We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel I've ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Cipriani
Ranked #28 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

From arrival to departure everything was excellent.
Staff are very professional and welcoming
The rooms are comfortable with great beds, pillows and linens
The bathrooms are well equipped
The outdoor pool was warm in March!!
Would go back in a shot!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank pplondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (843)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 843 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2017

We recently stayed at the hotel and we received a very warm welcome from Roberto and Alessandro ( On reception ) who both made our stay very enjoyable.

Our suite overlooked the garden which was a pleasant distraction from the lagoon which we toured during the day. The room was excellent and well looked after by the house team.

The breakfasts were to die for and in our experience probably the best in Italy. One day we had lunch in the Cips restaurant overlooking the lagoon and St Marks square. Again the food was excellent with a good choice on the menu and in particular the catch of the day was a good choice.

The flexibility of the complimentary boat transfers to and from St Marco Square which made going out very easy was really appreciated. Water taxis were also easy to order and Roberto ensured that everything worked efficiently when you wished to travel. He is a legend.

When we came back from a tiring day out visiting various sights in Venice we found the pool area a great place to relax with attentive yet not intrusive staff. The pool and the areas surrounding were kept to a very high standard,

If you are visiting Venice in the near future then be sure to catch the Damion Hirst Exhibition at Palazzo Grassi - Very thought provoking and different.

All in all a superb holiday where we were very well cared for by everyone at the Cipriani and we would highly recommend the Cipriani as the Hotel to stay in in Venice if you want to experience the sights of Venice yet at the end of the day return to a tranquil oasis of loveliness.

Keep up the good work. Roberto and Allessandro welook forward to coming back.

Room Tip: The rooms with a Garden View give a good alternative to looking at the lagoon all of the time and ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alan & Elaine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

As someone else put it , if Venice was a theatre then this would be the royal box , what a great saying , sorry I pinched it , but it sums it up. Lush gardens , smart waiters, excellent reception (Roberto reminded me of Mt Thompson from Pretty Woman) . Fantastic food . Rooms opulent . We felt like royalty. It can be a bit intimidating on some of the pricing but it was great to say we have done it .

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank stevewoodmedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel hits all of the important high notes. It is secluded and private, away from the crowds and chaos. The property is immaculate, with the gardens being just beautiful (including the resident long haired bunny named Toby!). The hotel grows many of its own vegetables and herbs to be used for meals which is the way of the world these days.
The room was very nice and there was not one amenity missing.
What sets them apart is the service. Concierge leader Roberto as well as Thomasso were absolutely world class in using their connections to make special events happen.
We booked our stay unknowingly during Venice Film Festival- which meant every A lister stayed there, but it did not feel annoying or buzzy in any way... the paparazzi waited outside on boats like sharks, but they weren't allowed near the property- it was not a big deal at all! It makes sense why this hotel has the clientele they do. Everyone gets treated like a star.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

Some thoughts on 4 days at Cipriani’s in Venice after 6 days at Villa d’Este… We’re a NYC-area-based family of four (52, 46, 7, and 6 – yes, we’re older parents) and we take approximately 4 European vacations a year focused on London, Paris, South of France, Switzerland, and Italy. Recent hotel stays (many repeat) include: Claridges, Le Bristol, The Breakers, Le Meurice, The Kulm, the Sonnenalp, Grand Hotel du Cap Ferrat, Chateau St. Martin, Hotel du Cap Eden Roc, The Splendido, the Baur au Lac, etc. We tend to favor these destinations given my Euro heritage and the fact that I went to grad school in Paris.

We recognize that we’re incredibly fortunate to be able to do what we do but we are certainly not price-insensitive. We have an incredibly good travel agent and we certainly enjoy the little perks that sometimes come our way. But our time is our most important commodity. Nothing’s worse than setting up a trip only to find that we’ve wasted our time at a property that falls short of promises. The devil is in the details and the small things done well that make a trip are the same ones done badly that can ruin it. Sure, if we were younger or had more time we might look for more adventure or authenticity, but we not; we want luxury and convenience and when we’re spending sometimes more than $2,000 a night for a hotel we believe we have the right to expect good things…

Checking into the Cipriani was easy—as it should be. We’d booked a suite as it’s a hotel that allowed us to have both kids in the living room. But I’m always a little uneasy when we’re shown to a room that feels as if it's at the very end of the property. In truth, we’d used a little leverage from our agent to get us a suite and we saved a little money by not getting one with a view. But I admit to feeling my heart sink a little as we were shown to the end of the property—a case of too good to be true? To be fair, the room was a true suite with a door that closed for full separation. But it was definitely tight with the luggage. The bathroom was nice although room for toiletries (shelves) was lacking.

My wife and children went on to the pool while I did a little more unpacking. As I followed a few minutes later into the pool area I was wowed by the presence of two uber-celebs sitting at a table with several others. My wife and kids were already swimming. I asked my wife where our loungers were. She was not amused—and nor was I—to have been given loungers on the very outer edge of the pool area in spite of the fact that there were plenty of open loungers in more attractive parts. Was this to do with the celebs or the fact that we we’re not?

After our swim we returned to the room to get ready for the babysitter we had arranged through the concierge some weeks before our trip. My wife and I had bought tickets to an overflow screening of a film at the film festival. We ordered the kids room service, got ready and waited. Ten minutes after the appointed time we called the concierge. The long and the short she was late. So late, in fact, that we couldn’t go to the film. The concierge was very sorry, etc., etc. We told him to arrange us a dinner. We dressed the kids and dragged them out with us. For some unknown reason we were sent to some “authentic” place in the middle of San Marco. Food was so-so, but far worse: it was sweltering. If we make the effort to dress smartly, have the decency not to have us sweat through what we’re wearing. Ok, I get it, A/C is not that prevalent, but after the babysitting fiasco the hotel frankly should have pulled out the stops and found us the best spot in town on a terrace overlooking the Grand Canal. Yes the restaurant’s maître d’hôtel greeted us with a bottle of prosecco, courtesy of Cipriani. Whatever. This was an inauspicious start to say the least.

The next day we spent at the Biennale and taking the kids to a mask-making class. That evening we were slated to go back to San Marco but decided to eat on property instead. We wanted to go to the Cip’s restaurant for a simple meal and called the concierge to arrange it only to be told it was fully booked. As it happens the entrance to Cip’s was right by our room so we popped in to beg for a table in person—not what I expect to have to do. The maître d’hôtel graciously told us that since a non-guest client was late he would give us his table. We were relieved and the meal was excellent. The following day was spent looking at more art followed by a movie at the film festival. No chance the babysitter would be late for this, right? Wrong. Again, we got the kids redressed and dragged them to the concierge. Why didn’t we build in extra time, you may wonder? I don’t know—because at this level the notion that a babysitter would be late is just anathema? Because it has never, ever, happened to us in the 8 years we’ve been doing this sort of travelling with our kids? To say that my wife—we—were disappointed, is an understatement. As we were expressing out displeasure with the concierge the babysitter arrived. But it was too late. I don’t go on vacation to have to frantically rush because some babysitter can’t be bothered to make it on time. We had, of course, built in time for a quick handover and it might have worked, even then, had we had a room centrally located but, again, that’s not where we’d been put. We told the babysitter that we didn’t need her and rather than leave the restaurant-picking up to the whims of the concierge we told him to get us a table on the terrace of the Bauer Palazzo.

Next day we wanted to know what to do with the kids rather than just drag them around looking at art. It was suggested we take the kids to one of the famous glass factories (no payment necessary). Skeptically, we agreed. I’m not sure if the promise that our kids would get to blow glass was express or implied; either way, a boat picked us up and took us to one of the factories about 15 minutes away. We were immediately ushered in to watch a glass-making demonstration (with guests from other hotels) and then got to walk through several large showrooms full of wares. Frankly it reminded me of a trip to Istanbul and going to a visit a carpet manufacturer. It’s a snow job—you’re just there to look at the merch. Perhaps I’m being unfair as there was no hard sell job but to be clear, these were show rooms; at least the prices on the tags on the hundreds of objects were disguised by code. And there was no actual glass blowing for the kids—an interesting demonstration, sure—but no actual glass blowing.

My goal with this review is not to be vindictive towards Cipriani but to honestly recount our experience. Obviously, there are many, many other guests who have had completely different experiences to ours. But I do wonder—what if the Venice Film Festival not been on and the halls of the hotel were not crawling with security for a few uber A-listers? Was the concierge, perhaps, understaffed? No hotel worth their salt would treat some guests better than others but I have to assume that resources were directed to make sure the few uber celebs did not want for anything at the expense of us. As I said in my preamble, it’s the little things and when they start to go south the souring can be quick and hard to reverse. We certainly expected better. I will add that this is not our first experience in a Belmond. After our first trip last year to Villa d’Este we spent a few days at the Splendido in Portofino, and we were not overly impressed—certainly not for the money that our suite had cost. You know how it goes: Once, shame on you; twice, shame on me.

Room Tip: As for a centrally located room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
11  Thank WillTell1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giampaolo_Ottazzi, Direttore generale at Belmond Hotel Cipriani, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear Guest,
My having received your account of your visit to the Cipriani I am grateful that you have chosen to take the time and expend the effort to chronicle your stay with us.
I agree with you wholly as to the fact there must be consistency and homogeneity to the service that we extend to all of our guests. If, in fact, there is extraordinary pressure brought to bear upon our personnel owing to time or circumstance, this is no excuse for any of our clients to suffer less than the full Cipriani experience.
We deeply regret that you feel that you were treated in a less than equitable fashion. With no semblance of apathy or indifference, while after the fact treatment of your scenario does not serve, we only hope that you will return to us in the future so that we can show you the comfort and indulgence that you most certainly deserve.
With best personal regards,
Giampaolo Ottazzi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#14 of 387 in Venice
1,624 reviews
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Giudecca
Palladio Hotel & Spa
Palladio Hotel & Spa
#83 of 387 in Venice
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Cipriani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Cipriani

Address: Isola della Giudecca 10, 30133 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Giudecca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Venice
#21 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#22 Business Hotel in Venice
#24 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#27 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $1,126 - $4,018 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Cipriani 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If Venice is a theatre, Belmond Hotel Cipriani is the Royal Box. It is a resort: a way of life, an island apart, in every sense. And it involves all the senses that make a stay unforgettable. Five minutes by private launch from St. Mark’s Square, on the tip of the Giudecca Island, Belmond Hotel Cipriani is in the heart of the city but removed from its hustle and bustle. Its 95 rooms and suites are exquisitely decorated with magnificent views over the open lagoon, the gardens and St. Marks. A day here is made up of layers of wonderful experiences, from luxuriating beside the Olympic-size swimming pool (the only one in central Venice) to relaxing with a signature treatment at the Casanova Wellness Centre. The Casanova gardens offer an oasis of peace, perfect for a Thai Chi session before heading off with a private boat for a personalised excursion in the lagoon. Choose to dine at the new Oro Restaurant for a timeless dining experience or at the iconic Cip’s Club admiring the view on St. Mark’s. Sip a signature cocktail at the Gabbiano Bar or enjoy a light lunch at the Porticciolo Restaurant. A red-clay tennis court, a gym and dedicated Kids' Club with pool are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Belmond Hotel Cipriani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cipriani And Palazzo Vendramin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing