We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delightful Dinner”
Review of Trattoria Da Bruno

Trattoria Da Bruno
Reserve with
Trattoria Da Bruno is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #225 of 1,505 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$82
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Castello
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband, 5 yo son, and I were looking for a restaurant spot off-the-beaten path and found this lovely spot. We came in for the fixed priced menus that were displayed, but chose to go with our waiter’s suggestions for a more authentic Venetian meal and we are so glad we did! The staff was incredible and friendly, and they were so kind to our son. If we lived in Venice, we would surely be regulars. Highly recommended!!

Thank _jessicabrownflute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RominaMariani, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Trattoria Da Bruno, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jessica,
your praises and compliments are the best reward we could ask for! All members of staff here at Trattoria Da Bruno are so grateful for your kind words about our menu, our service and our location. We can be proud of our efforts to give a unique experience to all who visit us. We cannot wait for you to visit us again our lovely city and dine with us once more! Kind regards from Venice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (597)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 597 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and my wife visited this restaurant on our visit to Venice in June 18. Up to this, we found personnel in water taxis/buses, etc, to be mixed....some friendly, some not so much. On posting this it came as a welcome expierence, as we had a particularly bad day, with staff at water busses, not really caring where they sent us, when looking for directions. I would urge anyone coming to Venice to exercise extreme patience. Little side streets are disastrous for getting lost. Shop owners don't care unless you buy something and alot of "local people" you ask, haven't a clue about the directions or any of the streets. To be honest I found alot of "locals" to be rude and narky.
THEN we entered the trattoria da Bruno and first met with Julia (hope spelling is correct). She was a breath of fresh air. While ordering our food and talking about our various options, she also went away and got up to date directions for us, for a Opera we were hoping to go to. She was more than willing to converse and do the extra little bit, to make us feel welcome, a task, because of which, Will see us returning to the restaurant.
Then enter Sergio and gianluca. With the pair of these lads you will definitely have, what in Ireland, we call as, the craic. Extremely friendly while being professional while explaining the menu to you. Both, along with Julia, made a long day travelling, into a great evening. To boot, the food was excellent and if I was the owner of this establishment, I would definitely be holding on to these members of staff. Will definitely be calling again.

Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RominaMariani, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Trattoria Da Bruno, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Barry,
our greatest reward is to give a nice experience to all our guests. Judging by your review, we can be proud we succeeded with you and your wife! Treating our visitors as friends is one of our main concerns, and we are glad you felt welcomed and cared for with us.
Giulia, Sergio and Gianluca, together with all the rest of Trattoria Da Bruno's staff, thank you very much for your praises on our friendliness and expertise: we put great effort and passion in everything we do, and reading your kind words is the best reward we could ask for! We hope you will come back soon to visit us again and "have the craic" again with us! Kindest regards from Venice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018

Very pleasant and friendly Trattoria. We chose this restaurant as we were looking for a good place with Gluten free options and it did not disappoint.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RominaMariani, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Trattoria Da Bruno, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Dear Chris,
our greatest achievement is to be able to give all our guests a true culinary experience: we are proud to have succeeded with you! Thank you so much for letting us know about your meal with us, and for your praises. We hope you will have the chance to visit Venice and dine with us again! Kind regards from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018 via mobile

Recently visited this restaurant, to celebrate my mother-in-laws 80th Birthday. Sergio was our waiter for the evening and he was very friendly and game for a laugh.
There was a wide range of delicious food, with the set menu been excellent value for money. They also catered very well for a gluten free diet.
We were given complimentary bruschetta, aperitif, post dinner limoncello and freshly baked biscotti.
Sergio brought out a small cake, with a candle in and had the staff and whole restaurant singing Happy Birthday to my mother-in-law.
I would highly recommend this restaurant and if I’m lucky enough to visit Venice again, I will definitely be going back.

Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RominaMariani, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Trattoria Da Bruno, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Dear Donna,
how delightful to hear from you! Our greatest reward is to know we were able to give you and your mother-in-law a night to remember. We use the best produce for our dishes, and try to be as attentive and helpful with our service as possible: here at Trattoria Da Bruno we believe our guests deserve good food on the plate and a smile to accompany it. Thank you so much for these kind words and for choosing us for this important celebration. We hope you will have the chance to come back to Venice again and to see you and your family too! Kind regards and arrivederci!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

Three of us had a very nice evening, friendly and welcoming staff, lovely food in a relaxing atmosphere. For starters, two of us had the Spaghetti with Ragu (but I had Tagliatelli instead). Really tasty with, unusually a hint of cloves which enhanced the flavour. The third person had a really nice fish soup. For main course, two of us had a very nice Scaloppina (Veal escalope) with lemon and basil along with rosemary roast potatoes. The third person had Spaghetti alla Vongole (Clams). This was nice but he thought nt as good as the fish soup. We had the Desert of the Day which was very nice but perhaps a bit too rich. The house white and red wine was fine too. Altogether a very enjoyable evening.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Waterloo2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RominaMariani, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Trattoria Da Bruno, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Dear guests,
we are so glad you enjoyed your evening with us! Here at Trattoria Da Bruno we try and give the best quality in every aspect of our work: service, atmosphere and food. Thank you for your praises on our pasta and our fish soup: the more traditional tastes are always our favourite, and when they are appreciated so, we cannot be more proud of our efforts. We hope to see you all back in Venice for another evening of Italian cuisine and welcome! Kindest regards from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Da Bruno also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Trattoria Da Bruno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing