We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indulge in Excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Splendido
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2017

When excellence meets service you have arrived at Hotel Belmond Splendido. The ' spare no expense' manner at which they surpass your every need. From outside greeting to final checkout, your experience is more special guest than any other place you may stay. The hotel decor is nostalgic of a time when personal attention was an every day affair. If you have a bucket list put this on it for sure. The salt water pool and the bar was unforgettable.

Room Tip: Get an suite with a balcony sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ridley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeMegni, Direttore at Belmond Hotel Splendido, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Ridley D,

let me thank you to have find the time to write two exquisite reviews on our Restaurant La Terrazza and our Belmond Hotel Splendido. Our Guests' satisfaction is what keeps motivating us to try our best!

We are all looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in the nearby future in Portofino and to render you next stay even more Splendido!

With my very best regards,

Ermes De Megni
General Manager
Belmond Hotel Splendido & Splendido Mare - Portofino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (987)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 987 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

The hotel is so old in terms of furniture. They may want to keep the style of the 50s or 60s i get it but they can renovate. The bathrooms are sooo small, rooms are too, gym is limited. Paying that much for a night, you expect the best.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Danah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeMegni, Direttore at Belmond Hotel Splendido, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Dear Danah A,

first of all let me thank you to have shared your 'Splendido Experience' with all the TripAdvisor community. We are always looking for ways to improve our service, and our Guests comments and suggestions, whether positive or negative, are an invaluable part of that process.

I am very sorry to learn our Hotel did not reach your expectation, but in any case I would like to inform you as follows:

-The site was originally home to an ancient Benedectine Monastery in the 16th century and has been turned into a Hotel 116 years ago. From when the company bought it in 1985, every ​year during the closure period we do regular refurbishment of rooms, bathrooms and common areas trying to maintain the oldfashioned and at the same time combine it with the lastest trends in hospitality.

The main peculiarity of our Hotel is that all our rooms are different in terms of size and decor. For example, the smallest room is 25m2 and the largest is 140m2, while our bathrooms go from 5,50m2 to 24m2.

-The Fitness Centre at Belmond Hotel Splendido is divided in two gyms equipped with the newest exercise machines, with hardwood floors throughout and sea views via a spectacular glass wall.
The one dedicated to cardio has ​1 cyclette, 1 spinning cyclette, 1 step machine and 2 tapis roulant. The second one has 1 rack for dumbbells, 1 multifunction fitness machine, 1 multipower, 1 water rower, 2 benches, 5 medicine balls and 6 fit balls.

Our hotel is world-wide famous for its features, an ancient monastery with all modern services, hidden in the Natural Regional Park of Portofino protected by UNESCO, a 10 minutes walk from the most exclusive location of Italy.

I take this opportunity to thank you once more for your feedback, all the Splendido Team hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the nearby future in Portofino!

With my very best regards

Ermes De Megni
General Manager
Belmond Hotel Splendido & Splendido Mare - Portofino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Spectacular hotel. Excellent food, customer service. Special shout out of Vladimir, the pianist at the cocktail bar who makes every night so enjoyable. My wife has a more detailed review under Shelli S. Highly recommend

Stayed: September 2017
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeMegni, Direttore at Belmond Hotel Splendido, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear David P,

first of all let me thank you and your wife Shelli S. to have find the time to write to exquisite reviews about our Hotel and to have shared your 'Splendido experience' with all the TripAdvisor community.
It is a great pleasure to read you enjoyed so much your stay! I will extend your kind and positive words to all the Splendido Team, especially to our Maestro Vladimir.

We are all looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming the two of you soon in Portofino and assure you enjoy 'La Dolce Vita'.

With my very best regards,

Ermes De Megni
General Manager
Belmond Hotel Splendido & Splendido Mare - Portofino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Beautiful hotel overlooking Portofino. Easy shuttle into town (5 minutes). Friendly staff. Great service. The bar was hopping. Can't say enough nice things about this hotel. Expensive - but well worth the price. We will definitely go back.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeMegni, Direttore at Belmond Hotel Splendido, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Jack B,

first of all let me thank you to have shared your 'Splendido experience' with all the TripAdvisor community.
It is a great pleasure to read you enjoyed so much your stay!
All the Splendido team is honoured to read your kind and positive words. Our guests' satisfcation it is what keeps motivating us to try our best.

We are all looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in the nearby future in Portofino and to render you next stay even more Splendido!

With my very best regards,

Ermes De Megni
General Manager
Belmond Hotel Splendido & Splendido Mare - Portofino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

I first stayed at the Splendido 32 years ago. I could never forget how beautiful the hotel and the setting were. Simply stunning! It was exclusive and expensive, and a bit snooty three decades ago.

The hotel seems to be thriving under the management of Belmont. I am so impressed with how they oversee every detail. The hotel is still exclusive but only in the sense that it is, of course, expensive. But I feel they are very inclusive in their attitude. How they make every guest feel very welcome, whether they arrive in a t-shirt and flip-flops or whether they come in the most fashionable Italian attire. Fundamentally the Splendido is a resort and guests come with a more casual relaxed attitude, albeit Italian style.

We had a lovely Junior suite, room 472. It has a beautiful harbor view and a double balcony.
The room was a bit small as this is an old building. There was very little space to unpack or to store clothing. Really only one or two drawers. Our bathroom however did have a double sink which was appreciated.

Room service was the fastest I have ever experienced in any hotel anywhere in the world. We ordered a full, hot breakfast and it arrived within seven minutes. I called in the order order and got in the shower. I was not even halfway done and food arrived! And it was excellent. The food at the pool and in La Terrazza was also delicious, and those will be covered in separate reviews.

The hotel has a shuttle to take guests up and down the hill every 15 minutes. We did not find it an inconvenience at all as they were extremely timely and I don't think we ever waited more than six or seven minutes. Belmont owns the Splendido Mare as well and they work cooperatively with each other. Any shopping purchases we made over the course of our stay we could dropped off at the Mare and could be taken up to our hotel for us.

Staying here in Portofino reminds me of staying in Vernazza in the Cinque Terre. Just a feast for the eyes! A visually dynamic environment; people coming and going, boats coming and going, and the light and the scene in front of you always changing. Both places are wonderful. One is a bit more upscale, and the other more casual ...but both very, very special. And the Splendido is a jewel in the Belmond crown.







Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Michaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeMegni, Direttore at Belmond Hotel Splendido, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear Michaela,

first of all let me thank you to have find the time to write such a exquisite and detailed review and to have shared your Splendido experience with all the TripAdvisor community.
It is a great pleasure to read you enjoyed so much your stay and that you value our property a jewel in the Belmond crown. All the Splendido & Splendido Mare Team is honoured to read your kind and positive words.

Please do not wait other 32 years to come visit us!
We are all looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in the nearby future in Portofino and to render you next stay even more Splendido!

With my very best regards,

Ermes De Megni
General Manager
Belmond Hotel Splendido & Splendido Mare - Portofino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portofino
0.1 km away
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
#2 of 5 in Portofino
697 reviews
0.4 km away
Eight Hotel Portofino
Eight Hotel Portofino
#3 of 5 in Portofino
328 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#5 of 5 in Portofino
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
930 reviews
4.3 km away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
0.3 km away
Albergo Nazionale
Albergo Nazionale
#4 of 5 in Portofino
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Splendido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Splendido

Address: Salita Baratta 16, 16034 Portofino, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Portofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Price Range: $797 - $3,888 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Splendido 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a hillside over Portofino, Belmond Hotel Splendido is surrounded by fragrant pine trees and peaceful olive groves. Belmond Splendido Mare is a little bit closer to the action, being right on the world-famous Piazzetta. A continuous complementary shuttle service is offered between Belmond Hotel Splendido and Belmond Splendido Mare. Belmond Hotel Splendido - Set in four acres of romantic tropical gardens with superb palm trees, Belmond Hotel Splendido overlooks the bay of Portofino. It boasts 67 guest rooms including 1 single room, 23 double rooms, 31 junior suites and 12 suites. Most rooms have balcony or terrace offering views of the Bay of Portofino. Guests can relax by the heated salt-water pool or at the wellness centre, enjoy a game of tennis at the tennis court or explore the gulf with a private boat, while children have fun at the dedicated Kids’ Club. La Terrazza Restaurant serves delicious Ligurian specialties with a view over the Gulf of Portofino, while the Pool Restaurant is perfect for an informal buffet-style lunch, snacks or a pizza. The Cocktail & Piano Bar offers aperitifs, after-dinner cocktails and live piano music every evening. Belmond Splendido Mare - Belmond Splendido Mare has 16 rooms including 10 double rooms, 4 junior suites and 2 suites, all elegantly decorated and furnished. Most have balconies with superb views of the harbour and the village. Dining at the Chuflay Restaurant, bordering the Piazzetta, is a true Dolce Vita experience. Belmond Splendido Mare shares all the facilities with Belmond Hotel Splendido. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Belmond Hotel Splendido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendido Hotel Portofino
Splendido Resort Portofino
Hotel Splendido Portofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing