We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting worse very rapidly”
Review of Uptown Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Uptown Palace
Ranked #55 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Getting worse very rapidly”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

It is a shame that this brand new hotel is detewriorating so fast. It still looks good but if you pay attention you see that the management thinks they have done the job and can become 'Italian' about their attention to clients. They rewally need to step up efforyts fast to p[revent this hotel; from becoming mediocre fast. We will noit return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phoenixamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    683
    131
    43
    29
See reviews for
225
660
53
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We have just spent 3 nights at the Uptown Palace. The temperatures outside were extremely cold, but the hotel was a real treat (and lovely and warm!) The hotel is kept extremely clean and I noticed that all the shiny surfaces (the lift doors were like mirrors!) were kept very highly polished. Our room was fairly small, but lovely and stylish, with flat screen TV, minibar and a comfortable large bed with linen sheets. The bathroom was beautiful, modern, large, clean, with a great walk in shower + robes & slippers. The staff were all especially helpful and friendly, a real credit to the hotel. The receptionist went to a great deal of trouble to help us with a computer problem when we tried to print our boarding passes. For me there were two small issues, which I think need to be addressed, especially as other people have mentioned them. Firstly there appear to be no signs and it is not immediately obvious where the restaurant (which was very good) is situated. Secondly, there was nothing like enough storage in our room. The two drawers in the wardrobe would have held little more than a pair of socks each and we ended up putting our clothes in the same cupboard as the mini bar! There was one shelf high up in the wardrobe but we weren't tall enough to use it. Overall though this was a great hotel and we would definitely recommend it. It is very well situated, close to the trams, the Duomo and the city centre. The trams were a great way to see the city, with the 24 hour ticket good value at 4.50 euros.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curlycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
258 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

New hotel with a relaxing atmosphere at walking distance from the center of Milano. The hotel is close to the metro and a short walk to the Duomo. The staff was very friendly and the hotel service excellent. The rooms are furnished with style and are very comfortable and classy. Restaurant was nice as well. Breakfast great!
There is no tea/coffee maker in the room

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pawel_WRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I went to this Hotel for a short week end to Milan, and I was looking forward to have a nice quality experience Hotel wise.
If you are looking for a very helpfull, professional and friendly staff, a nice fashion/cosy/classy hotel, it is the place to be!
It is very well located, you can easily have a relatively nice and short walk to the city center.
I totally recommend it.
I have heard they will have a spa in 2012, I am sure it will be even better.
The only inconvenient is that there is not an Internet free available.
The breakfast was very good, the rooms are classy, spacious, confrotable.
Great!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sergiocanedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corfu, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Recently renovated and well maintained. The staff (from the front desk, the restaurant, the room maids) were very friendly and extremely professional and made our stay a delight. A special thanks is due to Onella on the front desk who gave us some excellent recommendations for dinner as well as other advice and directions. The room was beautiful, quiet, and well equipped (linen sheets were a treat!). The bathroom was modern and functional with an excellent selection of toiletries. The only minor complaint was the small clothes closet ... especially for a winter visit. Will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Milan.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RetiredCorfu_Greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Canada Hotel
#33 of 427 in Milan
1,128 reviews
Navigli
The Square Milano Duomo
The Square Milano Duomo
#22 of 427 in Milan
730 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Visconti Palace
#34 of 427 in Milan
1,819 reviews
Centro Storico
Starhotels Rosa Grand
Starhotels Rosa Grand
#44 of 427 in Milan
1,760 reviews
Navigli
Hotel Dei Cavalieri
Hotel Dei Cavalieri
#102 of 427 in Milan
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uptown Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uptown Palace

Property: Uptown Palace
Address: Via Santa Sofia 10, 20122 Milan, Italy (Formerly Uptown Palace MGallery Collection)
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Milan
#41 Family Hotel in Milan
#44 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#47 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price range (per night): $217 - $685
Hotel Class:4 star — Uptown Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Uptown Palace is a 4-star superior business hotel in Milan. It is modern and elegant and situated a short walk from the Missori metro stop (yellow line), from Piazza Duomo and from Milan's famous shopping streets. The carefully chosen and highly qualified multilingual staff guarantee high levels of service and care for every guest. The Uptown Palace has 165 fully soundproofed rooms. Floors in the rooms are parquet or carpet while those in the public areas are marble. Each room has LCD televisions and en suite bathrooms with shower or bathtub, together with fluffy robes, slippers, hairdryers and a stylish selection of toiletries. The Presidential Suite and four of the Executive suites have an atmospheric view of the Duomo and of the rooftops of busy Milan. Uptown Palace offers its guests a destination par excellence where every dream can come true. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Uptown Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uptown Palace Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing