We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Hotel Star

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Star
Ranked #31 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

This hotel was great for us, with just a short walk to the cathedral. What made this hotel so recommendable was the friendliness of the staff. We had a very noisy neighbour, when we reported this to reception they handled it really well and had a word with them, which resolved the problem. Good breakfast and clean, quirky rooms too!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank KatieACrispy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
23Vicky, Responsabile reception at Hotel Star, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 31 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2017

I've been staying here since 2010, at least once a year, when I come to a performance at La Scala which is a very short walk away. It's comfortable, clean, very competitively priced, and with great customer service. During my latest trip I mentioned at check-in that I would be leaving very early, and asked about pre-booking a taxi (it wasn't necessary). When I returned from the theatre late in the evening I found a tray with breakfast on the desk. it was such a thoughtful gesture that I felt I had to write another review. This hotel is a gem!
A tip based on experience : always book from the hotel's website which has the best rates.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Aruna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

Very nice hotel near opera La Scala and Duomo. On a quiet street so it was easy to sleep. Breakfast very good too. The staff were very helpful and friendly. There were umbrellas for guests in case of a sudden summer storm.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesliefrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

Excellent location! Few minutes walk to pick up location for Viator (handled by Zani Viaggi tours) which is nice for the 06:45 departure times for Bernina Express and Cinque Terre trips. Also close to metro lines and easy walk to Cadorna for the Malpensa Express train. Easy walk to many tourist spots!
We had a superior with two twin beds. Beds and pillows were adequate but not quite what I would call very comfortable. The superior rooms have remote control air conditioning, nice for middle of the night adjustments to temp. Make sure you have air conditioning in the summer, it is hot and humid and mosquitos are everywhere, which means you won't want to open the window at night. Our room was over Via Dei Bossi street which was usually quiet by evening and the air conditioning fan provided enough background noise to mask any noise from outside. Window also had push button blackout shades, very nice!
Rooms are very clean, and we had two closets each with two drawers, a safe, a bench with storage and a nice sized desk built into the wall. Bathrooms are tiny for US standards, but typical of Italy. Shower was small, but the design was amazing. Floor-to-ceiling seal which kept all the steam inside, step out and re-close the door and you have no steam built up in the rest of the bathroom. Bath towels are thin, waffle weave, but oversized bath sheet which was nice. There are no wash cloths (face cloths) but that is often the case in European hotels that are not a U.S. brand. Complimentary toiletries are a nice plus: inc. shaving kit, dental kit, q-tips and cotton balls along with other usual items. Also had a simple to use tea kettle. Everyday we had a new complimentary bottle of still water and bottle of sparkling water in the mini fridge. Very thoughtful touch!
There is free wifi, but you have to reconnect every day, it isn't automatic.
Breakfast buffet was very nice. The coffee, of course, was fabulous.
Late night munchies? Bella Vista is just steps away around the corner with take away, including beer and wine, if you want to bring it back to hotel. Not the greatest food, but very cheap. Franelli restaurant is an easy walk, by Sforza Castel, with amazing food, best pizza crust of all we tried.
I would make this my first choice to stay here again, should I return to Milan. Very good value. Bedding comfort and bathroom/shower size are what keep it from a perfect score in my book.

Room Tip: Verify your room has A/C, I believe some do not.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Yogamomjanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

Well located on quiet side street, easy walking distance to subway, Duomo, Sforza castle and Brera district. Rooms clean and bedding / linens comfortable, air conditioning works quietly and efficiently, breakfast good and staff helpful. Shower small but not uncommon for Italian hotels, hair dryer could be updated but worked well enough.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ExCaliforniaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Brera
UNA Hotel Cusani
UNA Hotel Cusani
#35 of 428 in Milan
818 reviews
Centro Storico
Gran Duca di York
Gran Duca di York
#9 of 428 in Milan
1,416 reviews
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#14 of 428 in Milan
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Hotel La Madonnina
Hotel La Madonnina
#191 of 428 in Milan
166 reviews
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 428 in Milan
754 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Genius Downtown
Hotel Genius Downtown
#115 of 428 in Milan
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Star

Address: Via Dei Bossi 5, 20121 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#63 Business Hotel in Milan
#84 Family Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $225 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Star 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he location is perfect!Small and original, in the heart of Milan, in via dei Bossi, Hotel Star is the perfect solution among 3-star hotels in the historic center for both business trips and vacations for art, culture and shopping.A two minute walk from Teatro alla Scala, five minutes from piazza del Duomo and 300 meters from the subway, 30 very comfortable rooms, wireless internet, efficient amenities, courtesy and cordiality.An original and pleasant decor typify the 30 rooms at the Hotel Star which, thanks to all the necessary comforts and amenities of a 3-star hotel in downtown Milan, is the perfect solution for both business trips and vacations at a hotel in Milan.With parquet floors, especially important for allergy sufferers, there is an elevator to the rooms which include a choice between the classic, superior and economy categories.The rooms at Hotel Star can accommodate one to two guests in absolute comfort; the beds are large and, in the superior single, there is a full bed. Some rooms have a private bathroom with a shower or tub (multi-option shower/sauna and jacuzzi in superior and classic rooms), telephone, hair dryer and courtesy line. There are direct telephones, satellite televisions, a minibar, coffee and tea maker, safe and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing