charm of Vernazza. Her price is very reasonable for the Cinque Terre area. When we get close to Vernazza we just call her and she will meet us on the street and help carry our luggage to the room.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2015

Great location! Wow! Halfway from the shore and the train station. So quiet, we had great sleep. Enrica met us at the station after we got help calling her when we arrived earlier than we advised her. She's curt but not unfriendly. We found her trustworthy. However, we did get put in a room without a number, so it may be considered the overflow room. Perhaps the rooms 1-3 were already taken or for longer stays. Our room was darker than the 3 on the website, no views. The lighting was extremely dim, even in the bathroom. At first we found the room nicely designed, very minimal, very clean, no strong odours of perfumes or cleaning products... fragrance-free, which we liked. The towels, however, felt "crunchy" as if they have been line-dried, which we didn't mind but they also had an odd odour... we weren't sure of the detergent used; was not perfumey but was not odourless either. I would almost bring my own towels. There's no wifi, it's hard to come by when renting rooms in CT areas. And CT has a lot of steep stairs, including this room, if that is something that would concern you. There's no lift. Other than all this, I really enjoyed our stay. Could have been better but the location and price made up for everything. Vernazza was perfect for us.

Room Tip: ask for Rooms 1, 2, or 3. They have more light and face the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vernazza hotels
0.1 km away
Affittacamere da Nicolina
Affittacamere da Nicolina
#8 of 19 in Vernazza
47 reviews
0.1 km away
Franca Maria Rooms
Franca Maria Rooms
#12 of 39 in Vernazza
195 reviews
2.6 km away
Agriturismo Pavi delle 5 Terre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Agriturismo Graziella
Agriturismo Graziella
#7 of 19 in Vernazza
28 reviews
0.1 km away
Pensione Sorriso
Pensione Sorriso
#25 of 39 in Vernazza
130 reviews
0.1 km away
Elisabetta Carro
Elisabetta Carro
#9 of 39 in Vernazza
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Memo's Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memo's Room

Address: Via Roma 15, 19018 Vernazza, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Vernazza
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Vernazza
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed due to damage suffered in the October 2011 mudslide. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Memo's Room Vernazza, Cinque Terre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing