We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you need to travel south”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Visconti Palace
Ranked #38 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I have been coming to this hotel on and off for business over the last couple of years and I have to say it's pretty good. It's located at Piazzale Lodi which is edge of city centre but this works great for me as I often have to travel in Italy by car and I invariably have to go either East or South. There is a yellow line metro station pretty much right outside which will take you in 10 minutes to Piazza del Duomo (where you can change lines to go pretty much everywhere in Milan) or if you go further the yellow will take you to Stazione Centrale. I lived in Milan for 9 years and used to stay in this area. It's a pretty nice residential area and there are some great restaurants within walking distance, particularly in Viale Umbria such as Da Angelo's where they do the best 'Fiorentina' steak in Milan. The hotel is classically styled and so a wee bit old fashioned but nice none the less. It's also spotless and the rooms are very nice. The beds are pretty firm and I always seem to get a pretty good night's sleep as you can make it pitch black and silent. Staff are efficient if not super friendly (as in all of Milan) and the Hotel restaurant is very good if a little pricey. There's also a gym and a pool which you don't always get in Hotels in Milan. In summary it's not the best hotel in Milan but it's pretty good for the price you pay and great if you don't want get involved in rush hour traffic to travel East or South on the highways.

Room Tip: All of the rooms I have had have been great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milan1899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

Dear Milan1899,

We would like to thank you for your kind input. We are very glad to know you have been renovating your preference to Grand Visconti Palace for your stays in Milan for the last couple of years.

We agree the area is interesting and to discover, so many little interesting spots are there hidden waiting to be discovered!

The metro serves very well the hotel therefore there is no need to get stuck in the City traffic, most of the destinations within and outside the city are pretty much reachable by public transports, we usually suggest the 1 or 2 day ticket to travel around with convenient rates.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards.



Antonella Mecrani
Concierge & Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,872)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

640 - 644 of 1,872 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2012

Nice hotel , clean room and large bathroom with enough towels. Bath and shower
Professional staff.Bernie advised us a few cosy restaurants close to the hotel
Location is ok Near to Metro station and only for stops to the DUOMO ( the place to be )
Minor point : WIFI did not work.
We will come back to this hotel

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 174manja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Duty Manager at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Dear 174manja,

We thank you so much for spending the time writing your feedback.

We are sorry wifi was not working, we can assist our guests 24 hours on 24 hours calling a Swisscom technician everytime is needed.

Our staff is our pride and we will definitely tell Bernie you found his help useful.

We hope we will have you once again as our welcomed guest.

Kind Regards.

Debora Bonati
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We travelled for a long weekend with a toddler and found the hotel generally pleasant. There is a prominence to the swimming pool on the advertising- be aware that this is part of the Spa and is chargeable at €15 per person per day... According to the duty manger, "there is nothing on the advertising to say it is free, so you have to assume it's not"... There is nothing about the escalators either but nobody tried to charge for those... Hard to argue with fuzzy logic. Otherwise a very clean and spacious hotel, 10 minutes from the centre of Milan and 3 minutes walk to the nearby metro station. Restaurant was well priced and food was. Reasonable but aimed at business guests rather than families. Room was large enough for two adults and a hotel crib and adequately provisioned. Only issue is there don't appear to be many places to eat nearby with kids, but the concierge recommended Osso restaurant an they opened early when asked- that was appreciated.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilkinic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Dear wilkinic,
We thank you for visiting Grand Visconti Palace Milano as well as for taking the time give us your feedback: your opinion is important to us!

Our website states clearly that the wellness centre is subject to “Fee-paying entrance. Special rates for house guests and companies.” And the same thing is written in all the websites where you can book our hotel. We have also special offers that include the entrance to the Spa. When you book one of our exclusive room is also included whilst if you book a classic room the cost is €10,00 per person or €15,00 per couple.

We will let the Food & Beverage Manager know about your concern regarding our restaurant, we recently changed the menu and all the suggestions are welcome.

Kindest Regards.

Bernie Gallotta
Concierge & Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Nice hotel, located near Metro station so travelling to tourists' sites are easier. Service can be better, though. Receptionist not very friendly, the same with guest relation. Internet is not included, so for those of you that cant live without internet,you should consider the additional 9€/day.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yyosetya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile reception at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Dear yyosetya,

Thank you for your comment which is very useful for us in order to improve our service as well as to be aware of our weaknesses.

We do apologize for not meeting with your expectations about the services we offer. We have already taken actions during the reception's meeting to prevent this from happening again in the future.

Internet connection is available for free in the lobby with your laptop/I-phone and with our computers with printers in our business point located in the lobby as well. In the rooms the 24-hour wi-fi connection costs € 9 for I-Phone and € 12 for Laptop inclusive of 24/7 assistance and many interactive services such as on line international newspapers, radio, tv and chats.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Grand Visconti Palace in the near future.

Best regards,

Yveline Cothier
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

This hotel has it's own tradition and style. As such, this is an excellent place to stay ... for those who like this kind of decor. Personally, I prefer to stay in small design hotels... with a unique experience of design every time I visit such. Nevertheless, during my business stay I was please with everything in Visconti: clean rooms, perfect service, great breakfast, secure parking space (although overprices!), etc...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ondina_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Duty Manager at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Good evening Ondina_2011,

thanks for taking the time to write your comment about us.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Grand Visconti Palace. We are not a design hotel but we take pride of our top service and the well decorated rooms and suites we have.

As far as the parking is concerned we passed on your comment to our management. Our fee is Euro 29,00 per night which we consider to be competitive with all the other parking in the area.

Best Regards,

Debora Bonati
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Milan Suite Hotel
#23 of 428 in Milan
670 reviews
Chateau Monfort
#9 of 428 in Milan
1,482 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#76 of 428 in Milan
2,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Visconti Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Visconti Palace

Address: Viale Isonzo 14, 20135 Milan, Italy (Formerly Grand Visconti Palace Milan - MGallery Collection)
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Milan
#19 Family Hotel in Milan
#26 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#26 Business Hotel in Milan
#32 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $174 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Visconti Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Visconti Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Visconti Palace Hotel Milan
Grand Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing