We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a shame”
Review of Hotel San Rocco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Rocco
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

I was so looking forward to staying here, but sadly i was disappointed.
The staff seemed pleasant enough but totally incapable. The room was modern, sparce, no tea or coffee facilities,mini bar poor, bathroom was awful and the toilet dire. They have a ridiculous flush system and when you eventually manage to flush the loo you have muscles like a monster. The toilet constantly smelt. The air conditioning never worked and even when i asked nicely five times nothing was done. At 10 o'clock at night the room was 28 degrees so i asked for help and got a porter who said he knew it didnt work and did i want to move room......at 10oclock!!!! He gave me a fan.woopie do!!
The breakfast was average. The pool are wasn't bad, the pool lady was great. The views were lovely but be warned, take plenty of mosquito spray as i was eaten alive. The location was great which is a shame as the rest of the hotel could be so much more. I wouldn't stay again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direzione D, Direttore at Hotel San Rocco, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017
Google Translation

La ringraziamo per il tempo che ha dedicato a scrivere e quindi condividere la sua esperienza. Tterremo presente le sue osservazioni per migliorare il nostro servizio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 540 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

We had 4 nights in this hotel and the rooms are tired and the staff are grumpy and unhelpful except the pool girl who was delightful. The duty manager was positively awful and when we complained about waiting 35 minutes for a drink in the bar, did nothing. On check out when we said we would write a bad review, his response was..."so what"...a cocky, rude and deeply unpleasant man. Never go to this hotel if you are expecting good service.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank sarahdrillien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

This hotel is a disaster. The rooms are no bigger than what you would find on a cruise ship, with a matching bathroom. And we had what was considered an "upgraded room". Almost impossible for two people to share. The AC is totally nonfunctional. Individual rooms can't adjust their own climate control-the front desk has to set it and even if they do it never cools.

The breakfast is tasty, but the dinner in the main restaurant is terrible. If you stay here find somewhere else to eat for sure.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direzione D, Direttore at Hotel San Rocco, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017
Google Translation

La ringraziamo per il tempo che ha dedicato a scrivere e quindi condividere la sua esperienza. Ci dispiace che il suo soggiorno non sia stato di gradimentoterremo presente le sue osservazioni per migliorare il nostro servizio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

I didn't stay at this hotel so I don't have can't tell you if it is woth staying here or not. But they have a arrival and departure policy that shocked me. The check-in starts at 3 pm and check-out is by 10 am. I called to ask if I understod right that I needed to check out at 10 pm and the answer was yes and that of course I had the possibilite to stay untill later but that the price would be an extra 50 Euro. I looked up on the internet the international rulls for check in and check out and it said :
What is the standard check-in/check-out time?
As a general rule you can check-in from 14:00 on the day of arrival and must check-out at 12:00 (noon) on the day of departure.
If you have 89 rooms to clean it is not the clients problem that the hotel need 5 hours to clean the rooms it is a internal organisation problem. My advise is that you review your policy regarding the 10 am depature and move it to 12 pm (noon) for clients comfort with out any additional cost. I would have loved to stay in your hotel because it was warmly recommended by friends but for this stupied detail I wont. I put the note
4 because as I already said I don't know your hotel but according to friends it need to be discovert.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Swissviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

We only had a couple of hours in Orta and we were lucky to find the Hotel San Rocco. They have a eonderful terrace which opens onto the lake which is open to non-residents.
It's not crowded (due to the limited number of chairs, clearly an establishmentt that does not try to pack in as many tourists as possible), it is quiet and you are away from the bustle of the small town which has to accommodate an awful lot of people every day. If you are looking for a place to rest tired feet with a drink and a bite to eat - this is the place, just wonderful

Room Tip: we stayed for drinks on the terrace, tey welcome non-residents
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACL3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orta San Giulio hotels
1 km away
Villa Crespi
Villa Crespi
#1 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
1,010 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Bocciolo
Hotel Bocciolo
#2 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
67 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel La Bussola
Hotel La Bussola
#3 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Aracoeli
Hotel Aracoeli
#7 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
160 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
#6 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
241 reviews
0.1 km away
La Contrada dei Monti
La Contrada dei Monti
#10 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Rocco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Rocco

Address: Via Gippini 11 | Navigatore Via Poli 9, 28016 Orta San Giulio, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Novara > Orta San Giulio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Price Range: S$169 - S$465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Rocco 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the shores of the picturesque Lake Orta, Hotel San Rocco is surrounded by the ancient walls of a monastery. It boasts a swimming pool and views of the enchanting San Giulio Island. The San Rocco was a convent for 150 years. The Baroque-style Villa Gippini was later added to the original building. The elegant restaurant features regional and international cuisine and breathtaking lake views. There is a beautiful garden, a golf course, and a beauty centre called the Body Harmony Center. In fine weather you can access the Wellness Roof Garden, set on the 4th floor. A billiards table and a fully equipped conference centre are provided. Rooms are elegantly furnished with a flat-screen TV and minibar. Most have lake views. Rooms in the annexe known as Villa Gippini are also available. The hotel is close to Switzerland and the Prealpine valleys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Rocco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Rocco Orta Giulio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing