We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great place to stay”
Review of Hotel Meridiana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Meridiana
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Sirmione
Reviewed 23 August 2017

We booked for 1 week vacation at short notice. This hotel has it all, great location, friendly and extremely helpful staff and comfortable bed and room.
Hotel is traditional Italian, rooms are kept clean, tidy, very comfortable.
Breakfast is buffet style, with sufficient to suit all tastes, cereals, fruits, eggs, bacon, sausage, various breads and, Yes, the cakes are good.
Hotel is ideally located, beach is 5 minutes walk, very popular, no sand only large rock areas, swimming shoes required, water was clean and clear but deep, numerous small shallow rock pools for kids. Town centre is 5 minutes walk in the other direction for shops and numerous restaurants. Terme spa and pools is 2 minutes walk which is worth a visit.
Car parking is in the hotel forecourt.
Totally recommend this hotel for a relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: We had room 103 at the front of the hotel, nice balcony sun in the morning. Terme spa and pools, hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chrismuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2017

Let me start with what I would normally consider a final paragraph: if I were to return to Sirmione the first hotel I would chose would be Hotel Meridiana. It is a fantastic hotel, run by the most fabulous and committed team I’ve ever met. On arrival, we were greeted by Margherita (who owns the establishment) and Elia who offered us a refreshing glass of iced water with mint. They checked us in and allocated us Room 105. Elia carried our cases to our first-floor room, there is no lift in the hotel, and explained everything to us, the use of the bathroom, fridge, air conditioning (yes, each room has air-conditioning and an in-room fridge), times of breakfast etc. He also explained to us that there was a sun terrace on the second floor and a small chapel/prayer room on the first floor.
Our room had a double wardrobe with a good number of coat-hangers and also a security safe (electronically operated and no charge/deposit for its use). There was a dressing table with well-lit mirror as well as bedside tables with drawers, so all in all, plenty of storage space. The room was a good size – ample for two people – and had a king-size bed.
The bathroom included shower, toilet, bidet and hand-basin. It was well lit and the shower had excellent pressure and was never short of hot water.
The balcony was spacious, equipped with a table and two chairs, and overlooked the entrance courtyard – although not a lake view it was a very pleasant outlook and we finished each evening there enjoying a Prosecco or Spritz from the bar.
There is daily maid service with towel change (following the now international custom – leave towels in the shower if you want them changed).
Breakfast was a superb “all-you-can-eat” buffet including the usual fruit-juices, tea and coffee, cereals, cold meats and cheeses, bread, yoghurt and fruit and a variety of Danish pastries. It also included hot scrambled egg, bacon and frankfurter but featured, most unusually, a variety of home baked cakes including chocolate sponge, madeira sponge and cheesecake. The array was regularly replenished right through to the end of breakfast.
The bar / restaurant is open all day (to residents and non-residents) serving a complete variety of hot and cold beverages and ice creams and a selection of meals including cold platters and also much that is centred around Margherita’s baking. During the day, one can also – I’d suggest uniquely for Lake Garda – enjoy Afternoon Tea with Margherita’s home baked scones with jam and cream. Margherita and Michela both possess a genuine talent for baking!
The sun terrace on the second floor was not over-subscribed and had a nice outlook over the west of the lake and the staff were happy to deliver drinks from the bar to the terrace. We also used the terrace at night on 15th August (Ferragosto) to watch a firework display across the lake in Desanzano.
The hotel location is ideal. It is literally just on the outskirts of the old city on the main route to the beaches and the Grotte di Cattulo (the famous Roman Villa unearthed at Sirmione). It took us only 5 minutes to stroll to Sirmione Ferry point and less to the main streets and restaurants and it is only 150 metres from the Catullo thermal resort.
Meridiana doesn’t offer a dinner menu but there are several restaurants in the town and neighbouring ports and Margherita is happy to recommend a selection to suit any taste.
Margherita, Elia, Michela, Manuel and Halima work long hours and never stop smiling! Their happiness at delivering excellent customer service is so apparent, they so obviously love what they do and are fantastic at doing it. Meridiana maybe only “3 star” but I’d happily give it another two, just for the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.
On Sirmione itself, there is plenty to see and do (including visiting the castle, the remains of the Roman villa, boat trips around the peninsula, and it is a great location for touring the south of the lake. On different days, we used the ferry to visit Desenzano, Garda, Lazise, Bardolino, Solo and Gardone, to name just a few. The ferries are a great way of moving around the lake, they are frequent and relatively inexpensive (€3 for a one zone single and €9.90 for a four zone which covers, pretty much all ports at the south of the lake. If you are in any doubt about returning from the same place, just buy a single as a return is exactly double the single fare. A day pass is good value if you intend to hop-on, hop-off a number of times. The only other tip on the ferries is to plan your route carefully to ensure that you connect with the last boat back to where you need to end the day.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Clement S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

My husband and I have just returned from a blissful holiday in Sirmione. The Hotel Meridiana was an absolute joy to stay in from the beginning until the end of our holiday. The owners and staff could not do enough for both of us. We were truly spoiled. The rooms are very spacious and spotlessly clean with very good air conditioning. We have raved about this hotel to all of our friends. I loved the balcony in our room infact I just loved everything about this hotel. We will definitely be back next year. Phyllis Dunlop

Room Tip: All the rooms have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank phyllisdunlop59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

We are currently staying in the Meridiana Hotel and it has been a pleasurable stay.
The hotel is bright and modern and the room is spacious
The staff cannot do enough to make our stay enjoyable
The drinks and snacks are excellent

We highly recommend if you are visiting Sirmioni to stay here

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Ralph2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

We have just returned from the Hotel Meridiana having had a great holiday. We read all the reviews before going and were very impressed with the comments of other visitors - none of which were overstated.
This is probably the friendliest hotel we have ever stayed at. The warmth of the welcome from both management and staff could not have been better.
Having just 21 rooms this is a small, comfortable and peaceful hotel where you will get personal attention. It is only a minutes walk from the centre of historic Sirmione while only two minutes through Parco Maria Callas to the waters edge.
Like many other reviewers we would highly recommend staying at this hotel.
Grazie a tutti

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ijohnson63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sirmione hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Sirmione
#16 of 67 in Sirmione
1,105 reviews
0.6 km away
Grand Hotel Terme
Grand Hotel Terme
#11 of 67 in Sirmione
489 reviews
2.9 km away
Hotel Porto Azzurro
Hotel Porto Azzurro
#8 of 67 in Sirmione
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel
#1 of 67 in Sirmione
717 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Olivi Thermae & Natural Spa
0.3 km away
Hotel Pace
Hotel Pace
#10 of 67 in Sirmione
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meridiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meridiana

Address: Via Caio Valerio Catullo 5, 25019 Sirmione, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Sirmione
Price Range: $136 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meridiana 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Meridiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridiana Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Meridiana Sirmione, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing