We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Perfect. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Splendido
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Portofino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

This may be our new favorite hotel in all of Italy. Everything was luxury from the room to the food to the service. You really can't beat the views.

The shuttle service that they have to take you into the village of Portofino makes everything so easy.

There is a piano player every evening which was super fun.

We will be back for sure.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KHernan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeMegni, Direttore generale at Belmond Hotel Splendido, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Traveller,

Thank you very much for your kind feed back. We really hope to welcoming you back again soon for another memorable visit.

Best regards,

Ermes De Megni
General Manager
Belmond Hotel Splendido & Splendido Mare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (987)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 987 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2017

It is an exceptional place. With an exceptional view, very good service.
Having worked in the business and travelling a lot, we do understand that F&B make an important contribution to the P&L.
However, wine by the glass for 24.- Eur, where the bottle costs about 10.- in a shop is a bit hefty.
Especially as in Italy the mark up usually is about 150%, the prices here are excessive.
Food was OK. No as good as I had remembered from some years back.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank su103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeMegni, Direttore generale at Belmond Hotel Splendido, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Traveller,
First of all let me thank you for sharing with us your kind note, and happy to hear your stay was enjoyable.
Eventhough the price of the wine you are mentioning is clearly stated on the list, I understand your point of view and I take a very good note of your comments, also about the food.
In case you wish to receive more information, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
With the hope to welcoming you again soon I remain,

With my very best regards,

Ermes De Megni
General Manager
Belmond Hotel Splendido & Splendido Mare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

We had heard about the Splendido and dined there, but never stayed. What a magical experience. There was exquisite art in our bathtub! Food and service were superb, and the staff went out of their way to help us celebrate our special anniversary. Bellissimo!

Stayed: September 2017
Thank travelerwayne1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeMegni, Direttore at Belmond Hotel Splendido, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear travelerwayne1997,

first of all let me thank you to have shared your 'Splendido Experience' with all the TripAdvisor community.
It is a great pleasure to read you enjoyed so much your stay from your room to our typical food and caring staff.
Our Guests' satisfcation is what keeps motivating us to try our best.
I will extend your kind and positive words to all the Belmond Splendido & La Terrazza Team.

We are all looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in the nearby future in Portofino and to render you next stay even more Splendido!

With my very best regards,

Ermes De Megni
General Manager
Belmond Hotel Splendido & Splendido Mare - Portofino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Difficult to add to other reviews which are so positive. Excellent service, location, salted pool, decent size room and great restaurant. Only critism were not having a choice of pillars; all too soft and on occasion bar service a trifle slow.

Room Tip: Has to be sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeMegni, Direttore at Belmond Hotel Splendido, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Peter R,

first of all let me thank you to have shared your 'Splendido experience' with all the TripAdvisor community.
It is a great pleasure to read you enjoyed so much your stay!
All the Splendido team is honoured to read your kind and positive words. Our Guests' satisfcation it is what keeps motivating us to try our best.

We are all looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in the nearby future in Portofino and to render you next stay even more Splendido!

With my very best regards,

Ermes De Megni
General Manager
Belmond Hotel Splendido & Splendido Mare - Portofino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

My wife and I, and other relatives, stayed at the Belmond Splendido Mare for 3 nights. This is a smaller, sister hotel on the waterfront. Unfortunately, Ferrari was conducting a car show there (for its new Portofino model) and blocked off several of the streets and the waterfront area for 2 nights. That ruined some of the glamor of the stay. Even without the car show, I think that staying at the sister property on the hill, the Belmond Hotel Splendido, would be preferable. That is a stunning property with great views and a swimming pool. There was a free shuttle bus that would take you between the hotels, so all facilities were available to guests at either location.

My room (number 511) was comfortable. My wife and I had a balcony that overlooked the street (and the Red Carpet during the car show). It was good for sipping wine and people watching. The staff was friendly and helpful (to me), and spoke excellent English. However, my sister-in-law who organized the trip had problems with the Assistant Manager with dinner reservations and his condescending attitude towards her. She had to speak to the General Manager at the Belmond Hotel Splendido about the issues.

The breakfast buffet was OK, but not too extensive. You could order eggs, pancakes, etc. from an a la carte menu. The food was good. We enjoyed eating in the outside area with a (limited due to the car show) view of the waterfront.

I had laundry done here (shirts, socks and underwear). The laundry service was the most expensive of any of the hotels I stayed at during my nearly 3 weeks in Italy, including other 5-star hotels. The fact that no prices were provided in the room should have been my clue.

The hotel is a short walk, about 0.1 miles, from the shuttle bus stop and car park.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jandc8491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeMegni, Direttore at Belmond Hotel Splendido, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear jandc8491

first of all let me thank you to have shared your 'Splendido Mare Experience' with all the TripAdvisor community. We are always looking for ways to improve our service, and our Guests comments and suggestions, whether positive or negative, are an invaluable part of that process.

It is a great pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay from your room to our Splendid locations, from all our facilities to our caring and trained staff.

On the other hand, I am very sorry to learn our Hotel in general did not reach your expectation. After an investigation with the departments involved I would like to inform you as follows:

-Upon arrival at the Splendido Mare we tried to allocate to you the most quiet rooms as request by your Travel Agency and furthermore we have upgraded two out of four of your rooms to an higher category in order to render your stay even more ‘Splendido’.

-Regarding the Ferrari Event, we are really sorry for the inconveniences it may have caused to you. Being a private event organized by Ferrari and the Municipality of Portofino, we could have not do anything about it but warning all our Guests through email as we also did with you.

-For the inconvenience your sister-in-law had experienced with our Asssitant Manager since it did happen, right now, I can only ask you to extend to her our most sincere apologies once more.

In any case, I want to thank you once again to have bring these issues to our attention, a very good note has been taken about your kind feedback.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon in Portofino and we remain at your total disposal.

With my very best regards

Ermes De Megni
General Manager
Belmond Hotel Splendido & Splendido Mare - Portofino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portofino
0.1 km away
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
#2 of 6 in Portofino
707 reviews
0.4 km away
Eight Hotel Portofino
Eight Hotel Portofino
#3 of 6 in Portofino
328 reviews
2.4 km away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#5 of 6 in Portofino
137 reviews
4.3 km away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
3.3 km away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#6 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Splendido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Splendido

Address: Salita Baratta 16, 16034 Portofino, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Portofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Portofino
Price Range: $1,032 - $5,265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Splendido 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a hillside over Portofino, Belmond Hotel Splendido is surrounded by fragrant pine trees and peaceful olive groves. Belmond Splendido Mare is a little bit closer to the action, being right on the world-famous Piazzetta. A continuous complementary shuttle service is offered between Belmond Hotel Splendido and Belmond Splendido Mare. Belmond Hotel Splendido - Set in four acres of romantic tropical gardens with superb palm trees, Belmond Hotel Splendido overlooks the bay of Portofino. It boasts 67 guest rooms including 1 single room, 23 double rooms, 31 junior suites and 12 suites. Most rooms have balcony or terrace offering views of the Bay of Portofino. Guests can relax by the heated salt-water pool or at the wellness centre, enjoy a game of tennis at the tennis court or explore the gulf with a private boat, while children have fun at the dedicated Kids’ Club. La Terrazza Restaurant serves delicious Ligurian specialties with a view over the Gulf of Portofino, while the Pool Restaurant is perfect for an informal buffet-style lunch, snacks or a pizza. The Cocktail & Piano Bar offers aperitifs, after-dinner cocktails and live piano music every evening. Belmond Splendido Mare - Belmond Splendido Mare has 16 rooms including 10 double rooms, 4 junior suites and 2 suites, all elegantly decorated and furnished. Most have balconies with superb views of the harbour and the village. Dining at the Chuflay Restaurant, bordering the Piazzetta, is a true Dolce Vita experience. Belmond Splendido Mare shares all the facilities with Belmond Hotel Splendido. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Hotel Splendido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendido Hotel Portofino
Splendido Resort Portofino
Hotel Splendido Portofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing