We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian food... So we came back 3 weeks later”
Review of Il Solferino

Il Solferino
Reserve a table
2
Tue, 30/11
20:00
Ranked #500 of 8,873 Restaurants in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$57 - US$90
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Porta Nuova
Description: Solferino", well known reastaurant in Milan since 1909, placed in the famous and typical district "Brera", show its special clientele its new face; even keeping its historical features, "Solferino" shows today its perfectioned image, supported by the new furnishing and colors.
Reviewed 17 July 2016

This was recommended by our first hotel and we really enjoyed the good food and outstanding wine list..twice.
Whilst it is populated with tourists fairly regularly on one of our nights it was all locals except for us..a good sign.
Very good menu.. also importantly they will serve a number of very good wines by the glass which many don't.. just ask and see what they can do for you..they are accomodating..
So having eaten well in Rome, Milan, Cortina and Venice...we came back to this one second time in Milan and would come back again

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 993rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianni d, Proprietario at Il Solferino, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2016
Google Translation

Gentile 993rs
É sempre un piacere ricevere apprezzamenti da persone che arrivano da lontano per gustare anche la nostra cucina e rendere così la vacanza completa e portare con se un ricordo della nostra cucina locale!
Mi curo personalmente della nostra lista dei vini ed anche un semplice bicchiere per chi non è un grande bevitore può rendere la degustazione di un piatto più completa.
Spero vivamente in un vostro ritorno. A presto.
Gianni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 199 of 1,248 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2016

The staff here is very attentive and helpful. We felt right at home and welcomed. I have a gluten sensitivity and the waiter went out of his way to make sure I knew which dishes I could eat on the menu and what could be modified. He even brought me out rice cakes when everyone else was enjoying bread before the meal. Very thoughtful and above and beyond. We felt like we were in someone's home.

I'd recommend trying the eggplant appetizer. Amazing! Also if they have the octopus soup as an appetizer -- get it! So fresh. And the risotto with asparagus and seafood was a highlight. Definitely try this restaurant if you're in the neighborhood.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank paularizzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianni d, Proprietario at Il Solferino, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2016
Google Translation

Gentile fromNYCwithlove
L'attenzione al dettaglio ed il rispetto per chi ha delle intolleranze.... È una priorità del nostro ristorante....
La scelta sui piatti da lei degustati sono delle prelibatezze della stagione, in quanto in nostro menù stagionalmente viene rinnovato con la scelta di materie prime di altissima qualità e freschezza.
Spero vivamente in una sua prossima visita.
Gianni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Had a great, very authentic lunch at Solferino's. Very attentive staff who are very knowledgeable about their food and wine, has a family run atmosphere. Food was superb. Happy to recommend to everybody and will definitely be back. It is on the more expensive side, but given the fantastic fresh ingredients and the great service it is to expect.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sibylle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianni d, Proprietario at Il Solferino, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2016
Google Translation

Gentile SBaker25
Grazie per aver sottolineato l'autenticità della nostra cucina, creata con materie prime di alta qualità e soprattutto stagionali.
Cerchiamo di creare un ambiente che rispecchi familiarità e nello stesso tempo competenza nel servizio per rendere il tutto memorabile per i nostri ospiti!
Spero in un suo ritorno
Gianni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

When you look at my previous comments, you'll see I'm a difficult man. I rate this restaurant 5 stars, good food by itself is not enough, Service was perfect; I mean our waiter was there only when needed, with useful suggestions, and when you think you are self sufficient, he was gone. It is important for me because I don't like it when someone insists do that don't do that etc.
Variety of wines, from maybe 15-20 Euros to 1500 Euros, warm atmosphere, reasonable prices (considered you eat one of Milano's most advised restaurants) good food; and I just booked a table through tripadvisor; bingo! A good table was ready.
Nothing to complaint but if my feedback is asked, I'd use less sugar in desserts but this is a very personal choice of course.
Thank you for everything!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Yasin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianni d, Proprietario at Il Solferino, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2016
Google Translation

Gentile Yasid D
Lusingato da ricevere un commento positivo da un ospite attento al dettaglio ed all'insieme del ristorante, fatto di qualità' nel servizio, dei piatti e dell'atmosfera, apprezzando molto il fatto che abbiamo una varietà' tale di piatti e di prezzi che possamo accontentare tutte le esigenze.
Spero vivamente in un suo ritorno
Gianni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

This was by far the best place we had Italian Cuisine at , Authentic , home made , great atmosphere
The owner was present with his family and made sure all the guests are well taken care of ...
The staff were so helpful and gave us great recommendations ....
But the Food ..... OMG .... To die for

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank 450samarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianni d, Proprietario at Il Solferino, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2016
Google Translation

Gentile Samar Z
Grazie molto per l'apprezzamento verso la nostra autentica cucina, e l'attenzione che le abbiamo dato, per renderle questa serata unica nel suo genere, fatta di cibo, atmosfera e calorosità italiana.
Spero rivederla presto per degustare altri piatti tipici
Gianni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Solferino also viewed

 

Been to Il Solferino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.