We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the canal view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Starhotels Splendid Venice
Ranked #67 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2011

The room was very small but nice. My wife and I were disappointed after paying extra for a canal view. If we leaned out of our first floor window, we could see the service canal below. The noise from unloading and loading woke us early each morning and the view was non-existent. I understand we were never going to see the Grand Canal from our room but we would have been better off just about anywhere else in the hotel.

No milk supplied in our room for tea or coffeee and it cost 6 Euros to get a get a small bucket of ice sent up. Breakfast was pretty average. My wife is allergic to eggs so it was cold meat, cheese and fruit for her. She didn't bother going down to the meal we'd paid for one morning. The juice was room temperature juice and there was no toaster! Non Europeans westerners love toast. They especially like it for breakfast. It can't be that difficult or costly to put a toaster in the breakfast area.

Half an hour free wifi access in the lobby doesn't cut it. Most other hotels we stayed at had unlimited access. On the positive side, the staff were generally friendly and helpful and the lobby lounge areas were comfortable and looked great.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Meinhandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splendidvenice2011, Hotel Manager at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2011

Dear Menhandy,
thank you very much for dedicating a bit of your time to let us know about your stay and for choosing the Starhotels Splendid Venice as place to stay. Precious feedbackand what guests might want is the key to the improvement. Again thank you and we sincerely hope to welcome you soon back at The Starhotels Splendid Venice.
Best Regards,
Salvatore Pisani
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,745)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,304 - 1,308 of 2,745 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2011

Booked hotel through Airmiles as it looked to be in a good location - we arrived in Venice on a Cruise ship and arrived around 11am at the hotel and to our surprise our room ( a double superior) was ready which was great - it had no view but was a modern, clean room with a comfortable bed and had a safe - as other reviewers have said it is no more than 5 minutes walk to either the Rialto Bridge or St Marks Square and is very near the shops- it was perfect for us - we only had breakfast at the hotel which is a buffet and there is plenty of choice - coffee or tea were served by friendly staff direct to the table- we also had a drink at the bar and is was no more expensive than any other bar we visited in Venice - whilst in Venice we used the water buses to go all over the place and we got a 36 hour ticket for 52 euros (for 2) - much cheaper than using the water taxis - we also had a ride in a gondala which cost 100 euros for 30 minutes which is expensive but something we just had to do ! We also used the 30 minutes free wifi in the hotel lobby which is on offer until September. We had a wonderful stay in Venice and would stay in this hotel again

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suzi90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splendidvenice2011, Hotel Manager at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2011

Dear Suzi90,
Thank you verymuch for choosing teh Starhotels Splendid Venice as place to stay and and for dedicating a bit of your time to let us know about your recent stay. I will share your comments with all our associates, we are very happy to have contributed to let you spend a wonderful stay and looking forward to welcoming you soon at the Starhotels Splendid Venice.
Best regards,
Salvatore Pisani
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Stayed 2 nights during our vacation in Italy

The location is great, in the middle between rialto bridge and san macro square. The room is a quite small, but comfortable and modern. Breakfast is also nice.

Although the rate is quite expensive compare to other cities in Italy, but this is Venice where we feel that we are happy with the quality we get.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kengkla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splendidvenice2011, Hotel Manager at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2011

Dear Kengkla,
Thank you very much for taking the time to say few words about the Starhotels Splendid Venice and for choosing our Hotel as place to stay.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back soon at The Starhotels Splendid Venice and remain,
Kind regards,
Salvatore Pisani
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Loved the room and the shower. The room was bright, clean and tidy. The bed was very comfy. It's within walking distance to major tourist attraction. Staff were friendly and helpful. 30 min Free Wifi in the lobby.

Room Tip: Pick a room with lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laimin728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splendidvenice2011, Hotel Manager at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2011

Dear Laimin728,
Thank you very much for taking the time to to say few words about your recent stay at The Starhotels Spendid Venice. We are happy you enjoed your stay and we sincerely hope to welcome you back in the beatiful Venice and at the Starhotels Spelndid Venice.
Kind regards,
Salvatore Pisani
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We stayed here for 3 wonderful nights. We chose a superior room and I think it was worth it. Breakfast was adequate, with so many eating places to try why over indulge early in the morning. The evening meal looked good although we did not try one. The rooms were clean and could have been bigger but again how much time do you want to spend in the hotel room when you are somewhere like Venice in the first place. I can recommend a 72 hour waterbus ticket this cost 33 euros and you can get the bus from the airport and then hop on and off the waterbus as you want to. Don't forget to validate your ticket after you have got it or you could be fined. the water bus was crowded but again this was the most convenient way to get around. this includes travel to murano and burano and these are a must daytrip. If you do go i hope you enjoy as much as we did. get a good street map as we always took a diferant route back to the hotel. Realto bridge and st marks square are in easy walking distance(less than 5 minutes.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andrewt7741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Marco
Palace Bonvecchiati
Palace Bonvecchiati
#100 of 385 in Venice
1,393 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#78 of 385 in Venice
1,039 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 385 in Venice
1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Splendid Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Splendid Venice

Address: San Marco Mercerie, 760, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Venice
#45 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#46 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#47 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $218 - $956 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Splendid Venice 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Venice hotel is based in the historic centre of Venice, with the city's must-see sights and hidden treasures all within your reach. Just a short stroll or gondola ride will take you to Venice's most iconic sights: San Marco square and the Rialto Bridge. Like the city itself, our 165 rooms and suites are a mixture of styles, but all capture the essence of a romantic Venice holiday. Blending contemporary comforts with details that reflect classic Venetian character, each room has a light, elegant atmosphere, with many offering wonderful views over canals and the Venice skyline with its magnificent San Marco's bell tower in the horizon. Le Maschere at the Splendid Venice is one of the few restaurants near San Marco Square that is popular with Venetians and tourists alike. This authentic Venetian restaurant serves classic dishes with a modern twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Starhotels Splendid Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Splendid Venice Hotel Venice
Starhotels Splendid Hotel Venice
Venice Starhotels Splendid Hotel
Starhotel Splendid Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing