We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (532)
Filter reviews
532 results
Traveller rating
70
240
159
49
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
240
159
49
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews best western hotel train station air conditioning minute walk nice hotel san giovanni station cold meats stayed here for one night rooms are small old town base to explore town centre good size convenient location buffet breakfast yogurt shower
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 532 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Hotel is on a main road so noisy at the front. It's frontage is austere and the immediate area is poorly paved. . Handy for the main railway station. Supermarket nearby but no eating facilities in the room. Short walk into old town for many good restaurants. Stayed here many times as part of a Motorsport group. No special treatment. It's always been clean but tired. In July 2018 it's become part of the BB French owned group and has lost more than it has gained. Still same old carpets and fittings. Television, hair drier in bathroom provided, same old beds but clean linen and towels. Have to ask for more pillows and covers. Safes are in the room but having seen a whole safe stolen from one room your treasure is best stored elsewhere. No tray with kettle and cups anymore. The only source of hot drinks is a machine in reception; €1 when it is working; it was broke for days and there was no alternative source of hot drinks. Our small fridge in the room was not working for days. Room was kept clean by pleasant staff. Reasonable shower over the bath and hot water ( separate shower cubicles are antique, far too small and difficult to use). The ancient air conditioning system is very noisy and a mystery to control.

Breakfast is a travesty. Trays are now provided so you can collect your own dishes at the end and slide the tray in noisy metal holders. There is no logic to the layout; there are now no bowls of grapefruit or similar to add to the cheapest cereals. scrambled egg appears to be made in one 7am batch accompanied by lukewarm German sausage. There is ham and cheese slices. Various breads and sweet cake. The toaster is slow and needs two efforts to get brown toast. The new coffee machine has small cups and espresso ones. Jams come in large jars. The limited staff do their best. The dining room has been "cleaned up" and is a soulless chamber of clatter. The new staff at reception emphasised the hotel is cheap- but no comparison to the facilities and breakfast the UK budget hotels. The new staff on reception seem to work long hours. They did warm to us over the days, however some need further training on customer care! The hotel lobby area is clean with some seating; no papers or brochures and no bar. This hotel needs a serious makeover.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Devadiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018

This is an affordable hotel for Lake Como and is in the process of being updated as it has recently been taken over by a new company.
The reception area and dining room were excellent.The rooms need some updating(especially the beds and pillows which were a little hard) but were spotlessly clean.
The staff were all really helpful and very welcoming and always had time to answer any questions.
The hotel is also very convenient for the train station and is only a 10 minute walk into the centre of town and the lake.
There is also a large supermarket nearby which is open 24 hours.
I would also advise checking out the local markets.

Room tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel which was on the whole relatively quiet.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Nialib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

When my husband pointed to our hotel I have to say I had to say I was soooo concerned , it looked super run down . However when I entered and we got greeted by friendly staff I felt relieved.
This hotel is a good location the staff were all helpful and friendly, breakfast was super! My husband loved the ham and I loved the muesli. Our belongings were safe our room was clean.
Very happy with our stay :)

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Q3952IVscottb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBHotels_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Continental by B&B Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Dear Scott,
thank you so much for staying in our Hotel in Como City Center. We are really glad you enjoyed your time there and you apprecciated our effort to make our guests' stay as pleasent as possible.
We hope we will have you as our guest again in Como. We have 30 hotels around Italy, you can find them all visiting our website (you can find the link on our Trip Adivsor page).
Thank you and best regards
B&B Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

Near the train station and 10 minutes walk to Lake side. Rooms very basic but served the purpose and clean enough. A good base but nothing fancy. Best thing was the reasonable breakfast for 3 euros. Staff very helpful and friendly

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank elamcg150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

This hotel is conveniently situated close to the train station but if you walk to and from the lake the area is less nice... to the other side (fortified city walls) the area is fine with some of Como’s best restaurants situated there.
The hotel is super clean! The aircon functions well and although the bathroom is small the shower is probably the best we had on our whole Italy-trip (including four+ hotels).
The room also has a small fridge. The bed sleeps well.
The breakfast is basic and breakfast room minimilistic. But there is nothing wrong with the quality.
The staff is friendly and very helpful.
I would recommend this hotel for a night or so but not for a very long holiday.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank MMMOSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews