We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10/10”

Sissi - Andrea Fenoglio
Ranked #1 of 209 Restaurants in Merano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$46 - US$85
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 29 April 2018

A warm welcome as we walked in, reservation checked, then shown to a table. The staff were fairly young, but very professional.

Food and drink orders placed, we waited expectantly.

We were served an amuse bouche of liquid pizza, a small chunk of mozzarella with an oil and vinegar combo in the glass underneath. Very pleasing on the palate.

My starter was a modern twist on Vitello Tonnato. When brought to the table, the staff went to some lengths to describe the dish in detail They very informative and knowledgeable. The soft Veal and oh so light and creamy Tuna sauce were just delightful. A very good way to start.

As I am perceived by some to be a bit of a foodie, I thought I would be brave and try the Veal Sweetbreads, crisp outer, soft inside, cooked to perfection, I could have eaten more.

Dessert was an easy choice. The Zabaione heavy with Marsalla, but light and whipped. Words fail me.

Between courses we were offered what liked like egg yolks, but were actually a type of pepper mousse, very enjoyable.

After dessert, another small taster, a deconstructed Apple Strudel, the smell and taste were exactly what a Strudel should be.

Not a cheap lunch, but for the experience well worth it. Elegance and sophistication. Friendly helpful staff, exceptionally good food, all in a slightly formal atmosphere. We have already booked a return visit to their Pizzeria in August.

One of my most favourite meals to date. Definitely top 3.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Surveyor47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (974)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 974 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Walking in the door this does not feel like my kind of place, too formal, too "fine dining", too stuck in 19th century. And a chef who spends most of the night in the dining room, when he "should be" in the kitchen

One cannot get away with that unless the food is very good, and @ Sissi's it is. But the skills in this kitchen are more "Structural Chemistry" than culinary, and the resulting food is very "clever".

When it works, it works very well, and the Herb Flan was one of the best combinations of colour, texture and taste it has been my privilege to eat. And classic deserts like Panna Cotta and Zabione were beautifully lifted above the ordinary.

And those moments deserve the 5 stars.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank alanbN9606LR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018

Fine special food.Over rated.the antipasti were good the meat nothing special..Very nice service..The chef stays in the restaurant and had some conversation with the guest

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Henia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

It is a nice restaurant but we didn't like so much the food. For the first course we ordered peas soup with shrimps and pasta with chicken ragu. The soup had a very strong taste and was very salty. The pasta was good. For the second course, we ordered veal cheek and veal with false french fries. The veal cheek souce had such strong taste that covered completely the taste of the veal and not in a good manner. The other veal dish was completely tasteless, like simple boiled meat.
We know taste is very subjective, but we really enjoyed only the pasta for a good balance of taste.
Otherwise, the quality of the products was good and also the service.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eliza A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

From beginning to finish it s all delicious! Great details from the kitchen, eye watering. Fantastic amuse bouche.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Florianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sissi - Andrea Fenoglio also viewed

Merano, Province of South Tyrol
Tirolo / Dorf Tirol, Province of South Tyrol
 
Merano, Province of South Tyrol
Merano, Province of South Tyrol
 
Merano, Province of South Tyrol
Merano, Province of South Tyrol
 

Been to Sissi - Andrea Fenoglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing