We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why not”
Review of Al Canal Regio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Al Canal Regio
Ranked #303 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Well located near a vaporetto stop and a coop supermarket, it is at walking distance of the station, but if you have heavy luggage, it is better to ask for help. Rooms on the ground floor but they are on the path, exposed at the noise of the breakfast. The overall noise insulation between rooms can be improved. Comfort of the room is OK even if the bed can be better. We would have liked a bed protector for cleanness. And items in the room needs some fixing (shower head, plug in the wall).

Note that the canal is very much used (it is a main connecting canal) so there is traffic especially emergency boats.

The hotel is cozy and small. It also offers family oriented rooms. But this is a mismatch for such a setting as you are exposed to the noise of family (as they move more) and children specially. This is a pity. This hotel would much better be a couple only place.

It offers breakfast (that we did not took) but does not offer other meals. In fact it is more closer to a B&B than a full blown hotel.

The price seams in the average of the city, but the city is very expensive. Remember in Venice tourist = cash cow.

Room Tip: Get a room with Canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Zatash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 491 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

I was apprehensive to stay here after reading bad reviews. Staff were friendly, not always easy to find though. The room was fine and clean. However the shower curtain smelt awful and needs replacing! Overall the hotel was pleasant enough and in the perfect location!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Emma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

Great location. It's hidden off the main thoroughfare, around a couple of corners, so you're insulated from most of the noise and hustle of tourists. We stayed in the superior room (room 1, with canal view and mezzanine sleeping area above the main room space). This is nice, although you do get woken up early when the occasional ambulance or noisy delivery boat speeds past in the morning - to be expected as you're in Venice and likely to be near a canal wherever you stay!

We walked up from the main train station and it took approx 15 minutes (we slowed down to admire the sights, as it was our first time in Venice). Day staff were friendly, although the cover staff over the lunch hour when we arrived early didn't really know what was going on. Normal staff were very helpful and knowledgeable.

We opted to have breakfast out of the hotel (they do provide tea/coffee/kettle/etc in the rooms, plus offer breakfast service in the breakfast bar) as we wanted to try as much Italian fare as possible during our trip. Lots of local places nearby to eat breakfast in, and a lot of lovely fresh bakeries/delis nearby, which you can use to stock up for picnic lunches during the day (calzones, baked pastries, sandwiches, etc.)

You can walk to all the main sites within 15 minutes, and there are a number of watertaxi stops within 5 minutes walk of the hotel, so traveling to/from the airport is easy (note: buy a separate ticket, as it is a different company to that which operates the normal waterbus service on the canals), and if you're heading further afield, it's quicker than walking through the narrow alleys/streets. Rialto Bridge is approx 10 mins walk. Main train station 10-15 mins walk. St Marks is approx 10-15mins walk.

The hotel desk isn't staffed in the evening (from 7-8pm, I think), which is one reason why the hotel doesn't have more "official" stars, but that seems to be the norm in Venice.

It rained hard on our second to last night at around 11pm, so we popped into our room (room 1) to take shelter until it died down. Luckily for us that we did, as there was rainwater leaking through the ceiling lights (2) into the room and onto the table/things in the main living space. We moved our things out of the way and placed bins under the leaks to minimise the water damage/leaks. We called the hotel to inform them, and they did nothing that evening. The next day the cleaners did a great job of tidying up the room. This is the only negative experience we had in our stay, and it was out of the control of the hotel (getting staff over in the middle of the night is awkward on the islands in Venice). I would expect this to have been resolved before the next guest and rainstorm arrives.

This is a great base to start your day from in Venice. You are pretty much left to your own devices, and apart from the check-in/check-out experience. I like this, as we could explore at our own pace and it was very romantic, despite the leaky ceiling as explained above - I was with my partner and we drank the prosecco we had bought the day before the rainstorm, while we waited for the rain to die down. You're in an island of peace in the centre of a busy touristy city.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptainPirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

Upon arrival at Al Canal Regio we were greeted by a young boy (possibly aged 15). He was very polite and informative. We were then shown to our room by an older man who disappeared shortly after and was not seen again during our stay. When we entered the room our first impression was not great. The room was not like the pictures advertised, the walls were marked, 2 single beds (advertisesed as a double room), bedding was dirty, mouldy mirrors and the list goes on! The bathroom was also unclean and the shower had fell off the wall! We went to complain immediately. The young boy instructed the cleaner to fix the shower, he replaced the shower with a dirty one and did not reconnect it to the wall. The young boy (who was running the hotel throughout our entire stay) told us we could not speak to the manager as he was not willing to come to the hotel and there was nothing that could be done because the hotel is full. We contacted our provider who then contacted the hotel. They told our provider the issues had been resolved which was clearly untrue. Nobody contacted us again in our stay to ask how we were getting on or if we needed anything, I found this rude considering we had complained on several occasions. Breakfast was also not served until 8:30, it was served in a very small seated area right outside our room, again, unprofessional. There was hardly any choice so we decided to avoid breakfast. Finally, when we went to check out the man arrived 15 minutes late meaning we had to rush in order to get to the airport in time for our flight. He hardly spoke English and did not apologise for our terrible stay or the fact he was late. This hotel is nothing like their advertisement and it is not run professionally. I would avoid this hotel at all costs, terrible customer service. Very unhappy.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaadeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

Where do I start! Myself and my husband came here for our honeymoon, this being the very first time we had ever visited Venice. We absolutely loved Venice however this hotel is very badly managed. We arrived to one member of staff who looked about 12 years old, we then went up to our room when we opened the door it looked like it had been recently kicked in (scratches, the door didn't shut unless you locked it), the bathroom toilet was very low to the floor, had cracks in the toilet seat and was stained, the shower curtain was mouldy where it was too long for the shower and had been just sitting in stagnent water for a while! Basically the pictures online doesn't look anything like the real thing!! We couldn't sleep in the room where the air con didn't work properly so we decided enough was enough, we stayed for one night when we should of stayed for 3 nights, we checked out the following day to find another member of staff who couldn't speak any english and told us we couldn't check out until we contacted our travel agent...we had fully paid in a package deal so we were within our rights to leave...so we left!!!! Later that day we checked into another hotel and throughly enjoyed the rest of our honeymoon.

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank leanne90112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
San Marco
Graspo de Ua
Graspo de Ua
#347 of 385 in Venice
580 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Tintoretto
Hotel Tintoretto
#228 of 385 in Venice
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#245 of 385 in Venice
677 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#126 of 385 in Venice
444 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Tre Archi
Hotel Tre Archi
#252 of 385 in Venice
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Canal Regio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Canal Regio

Address: Cannaregio, 3632/A, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#141 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $91 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Al Canal Regio 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Al Canal Regio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Canal Regio Venice
Al Canal Regio Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing